Mr Vivek Gulati

Mr Vivek Gulati

BA(hons) MA MB BChir(Cantab) MRCS MRes Dip(IC) FRCS(Tr & Orth)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
12 specialists

16 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Experience was second to none. Received great care and have healed well. Scarring is minimal. Very happy with how the operation went through to aftercare. Mr Gulati was very helpful, he put my mind at ease and I now need the right leg sorted I would be very happy if he could do it for me.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Experience was second to none. Received great care and have healed well. Scarring is minimal. Very happy with how the operation went through to aftercare. Mr Gulati was very helpful, he put my mind at ease and I now need the right leg sorted I would be very happy if he could do it for me.

Patient seen for:
Partial Knee Replacement
24-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The best Doctor ever. I would give 100 stars, if I could! I’ve been seeing Dr Gulati for years. He is extremely caring and thoughtful and has always put me at complete ease. He always goes out of his way to make sure I am in the best care and all my questions are answered. He always makes himself available and reachable both by phone and email. I owe a big thanks to Dr Gulati for his dedication in addressing my health issues and working hard towards finding the correct diagnosis in order to give me the right treatment. I highly recommend!

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Hip)
Arthritis (Knee)
Knee Pain
MRI Scan (Magnetic Resonance Imaging scan)
Osteoarthritis
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It was my second HIP REPLACEMENT I had complete confidence in Mr GULATI from day one he seemed to appreciate the pain I was experiencing.and immediately arranged my operation,his whole team were brilliant After the operation I had several visit from him during my stay in hospital..Very easy person to talk to to unlike consultants of many years ago who always made you feel inferior to them although probably not intended. I attended physio for several weeks another great experience.Then attended his clinic at 6 weeks 6 months and a telephone consultation at 1 year. I was so impressed I recommended him to my brother who he operated on him couple months later.Everyone from the cleaner to Mr Gulati ten out of ten

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

very efficient and informative service.

Patient seen for:
Minimally invasive knee surgery
15-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

EFFICIENT COURTEOUS AND HELPFUL

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Knee)
14-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have just had a hip replacement following months of acute pain whilst my hip disintegrated. Mr Gulati has been completely superb, from his sense of urgency and understanding my problem to explaining each stage , reassuring me so I felt safe and supported through to the actual operation where he replaced my hip and dealt with my extremely tight muscles caused by walking on a much shorter leg for many, many months. The nurse dressing my wounds complimented me on my wound. If you are wondering whether or not to choose Mr Gulati stop dithering now, this is your man, absolutely excellent, and with the rare compassion and empathy we need to so badly when alone and frightened ( thank you Covid) in hospital. I am still recovering but am delighted to be under the care of Mr Gulati and his team

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
11-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Gulati is a very skilled surgeon.He cares very much about his patients,it is very important to him to know that you are comfortable and pain free. When you are having a consultation with him he explains firstly what is wrong and secondly what options there are to rectify the problem.Everything is explained so you are able to understand. Doctor Gulati makes you feel very relaxed and at ease. I feel extremely lucky and privileged to have met and be under the care of such a knowledgeable and caring person.

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
Avascular Necrosis (AVN) Hip
07-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Gulati has been courteous and informative throughout my treatment. He has answered all of my questions promptly and in detail. He has all also provided comprehensive information at each stage of the process. The team who performed the operation to replace my hip under Mr Gulati’s direction was highly organised and reassuring. The operation went well and my recovery has been very good. Dr Gulati has continued to monitor my progress carefully and offer information on the stages of recovery. All in all I cannot recommend his professionalism, expertise and kindness highly enough. I feel I am very lucky to have had Dr Gulati as my surgeon

Patient seen for:
Arthritis (Hip)
Femur Fractures
07-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am writing to tell you about my positive experience that I have had fro my recent hip operation at the Homerton Hospital. Everyone I met during my pathway did their jobs to a high standard. I would particularly like to compliment my Orthopaedic surgeon, Mr Vivek Gulati. He was always very professional and friendly at all times, both in the outpatient department and whilst I was an inpatient ( he has a wonderful bedside manner). He did an excellent job of replacing my badly worn out hip and has restored and given me back my quality of life. I am now for the first time in over 18 months able to have nearly a full range of movement in the joint and I can now walk and move without any pain. If I was ever asked to recommend a hospital and a surgeon for a hip operation I would not hesitate in saying that they should choose the Homerton Hospital and insist that they see Mr Vivek Gulati.

