Professor Jayant Vaidya

Professor Jayant Vaidya

MBBS MS DNB FRCS PhD

General Surgery

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.94
Bedside Manner
4.94
Explanation
4.91

Top feedback

“I have total confidence in Professor Vaidya. He combines surgical and medical competence with a caring and approachable manner.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have total confidence in Professor Vaidya. He combines surgical and medical competence with a caring and approachable manner.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
Breast Surgery
25-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Vaidya is both deeply knowledgeable and has a wonderful caring manner. He is always willing to patiently answer all my questions. The care given to me by himself  (and his team) has been exemplary and delivered in a professional and reassuring manner that instills confidence. The thoughtful post treatment provided has helped me recover mentally as well as physically.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
14-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would highly recommend Prof Vaidya. I did not feel rushed during any of the consultations I had with him. He kept me well informed of next steps etc. He’s very nice and is a pleasure to deal with.

02-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya is an excellent professional, with a deep knowledge on Breast Cancer and he is among the inventors of the innovating IORT, a technic I highly recommend to other breast cancer patients. My personal experience was truly beyond any expectation. The relief I mainly feel is that this IORT technic can be used again (in the case of a breast cancer recurrence), together with lumpectomy, instead of a mastectomy that is the only sad way, after following previously even once, the normal long radiotherapy sessions procedure. Also, lucky to be diagnosed on stage 1, with Professor Vaidya by my side, I felt a blind trust and I honestly experienced the minimum to none, change in my breast after both lumpectomy AND IORT procedures. Truly no change today, 4 months post surgery, no pain, cosmetic excellent with not the slightest change of a normal breast .. apart from 2 parallel small scars near my armpit, that are slowly disappearing, making me even to feel the whole experience, truly as a dream. To be honest the only negative experience I had was a luck of communication with the administration part/secretary in the very beginning (and that service must be upgraded), and due to my initial diagnosis panic I had to disturb the Professor directly to whatsapp or telephone, but he was always responsive, kind and their for me. A strong supporting PA is essential and MUST BE THERE fully responsive in my humble opinion, especially during the initial stage of a breast cancer patient, with a surgeon. Yet, Professor’s result is indeed excellent, the surgery margin cleaning done perfectly and finally thats all that matters! In general I feel truly grateful and blessed to met Professor Vaidya and I will always keep on to my consultations with him, in the future.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
29-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I feel that Prof Vaidya is a leader in his field. I think his work is careful, thoughtful and ground breaking.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Consulting Professor Vaidya how a medical consultation should be! He is smiling, welcoming and reassuring, putting things in context. You are never rushed and, as an academic (in another field!) I appreciate hearing about recent relevant clinical research. He is clearly a superb clinician.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya showed great empathy and emotional intelligence when interacting with me and clearly understood the psychological impact of a breast cancer diagnosis. He was very patient and explained the treatment clearly. I feel that I received an excellent surgical outcome with a very good cosmetic result. In follow-up visits Prof has taken time to discuss my adjuvant therapy and the benefits of a healthy lifestyle. I hold Prof Vaidya in high regard.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
22-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I've been seeing Professor Vaidya now for 4 years following my initial diagnosis back in November 2015. I was very, very lucky to find him. What I didn't realise at the time is that he comes as part of an absolutely fantastic team, but it is he who is at the forefront of your treatment plan. He's exceptionally kind, considerate and treats one with total and utter respect (as do the team he works with). He's always appreciated and accommodated my need for information and provides me with tonnes of information. He's just an absolutely lovely man, who really cares.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
Breast Surgery
22-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

When I was told I had breast cancer, I thought my life had ended . There was a mad search for who was the best doctor to treat me in the world. A number of names were given to me, I chose Proff Vaidya from the day I met him I felt safe and put my life in his hands. It is the start of my 5 th year and all through he has looked after me like a baby, mentor and guide. I don’t know of any one so kind gentle and reassuring , not forgetting brilliant with such active a mind and passion for more and more improvement in treating breast cancer. Thank you Proff for the quality of life you have given me.

