Professor Howard Branley

Professor Howard Branley

MBChB, MSc, MD, FCCP, FRCP, FRAeS

Respiratory Medicine

Recommended by  
11 specialists

27 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.96
Bedside Manner
4.97
Explanation
4.98

Top feedback

“Very helpful - explained everything in detail without being patronizing - a great experience “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful - explained everything in detail without being patronizing - a great experience

31-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Dr Branley is highly professional and and so committed medical Doctor going all extra mile to assist his patients. With my numerous consultations I had with him I have been treated with special care and focus to my medical cases I am presenting to him. From I my consultation I had with him I found him :; He is so polite Make you feel at ease during the consultation He has grate patience to listen to patient He explains patients condition and treatment and provide good insight by explaining their status I am so confidence in this ability to provide maximum care to his patients Given the kind of treatment I got from him I will recommend to family & friends I am so happy to have consultation with him again.

29-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very detailed and helpful consultation to find out appropriate tests that should be taken.

28-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

i had a very good experience

25-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Branley was patient and thorough in explaining my diagnostic path and subsequent recommended treatment. I felt he took my condition seriously, listened well and was thoughtful in his recommendations. I would recommend him in a heartbeat to anyone going through something similar.

Patient seen for:
COVID-19 - Rehabilitation and Recovery
23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It was a pleasure talking with Professor Branley. He made me feel very comfortable about the situation and appeared knowledgable and trustworthy.

23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It’s always a pleasure to see Professor Branley! He provides Excellent Service! Good Explanations and Great Care!

23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Branley has an excellent manner. He is approachable, friendly and gives a clear understanding of any issues and treatment. ⭐️👍🏼

06-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Outstanding doctor

27-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Helpful, explained everything and got things moving.

23-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Howard Branley is very profession and responsive. I’m very happy with my experiences so far. I’ve had some results from tests and Prof Howard Branley has explained these very well.

18-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Branley is excellent in all aspects in case of my treatment.He is remarkable in judging the problem, with his medical advice and treatment plan. He listened to the problem statement from me in details.His follow up consultation is right on time and explanation of any medical report and patient's queries are wonderful. He gives me the feel I am in safe hand. Thank you very much Prof.

18-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Branley was very attentive and caring and thorough. He explained his approach and the tests and outcomes very clearly (but without oversimplifying them). Would unreservedly recommend him to anyone that requires a respiratory specialist.

17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Branley has always been very kind to me during all my consultations and explained things to me extremely well and never made me feel like I am wasting his time by asking questions.

13-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience with the Professor today was nothing but excellent. He showed great empathy and was polite throughout. He was attentive and gave clear and factual explanations throughout the consultation.

Patient seen for:
Breathlessness
09-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional and informative, with clearly a depth of experience that inspired confidence in the assesment of my symptoms. Combined with Professor Branley's very friendly manner, and ability to listen to my (Sometimes rather thorough!) case history, this led a to a quick placement for the nescessary tests, and a concise and full conclusion. Also of note, a very,very pleasant and helpful secretary who made the whole process run very smoothly. Highly recommended.

Patient seen for:
Chest Pain
28-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have seen Prof Branley in the past, a few years ago now, and recently had a phone consult with him (during Covid-19 pandemic). I am always amazed by his kindness, compassion, and his ability to make me feel as though my concerns have been listened to, validated, and supported. I am glad to see these amazing qualities have not changed over the years. He was careful to explain every step of the consult and reasons behind testing required, and answered all the questions I had with such clarity. I would definitely recommend Prof Branley to family and friends. I only wish all of my specialists were this thorough and compassionate!! We also has a wonderful administration team working along side him, which makes everything run more smoothly.

Patient seen for:
Shortness of breath
post-covid19 lung changes
14-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and takes time to really listen .

05-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The professor was very polite, made me feel at ease and was very clear.

04-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My consultation was over the telephone, due to the restrictions during the present pandemic. I thought this might be difficult, particularly as I had not met Professor Branley before. The telephone consultation presented no difficulty. I was 100% happy with the consultation. Professor Branley is a careful listener and a skilled communicator.

Patient seen for:
Asthma
04-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found professor Branley very warm and friendly. He gave me a good explanation to what he thought may be the issue and I found him caring and interested in everything I was telling him.

28-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The consultation was excellent. Professor Branley took the time to ask detailed questions and to provide a clear explanation. I felt reassured with the approach Professor Branley adopted and at the conclusion of the consultation felt I was in extremely safe and capable hands.

09-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Easy to get in touch with. Warm, polite and talks in layman's terms. Factual will not speculate. Helpful, will not send for unnecessary scans etc.

Patient seen for:
Respiratory Medicine
04-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thorough assessment, good bedside manner, happy with management

Patient seen for:
Asthma
Bronchiectasis
31-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My issues were explained fully and fullow up treatment was agreed.