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
07-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would first like to say thank you for seeing me today and putting my mind at rest. With regards to my operation for a Total Hip Replacement in November 2018 with Doctor Gulati at The HomertonHospital, I have nothing but praise for what he did for me that day. The operation was a complete success and almost immediately I was able to carry on my life at last without pain. I am able to go dancing ,swimming, yoga , and lead the life I had before. I would like to thank you Doctor not only for the operation but also your kindness when I was at my lowest having just lost my husband. I have always had a great respect for what you doctors do, but I have never met a kinder gentleman than you Doctor. I thank you for what you have done for me.

18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

HAD A COMPLETE KNEE REPLACEMENT OPERATION PERFORMED BY MR. GULATI IN DECEMBER 2019. HE HAS TREATED ME WITH THE UTMOST DIGNITY & CARE THROUGHOUT THE PROCEDURE. MR. GULATI HAD THE ABILITY TO LISTEN TO MY CONCERNS OFFERING SOUND ADVICE THROUGHOUT MY TREATMENT. I COULD NOT HAVE WISHED FOR A MORE SUPPORTIVE SURGEON & NEEDLESS TO SAY THE OPERATION HAS BEEN A HUGE SUCCESS. I AM MOST GRATEFUL TO HIM & HIS TEAM FOR THEIR HELP & FRIENDLY MANNER FROM START TO FINISH.

18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am writing to thank you for taking such amazing care of my daughter. I know you have been very supportive of her, have demonstrated enormous emotional intelligence when talking to her and helping her manage her fears and anxiety over what has happened to her regarding the stress fracture and have provided her with outstanding care in every way. Thank you so very much, we all appreciate it, especially my daughter… and myself, as her Mum, standing helpless on the sidelines! Thank you from the bottom of my heart and fingers crossed she will soon be an ex-patient!

10-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had suffered from hip pain for many years to a point where it just became a way of life for me.The hip replacement you performed on me in mid-October has been remarkable, and now just over three months down the line I am thoroughly enjoying the ability to walk pain free, something I have not be able to manage for as long as I can remember. I really cannot thank you enough for your professionalism both pre and post-operation. I knew I had made the right choice when we first met, I felt at ease and you took the time to explain things to me (even over WhatsApp on Sunday afternoon!) Your reassurance helped me to realise that I was in good hands and was making the right decision choosing you as my surgeon. Wishing you all the very best for the future.

24-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I’m one of your patients. I came to see you on 29/07/2019 and you arranged for me to receive a cortisone injection, which was given to me on the 18/09/2019 at Homerton hospital. After the injection, I was referred to the hospital's physio department where I was offered 4 sessions of physiotherapy. I have started going to the gym and I have also been doing all of the exercises that were recommended by the physiotherapist. Since receiving the injection and exercising, The pains in my knee has reduced greatly. My knee is not warm to touch nor wakes me up at night. The pain has not gone completely, I still have pains when I climbing or descending the stairs but it’s bearable. however, I am able to walk for long and now able to do some of the things I was previously unable to do because of the pain in my knees. Thank you for recommending the injection.

07-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dear Mr Gulati, You may recall you did both of my knee replacements; the left one in February and the right one in July 2019. I just want to thank you because I am now able to walk again pain-free. I am in Australia now and have attended my niece's wedding - I have never been before and the likelihood is if my knees had not been replaced I probably would not have been able to attend the wedding due to the extreme difficulty I was having managing my pain and being mobile. I was able to see my family who I haven't seen in years. I've also been walking around Sydney sight seeing for up to an hour and longer on occasions. My shoulders are still giving me some trouble but my knees are excellent now. You have given me a new lease of life - I am able to walk around without leg/knee pain and its wonderful. I cannot thank you enough. You and other Doctors like you are a huge credit to the NHS. Thank you once again to you and your team for everything you have done for me. I hope you had a good Christmas and Happy New Year to you all. Best regards,

02-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a hip under Mr Gulati. It went very well. My pain is much better. The operation was a success and I am in no Discomfort six weeks on. I would recommend this surgeon 100 per cent.