22-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya's care and support has been invaluable, over and above being a highly skilled and experienced surgeon. He always makes time for you whatever the time of day. You feel that he is on your side and sympathetic to you as a patient, listening carefully and recommending a course of action and treatment that is in tune with your own wishes.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
28-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Vaidya is one of the most ‘human’ (by which I mean thoughtful and compassionate) doctors I’ve encountered. I always feel like he’s responding very much to me as an individual and assessing my unique medical situation. He’s also obviously incredibly experienced and knowledgeable as you’d expect given his reputation.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
17-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly professional clear advice

16-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya has a very pleasant and agreeable manner and treated me with the utmost respect, answering any questions I had. I was seen quickly, didn’t feel rushed, and he was very clear about my treatment.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
12-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dear Professor Vaidya I wanted to wait until I’d seen you for my 3 month check last Thursday to write and thank you for all the kindness you showed me during my recent ‘journey’. For,your advice, patience, approachability and above all your expertise. I really can’t thank you and your superb team enough. The radiologists who undertook the biopsies, the special care nurses who gave me such great attention. But ,above all, to you. You’ve been amazing and have made a most difficult time bearable. I feel very blessed to have had you as my Breast surgeon. With all renewed thanks Yours sincerely

06-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

That smile.. is true! And he is the best surgeon, too!

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
25-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience was as good as it could have been under these circumstances. Professor Vaidya was very kind and caring, with a great sense of humour. He made me feel very confident and in safe hands.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
20-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya is an exceptional caring person in my experience a brilliant surgeon. He has operated on me twice when I have had breast cancer first in the left breast seven years ago and recently on a different type of cancer in the right breast. I have the upmost respect for his skills and cannot recommend him highly enough. He goes out of his way to ensure that his patient has the best treatment and that their recovery is progressing well. The first operation he performed on me was the intra operative radiotherapy which was a great success. He has called me out of hours several times to make sure I am recovering well from my recent surgery. He inspires great confidence and always has a smile and is ready to discuss any fears and treatment you may have. A truly truly brilliant doctor.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
20-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Proff is ace - reassuring and has a lovely gentle manner.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
15-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Vaidya is a gem. He is not only a highly skilled surgeon and most compassionate and progressive physician but he's always there and helpful whenever needed. He's a wonderful person. The best possible in every way!

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
10-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It’s been a year since my surgery and I am completely grateful to Prof Vaidya and his team for the amazing surgery. IORT really worked and allowed me to resume back to normality within 5 weeks. So thank you for your excellent care

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
29-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing doctor! Always patient polite courteous and exceptionally efficient

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
29-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Absolutely top notch. Not just a brilliant Doctor but a very good man. Makes you feel at ease at all times and consistently supportive. A master of his field.

29-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Vaidya is an expert in his field. He is very knowledgeable and very understanding and patient. He has excellent bedside manners and is very calm and extremely reassuring and interesting to talk to.

Patient seen for:
yearly checkup.
01-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Very empathetic, interested and thorough with a good ability to communicate complex issues clearly.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
28-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Vaidya takes time to answer my questions so that I have full understanding. Prof has an extremely empathetic manner and an emotional awareness as to the psychological aspects of breast cancer. He is patient and kind if I become emotional. He performed minimally invasive surgery one year ago which has been clinically successful but has also achieved a good cosmetic result. I have no pain in my breast or armpit now (sporadic pain initially) one year after surgery.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
25-07-2019
Overall
3
Explanation
3
Bedside Manner
3

I have 3 stars due to the fact that it has taken some time to receive my results from previous biopsies done & also having to have so many follow ups due to the mix up & delay in getting my previous results before proceeding to do another biopsy. Although, I am pleased at the thorough examination & follow ups made by Professor Vaidya to ascertain the next course of action.

18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been with Professor Vaidya since November 2018 and my husband and I have been consistently impressed with his professional approach and high standards of care. Nothing is too much trouble and is always prepared to spend the time discussing concerns. He also respects the views of his patients and is prepared to fight their corner if necessary. Professor Vaidya is a very talented surgeon and I am delighted with the end results after long and tricky surgery. We cannot recommend him more highly.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I always find Prof VaIdya very kind and caring and thorough in his checkups and feel I could raise anything that was bothering me

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I liked the consultation with Professor Vaidja. As always he was informed, sympathetic, pleasant, thoughtful, and courteous. I have always appreciated his professionalism and his consideration of what is the best treatment for me.

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
16-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very highly recommended. Incredibly thorough and professional. Excellent bedside manner.

11-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

i have felt I have been in good hands with prof Vaidya. I believe he is very expert and at all times he has explained things clearly. He was able to give me some flexibility around testing and treatments which helped me meet work commitments and I appreciated that. I trust him

Patient seen for:
Breast Cancer
11-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof vaydia is super talented and a referent for me. He took care of my case very professionally. I’m fully recovering now and I’m very grateful for that.

11-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

very good caring

04-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thank you for all your care and attention. It's been a year since my surgery and I am completely grateful to you for the amazing surgery. IORT really worked and allowed me to resume back to normal very quickly. So thank you.

02-07-2019