Professor Laurence Lovat

Professor Laurence Lovat

BSC, MBBS, PhD, FRCP

Gastroenterology

Recommended by  
5 specialists

32 years of experience
21 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.95
Bedside Manner
4.95
Explanation
4.94

Top feedback

“Prof Lovat was very attentive and thoughtful. I really appreciated his help.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Lovat was very attentive and thoughtful. I really appreciated his help.

Patient seen for:
Acid Reflux
22-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had an online consultation with Professor Lovat. It worked really well. He knows his stuff and he also knows how to manage a remote consultation. Thank you very much

18-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Had a great and very satisfactory experience with Prof Lovat. Great treatment and service - very professional and thorough. Also very personable and capable of explaining complex medical issues in a very simple way.

19-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof. Lovat is the ultimate professional. Problem discussed and explained at length. Very satisfied patient.

Patient seen for:
Oesophagitis
06-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a great experience! Prof Lovat really listened to me, didn't discount any of my concerns and provided me with a very thorough round of testing. I highly recommend Prof Lovat

Patient seen for:
Bloating
Constipation
28-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat Always gives me the best opinion and the best treatment. I trust him completely and recommend him to anybidy who needs his expertize.

28-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat is a caring and expert gastroenterologist who takes time and trouble to fully explain anything relating to the purpose of the consultation.

Patient seen for:
Barrett's Oesophagus
17-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Lovat was professional and thorough yet has good bed side manners. Would recommend him.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had several consultations with Prof Lovat on some difficult and worrying symptoms. He has been very thorough in his examinations, investigations and finally his diagnosis with clear advice about the next steps. On a personal level he has also been very kind and empathetic.

Patient seen for:
Acid Reflux
13-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really good all round experience. Would have no doubt in recommending Professor Lovat

12-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A pleasure to see Professor Lovat, very professional kind and caring, knows his field and patients needs the best I've experienced.

21-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wonderful doctor

Patient seen for:
Acid Reflux
14-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Very positive experience. The doctor conducted a thorough visit, requesting several tests and explaining what these were for. He was friendly and professional.

05-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a bit of food poisoning in India which led to terrible digestive and stool problems. I decided to go to Professor Lovat for treatment as I knew someone who had been treated by him. He was systematic and very thorough; I liked his approach gathering information regarding my symptoms and my regular diet. He listened to my concerns patiently, and explained procedures and possible diagnoses to me in layman's terms. He did not conduct any unnecessary tests and laid out an investigative plan for me with options in case I wasn't comfortable with some tests. He also gave me his diagnosis with brutal honesty, which was fantastic. I must admit his sense of humour appealed to me and that made the entire process quite stress free. I think he is, by far, the best gastroenterologist I have consulted.

Patient seen for:
Diarrhoea
Food poisoning
Heart Burn
04-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very welcoming, a good sense of humour and caring approach I can imagine will calm most clients nerves as they go through their health challenges. Enjoyed my time with Professor Lovat for those reasons. Took extra time to discuss anything extra that I wanted to ask him and shared stories that I could relate to in answering my questions.

Patient seen for:
Colonoscopy
Endoscopy
04-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Explains his diagnosis and treatment plan in a caring manner. Seen quickly and dealt with efficiently. You know you are in excellent, world-class hands.

03-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat has been really helpful. He listens carefully and then gives versy sensible advice. Highly recommended.

Patient seen for:
Acid Reflux
03-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent doctor

Patient seen for:
Gastric (Stomach) Ulcers
23-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat has been looking after me for some years now. I can't recommend him highly enough. It's always service with a smile and his management of my problem is tiptop.

10-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat really helped me. I've been suffering for a long time and I'm so much better now. Thank you very much

07-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Lovat was great

23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Saw Professor Lovat for a second opinion. He was excellent. Much better than the first gastroenterologist I saw

Professor Laurence Lovat

Delighted to be of service!

19-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Brilliant doctor!