16-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been seen by one of your very focused, dedicated and empathetic Dr V Gulati. He is such a kind and gentle person. Seeing him again made me without any doubt very confident and secure in his care. I appreciate how well he took care of me. He has shown a trusting relationship with a patient in just a few minutes. Please convey my respect and greatly appreciated his time and care towards me.

12-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great experience with my consultant Mr Gulati. I was extremely pleased with his service. He listened to all my problems and guided me. Again thanks to Mr Gulati a great professional.

27-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Gulati, his team, the daycare staff, other nurses and physiotherapists have all been excellent. Professional throughout, kind reassuring, explaining everything that was happening. I could not wish for better care at any point.

27-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My mum was admitted to BMI London independent hospital for a knee replacement procedure. The care she received from Mr Gulati and his team was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for both the night and day staff and we cannot thank everyone enough for their care. On behalf of both of us.

27-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dear Mr Gulati, in April you did my hip replacement surgery and I wanted to Thank you so much for doing such a great job. I am now completely pain-free and free to live my busy life.

27-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Gulati performed my hip in November last year. It was a wonderful result. It has changed my life. My knee is hurting now and he is treating me for that.

29-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Should you have any knee problem, in particular, Mr Gulati an Orthopaedic Surgeon at The London Independent is someone that is highly recommended. To have a surgeon instantly recognise and understand what the impact of pain was having on my once very active Father's mobility and the whole wellbeing was amazing. His quick and efficient advice, treatment and aftercare personally delivered was to the highest standard of professionalism and quality. My Father is on his way back to being pain-free to continue a fulfilling daily independent life. We as a family have huge comfort and appreciation in knowing the situation is under control now and his ongoing treatment and care is in Mr Gulati's hands. Superb.

29-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would like to thank you for all your kindness and care from my first appointment to my last. You explained everything in detail which I appreciated, especially on my last appointment when you showed me the before op and after op pictures of my knee which illustrated how bad my knee was before you actually operated. Thank you so much, I am able to enjoy life again without walking with constant pain as well as doing my job (which includes physical intervention training), without worrying about the pain I would be in afterwards.

24-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have found Mr Gulati absolutely brilliant. I am very happy with the treatment he gives to me for both my knees. The injections do a really good job and he does them himself. Thank you.

24-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can only confirm that from the moment I arrived at the hospital until the moment I left my treatment was met with kindness and support from an amazing team, including the catering staff. You, as my surgeon, was patient, encouraging, and brilliant in keeping me informed and, in performing my surgery, you were priceless. I wrote singing the praises of you and your team to PAL. I cannot praise you or my treatment enough.

23-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a partial knee replacement under Mr Gulati. The operation result is brilliant. I was only in Homerton for one night. Delighted with the outcome. I would highly recommend this Doctor.

21-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My mum was recently admitted to the BMI London Independent Hosptial for a knee replacement procedure. The care she received from Mr Gulati and his team was exceptional. Nothing was too much trouble for both the night and day staff, and we cannot thank everyone enough for their care. On behalf of both of us. Thank you.

21-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Hi Vivek, It's exactly one year ago today that I had my right hip replacement. I haven’t had a minute’s trouble from it since. So this is to say keep up the good work and thanks for the last 12 months from one very happy customer! Warm wishes to you and yours.

21-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a knee replacement under MrGulati. He changed my life. My knee is so much better. Before I had to sit down every five minutes. Now I can walk much better. This was at Homerton hospital. He is doing a great job for Homerton Hospital. He is a very capable surgeon. The aftercare was fantastic.

30-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The hip replacement I had is a blessing in disguise. I can move. I can tie my shoes. I am six weeks in. I can turn without pain in bed. Walking wise I am a 100 per cent improved.

26-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Hi Mr Gulati I would like to say how good my treatment has been. The staff in the London Independent hospital have been very welcoming and the outcome has been better than I hoped for. Thank you so much.

19-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had right knee arthroscopy under Mr Gulati. The surgery was great. My knee is very well now. I am absolutely pleased with the service from London Independent Hospital.

