Professor Mark McGurk

Professor Mark McGurk

BDS, MBBS, FDS FRCS DLO MD

Oral & Maxillofacial Surgery

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Professor McGurk inspired confidence from the first time I met him for a second opinion on the best option for treatment and it was an easy decision to undergo surgery with him. He took the time to explain all aspects of the procedure from the outset and provided exemplary care throughout. I cannot recommend him too highly.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor McGurk inspired confidence from the first time I met him for a second opinion on the best option for treatment and it was an easy decision to undergo surgery with him. He took the time to explain all aspects of the procedure from the outset and provided exemplary care throughout. I cannot recommend him too highly.

Patient seen for:
Parotid Tumour
24-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very clear explanations of the procedure beforehand: I was confident I knew what to expect. Afterwards told me how it went in an unusual level of detail, which I appreciated. And the result was great.

01-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The professor was very informative and explained everything to me.

18-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

First class

17-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Explained the treatment required in easily understandable terms.

12-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very reassuring and competent doctor.

12-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An excellent combination of knowledge and experience.

17-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Travelled from York seeking Professor McGurk's expertise and he did an excellent job at diagnosing, explaining and performing operation, putting me at ease at a stressful time and enabling me to make a speedy recovery. I highly recommend Professor McGurk - brilliant patient care from start to finish.

11-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Mark McGurk is an outstanding and unique medical professional. Not only is he technically superb (I can eat, speak and drink almost normally after the removal of half my tongue along-with the tumour that necessitated the operation and have virtually no visible external scars) but his dedication to and care for his patients is outstanding. I am very lucky to have had him as the surgeon for my operation and then consultant for the subsequent monitoring and remission period of five years to "cure". Indeed, he is still in touch with and providing support to me if I have any concerns or challenges some six and a half years after the operation.

11-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of mark McGurk for 3 years and find him exemplary in every way.His early diagnosis and the speed at which he performed my operation may just have been life saving.His subsequent monitoring has been exceptional in making me well informed of the process of recovery and return to normality.he gives patients confidence and assurance all delivered in an engaging and friendly manner,I have much to be thankful of.

09-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor McGurk's medical/surgical expertise and his empathetic interaction with the patient are of the highest order. Unquestionably he is a leader in his field, at the forefront of advances in the treatment of oral cancer.

07-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very thorough and knowledgeable, recommend him wholeheartedly.

04-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great doctor, cannot recommend him more highly.

17-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Always a pleasure to see Professor McGurk . I have been having yearly check ups since my operation 20 years ago . Always very thorough and professorial and knowledgeable Never in a rush to finish consultation . ..

14-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent consultant.

14-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Mark McGurk is a great man and excellent doctor. I have been a patient of his for many years and my quality of care has been of the highest standard. He is a very friendly and caring person who puts you at ease and makes you feel comfortable. He is very professional and knowledgeable, takes the time to answer all questions and concerns you may have about your treatment. He has only you best interests at heart, I would very much recommend him.

11-12-2018