Patient seen for:
Respiratory Medicine
26-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Everything was explained to me so I had full understanding of my issues and how to deal with them.

Patient seen for:
Respiratory Medicine
25-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly, approachable, sets the patient at ease from the outset. Explained things clearly and concisely. A very positive experience.

21-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very happy with Prof Branley and the service provided

20-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Branley is an exceptional physician you has been treating me for almost three years and who helped me recover from a very rare lung infection. He has always been available to talk my calls or answer emails. He will remain my respiratory doctor for the foreseeable future.

19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I felt reassured, the diagnostics plan was clear and easy to understand. I am seeing Pr Branley after the test results will come back.

19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Overall, it was an excellent experience and an excellent medical visit.

Patient seen for:
Chest Pain
19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Bramley took time to explain what I was going through and profer solutions.

Patient seen for:
Asthma
15-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very thorough and clear

13-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It was a pleasure to meet with Professor Branley who demonstrated an interest in me as a person as the basis of understanding me as the patient requiring assistance. I every hope we will find a solution for my medical problem

11-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had complete confidence in Professor Branley's comments and observations and was very pleased with his careful attention to my situation.

10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Howard Branley was extremely nice and put me at my ease. I had tests a few days later to establish the cause of the cough and the following day saw him for the results. Hopefully the medicine prescribed will sort out the problem. Am happy to see him again, as recommended in a month.

Patient seen for:
Chronic Cough
10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

knowledgeable and i was able to find able to find the cause of my discomfort by also referring me to another specialist

Patient seen for:
Respiratory Medicine
10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I met prof first time as a patient and as GP 6 weeks ago when I had Acute chest problems. I was at ease and was very confident with his manners, explanation and follow up plans .He helped to put matter in perspective and was honest and straightforward in conversation. I felt safe and would be very happy to refer anyone with chest problems.

Patient seen for:
Lung Infection or Chest Infection
06-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Although I had found the two printed, to-be-signed letters attached to my confirmation of appointment slightly formidable I printed them out and signed both only to find nobody asked me for them and I brought them home. Was I meant to hand them into the Platinum Registration Point or the 2nd floor Reception? Post them? This could be made clearer. With regard to the consultation itself, I found the advice given, the description of the condition of my lungs, including possible diagnosis, easy to understand and helpful and the Professor himself welcoming, attentive and, subject to my being untutored in medical matters, highly competent and thorough. I would have no hesitation recommending him to my friends and relatives.

Patient seen for:
Pleural Effusion
04-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very friendly and seemed genuinely interested in me whilst still staying professional.

Patient seen for:
Asthma
03-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I felt heard for the first time in the many years I have been suffering my condition. Professor did a thorough History and examination. He then talked me through the possible diagnosis and ordered some extensive tests for me. I feel hopeful for the first time that we may get to bottom of what’s happening. Thank you!

Patient seen for:
Chronic Cough.
02-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof. Howard Branley made me feel both comfortable and safe very quickly, making me certain that I was in the best hands. He was thorough and I learnt a lot about my condition which I had no prior knowledge of (which is alarming considering I’ve suffered from asthma for my whole life). The little tests that were carried out during my appointment (I.e. measuring my peak flow), was explained in detail (and in plain English), which I appreciated. I left my appointment reassured about my current situation, and confident as to how I should manage it and myself going forward.

Patient seen for:
Asthma
02-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am someone who is very anxious about any kind of medical appointment, even the dentist and optician so on arrival I was super nervous and even had my husband in attendance with me. Professor Branley soon has me feeling less anxious, he is warm, patience, approachable, caring and down to earth. He is a good listener and very easy to talk to. I felt very confident in his advice and treatment. The discuss about my medical information was very conversational and easy to understand. I highly recommend Professor Branley.

01-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the outset Professor Branley was patient and explained things clearly. He was very thoroughly and kind.

01-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very friendly, took time to explain, very thorough in understanding medical background, not rushed. Overall a positive experience.

28-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Took plenty of time to thoroughly explain results, explore whether I had any questions and to provide answers that were well balanced and in understandable language. Good listener and professional yet approachable manner. Instilled a lot of confidence in his opinion whilst not hesitating to highlight areas of uncertainty or matters yet to be investigated.

Patient seen for:
Sarcoidosis
26-02-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Personable, professional and patient

Patient seen for:
Obstructive Sleep Apnoea (OSA)
18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Detailed and effective investigation and treatment. Very professional.

Patient seen for:
cough
13-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Branley, is extremely professional, takes time to examine you, interact in an easy jovial manner, listen tentatively, answer your questions clearly and portrays the best bedside side manners. I have worked and interacted with a number of consultants from different walks of medical profession, Professor Branley is one of the best I have encountered. Grateful to be under his care.

13-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Made me feel at ease and happy to spend the time discussing all aspects of any condition/s

12-02-2020