Professor Laurence Lovat

I am pleased you found my input helpful.

29-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am really grateful to Professor Lovat. He sorted out my problem and put my mind at rest.

Professor Laurence Lovat

Please feel free to come back at any time in the future should you need my help again.

29-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent doctor with great bedside manner.

26-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am really pleased I saw Professor Lovat. He listened carefully and made an excellent diagnosis. I feel so much better now with the treatment he has given me.

07-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He really was professional in his detail of my problem and I am very happy that I met him.

28-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Professor Lubbock extremely helpful, humorous and kind. He knows exactly how to look after me and has made me feel so much better.

24-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My first endoscopy was aborted due to my inability to go to sleep during the procedure. Dr lovat was not to be deterred. It was immediately rescheduled and A thorough investigation and treatment ensued. In what I consider a creative method he resolved my issue with my oesophagus.

17-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was terrified about the thought of an endoscopy. I need not have been. I didn't feel a thing. What a brilliant endoscopist.

03-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Congratulations on a pain-free vomit-free endoscopy and a clean bill of health. What more could you want?

03-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very kind and reassuring, would highly recommend.

29-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great doctor with very professional and at the same time personal approach. Enjoyed my visits!

26-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An outstanding doctor. He made me feel comfortable and at home. He sorted out the diagnosis and treatment and all went very smoothly.

22-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Fantastic. Also very funny doctor. Made a refreshing change!

01-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I came see Professor Lovat for a second opinion from the Netherlands. I'm delighted I made the journey. He has sorted out my problem in the way that the Dutch doctors simply couldn't. Thank you very much.

04-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr L Lovat has looked after me amazingly. I am so fortunate that I found him.

26-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really outstanding doctor. He helped me when other doctors couldn't. Thanks so much!

05-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am so grateful to Prof Lovat for looking after me. He is so kind and caring.

21-06-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Professor Lovat looked after me very well. He did not find the cause of my pain but he investigated entirely appropriately and has passed me on to a gynaecologist as it seems the problem is coming from there. I thank him very much for his help

24-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing expertise. Very informative. Hugely reassuring. Kind and approachable. This is the first time I haven't felt anxious seeing a doctor in a long time.

22-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent dr and reassuring

10-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been ill for a long time but Professor Lovat reference sorted out my problems. I am very grateful. I can't recommend him highly enough. 5 stars!

26-04-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat did a colonoscopy for me. It didn't hurt at all. I didn't feel any pain and I watched it all on TC. My doctor was very good.

29-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is the man!

22-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Truly outstanding doctor. He really knows his stuff. He corrected the wrong diagnosis given by another doctor and proved that he was right. He has put my mind at rest. I was so worried. Thank you for looking after me.

15-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat is very personable and reassuring and humorous. I would recommend him to anyone.

19-02-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lovat really put my mind at rest. His advice was sensible, straightforward and completely practical. I already feel so much better. Thank you.

05-02-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very charming and very knowledgeable. He has given me light at the end of the tunnel. I have been in pain for a year but Prof Lovat has given me a way through.

05-02-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a 65-year old Greek writer who has been diagnosed with Barrett's oesophagus by a famous Athens hospital. For nearly two years I lived under the nightmarish words of dysplasia, starting from low grade and ending in high grade, based on histological analyses of biopsies taken during multiple gastroscopies. The results were at the same time quite conflicting so I became very confused and decided to have a second opinion in the UK. Thanks to my son, Dr Nikolas Pontikos who works in genetic research, I met Professor Lovat who recommended and carried out himself a gastroscopy in the Wellington Hospital. The results of the biopsies taken were negative both as regards Barrett's oesophagus and dysplasia. I was naturally very relieved by the findings and can face life once more with optimism and hope. I wholeheartedly recommend Professor Lovat to any patients with similar problems. His expertise, friendliness and encouragement set him apart from many doctors I have met in the course of my life.

26-01-2018