Ms Sophie Medlin

Ms Sophie Medlin

BSc Hons Nutrition and Dietetics, Registered Dietitian

Nutrition

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Sophie was so friendly and welcoming, such impressive knowledge on my Illness, highly recommended. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie was so friendly and welcoming, such impressive knowledge on my Illness, highly recommended.

Patient seen for:
crohns colitis
13-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I spoke with Sophie for the time today via zoom. She was so friendly and understanding. I received more information today from Sophie than I have had from consultants and doctor's in nearly 3 years. I have ulcerative colitis and I have been struggling with my dietary needs. She went through everything from start to finish and left no stone unturned. I am excited to start my journey with this lovely women. She was so understanding and I felt really comfortable talking to her. Thank you Sophie x

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie comes across as caring, thorough and professional. In a journey of trying to diagnose and fix a complicated issue I feel Sophie is going to help me the most out of a number of professionals such as doctors and other nutritionists.

Patient seen for:
SIBO
24-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie has been brilliant. Friendly, knowledgeable, supportive, down-to- earth and caring. I was at the end of my tether when Sophie was recommended to me. She very quickly responded to my plea for help and within a day or 2 we had an initial call and set up our first online session for a few days later. Sophie patiently listened to my issues and asked me pertinent questions and didn’t confuse me with long woes or unfamiliar terms. I felt relaxed and trusted her virtually immediately. She sent me through everything she said she would and is even sourcing a heath psychologist in my area (Edinburgh) too. I’d say that’s going the extra mile without charging an arm and a leg! Given the COVID-19 situation and the fact I live nowhere near London, online is really the only way to communicate efficiently. I feel this has in no way adversely affected the quality or effectiveness of our discussions. Sophie listens & genuinely wants to help. I simply can not recommend her highly enough.

06-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I came across Sophie by chance following a virtual panel event on bowel conditions . I was looking for someone who had knowledge of coeliac disease and IBD . For the first time in years I felt listened to and understood , Sophie asked relevant questions and explained everything to me . Sophie genuinely cared and I feel positive after our first consultation . I look forward to implementing the advice I have received .

03-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a first class experience from Sophie; she provided me with a comprehensive review of my dietary requirements. I was impressed by her depth of knowledge and I’m benefitting from her advice based on my desire to reduce my meat intake as part of a balanced diet. I’ve had no trouble implementing her plan

08-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is fantastic- a really supportive, kind and knowledgable lady! I had my first appointment with Sophie last weekend and she listened to my issues, thoroughly explained what’s going on and has pulled together an action plan for us to work on together. I really couldn’t recommend her highly enough and look forward to further appointments.

17-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie was great. She put me at ease, knew her stuff and provided me with a treatment plan I feel confident about. Overall, a very positive session.

16-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie's advice when I was experiencing constipation in pregnancy was very helpful. Her professional manner and expertise were reassuring. A potentially embarrassing issue did not seem the case when I was sat in her office! I appreciated Sophie's diet first approach to finding a treatment for my symptoms. I would not hesitate to recommend Sophie.

Patient seen for:
Constipation
Pregnancy
05-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing 😉

04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Ms Medlin is incredibly knowledgable about her field and explained solutions clearly & warmly You’ll find her to be friendly and patient, as well as warm & welcoming in helping one deal with a dietary issue

04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is a superstar. She knows everything I hoped she would, and when I went to her with my specific symptom (insomnia) she recommended a course of action that actually cured it through diet and supplements that I wasn't expecting after 5 months of trying everything else to no avail!! I am delighted to say I've slept really well ever since and recommend her to all my friends.

Patient seen for:
insomnia
04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is not only knowledgable, but incredibly flexible in her ability to try to find the right solution for the individual. She has given me so much peace of mind with her advice and help when I've been looking to help treat the many ailments that have befallen me, going out of her way to review other test results to help understand my condition with as much information as is available. Her professionalism is perfectly balanced with her friendly approach and Im so grateful that I've managed to find someone as capable as her to help guide me to better health. Thanks Sophie!

04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A fantastic dietitian who has given me confidence and helped me to rebuild a more positive relationship with food and how it fits into my day to day life. Sophie has been great to work with, accessible, knowledgeable and supportive at every stage of the journey.

08-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Working with Sophie Medlin was a wonderful experience. She creates a safe and warm space for people like me to share their story, and work towards a better health. Together with Sophie, I was able to create a foundation of knowledge and understanding, on which I can build and expand in the future. I would recommend her services and City Dietitians to anyone.

Patient seen for:
Eating Disorders
16-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie gave me advice on diet during my pregnancy that was both reassuring and constructive. I would absolutely recommend her services to other pregnant ladies!

Patient seen for:
Pregnancy
16-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie was fantastic. She understood the needs I have with my colostomy. Her advice was absolutely fantastic. I feel like I’m in safe hands under her guidance. I have lost weight, but more importantly I’ve improved my fibre intake and general well-being.

30-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

When I came to Sophie I was in a really low place regarding my body dysmorphia and obsessive calorie counting. My issues were psychological in nature and past counselling hadn’t really tackled it. I was looking for a dietitian who would take a non-aggressive stance on ways of eating, promote balance and educate me around eating for fertility not weight loss. Sophie has done just that. Not only is she kind and patient, she is extremely knowledgeable, and her approach is rooted in science and evidence. Even in just a short space of time she has helped me make big steps towards my goal of being obsession free. She is a voice of reason in a world that’s full of dieting nonsense and shame-based fads. I highly recommend her.

Patient seen for:
Body Dysmorphic Disorder (BDD)
22-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional yet friendly. Can't think how the experience could have been better.

20-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Shopie lsitened to my story and issues askingprecise questions that made me understood she knows what I was talking about and that made me feel very positive since our first chat. I appreciated the fact she gave me guidelines and not "rules", this was the main difference with my past experiences that I feel like made the difference in the positive outcome.

Patient seen for:
Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
23-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My first experience with Sophie has been really lovely. She is calm, kind and knowledgable. I trust that she can help me with my diet.

Patient seen for:
Eating Disorders
16-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie was friendly and professional, with an easy manner. She provided knowledge, advice and options that are suited to my current needs.

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I went to see Sophie after suffering from bowel problems for many years. Sophie immediately made me feel at ease and has helped me immeasurably. I am very grateful for all her help, professionalism, and great knowledge which made a rather sensitive problem seem not only manageable but solvable through following her advice.

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is a very professional and knowledgeable dietician. I have seen her twice now and followed her advice, which has led me to a much healthier and happier way of living. She made me feel completely comfortable from the moment I met her and made it easy for my to describe my symptoms and problems. She has made a big difference to my life and my relationship with food.

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very happy

Patient seen for:
Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is very knowledgeable in her field and an excellent listener. She has helped enormously with my body composition.

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After a few days of implementing the changes Sophie recommended, I felt much better and the bloating had almost completely dissipated, We also discussed vegan meal options, advantages and disadvantages and I now feel more confident with what I am eating.

15-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sophie is an incredible dietitian. I sought her advice, when I was struggling to lose weight and she gave me really simple advice on how to reach my goals. With her support I was not only able to get a 6-pack, but also helped improve my fitness & massively increase my muscles size. Whilst the progress was awesome, her focus on simplicity & sustainability means that I’ve been able to maintain the improvements. I’d highly recommend Sophie to anyone wanting to make long term sustainable gains.

15-04-2019