19-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I hope everything is well with you. You fixed my hip, I had a total ceramic hip replacement in Homerton. I want you to know that I feel very well and my life is back to normal thanks to you and all your team.

18-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dear Mr Gulati, I was pleased to meet you today and felt very encouraged by your response to my recovery from my hip replacement operation. I have had excellent support from your team of health visitors and physiotherapists who gave me targets to aim for and I am delighted with the result because I feel no pain when I walk. Thank you for answering my questions and I realise that I must still be patient. I will follow up on your suggestion of cycling in the gym and will be grateful for some extra physio support.

17-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent engagement with Mr Gulati. For the first time in my attending the ortho departments or the Homerton( and ive had many appointments here ), I felt feeling that Mr Gulati understood my expectations and needs with regards to my 2 knees which are correct. Filled with fluid, I can not praise Mr Gulati highly enough for his care, reassuring and positive attitude. Many Many thanks.

16-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

To Mr Gulati and all the other doctors who were so kind to me whilst I was in hospital for 23 days now I am on the mend and am so grateful for all you did for me, May God bless you all with special graces and blessings.

16-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had an injection under Mr Gulati. My knee is feeling very good now. Before I could not do any exercise.I could not run. Now I can run and do sit-ups. The care at BMI independent is ten out of ten.

06-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have always found going to see my consultant Vivek Gulati, a pleasure. Everything is so straightforward. I tell him what's wrong, and then he acts on it, and I get the treatment I need. As his patient, I really can't ask for any more than that. For example, my next appointment was not until 31st October but after I sent an email as well as my GP, pointing out that I was in considerable pain, I have already had an appointment brought forward, and now thankfully await another injection in the next couple of weeks. That really is brilliant news as I'm in considerable pain. The treatment I have received and the speed it has happened since under Vivek Gulati is really second to none. Thank you.

04-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a hip replacement under Mr Gulati at the age of 42. It has been excellent and am very happy. It has dramatically changed my life and now my legs are straight and walk normally. Can’t wait to get into the gym. Really chuffed.

02-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Hip replacement. My mum is very happy with the operation. The wound has healed nicely. If all her joints were like this she would be running in the park. Hip felt good after a few days following the hip replacement. Now very good. She feels great.

02-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Hello, Mr Vivek Gulati! I'm now very glad and happy after your surgery to revise my broken hip replacement. Everything is healing ok, and soon I'll be able to walk again without any pain in my leg. Thanks a lot for your great job and troubles you made for me. I just can't find any X-RAY photo you've made the second day after the operation, would be nice to have it in my own use as a proof of your incredible experience. Thank you very much!

02-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dear Mr Gulati and all the wonderful team of staff night and day from consultants to Theatre and Xray staff nursing and physio team. Thank you for all your wonderful support and care especially Dr Gulati who has given me my life back, you are truly all my heroes.

27-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a right knee arthroscopy under Mr Gulati. Mr Gulati is ten out of ten. He had supported us really well. Before I had locked in my knee and that has all gone. I am now working with the physiotherapy and Mr Gulati makes it a whole team effort for my care.

22-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a knee replacement at Homerton under Mr Gulati. Everybody were good-doctors, physiotherapist and the nurses. My knee is doing very well. Thank you.

19-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had my hip replacement under Mr Gulati. Service was good and professional. Could not feel better. No complaints no pain. After one week no pain at all. Results good.

12-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very happy with my hip replacement. It is such a relief not to have the pain anymore. The operation was great. I knew replacement. It is such a relief not to have the pain anymore. The operations was great. I knew nothing about it. I was talked through the whole operation which was so reassuring. I am having the opposite side done and I would wholeheartedly recommend Mr Gulati and Homerton.

12-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The treatment at Homerton from start to finish was brilliant. I was treated with the utmost of respect. The stay on the 2012 was very good. I am very happy with the operation.

12-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very pleased with how my knee replacement went. I was very impressed with the facilities and the care that I was given at the London Independent Hospital. The aftercare is also excellent ie physio and my 6-week review. If I needed any other procedure I would definitely like to be treated at this hospital. Thank you.

30-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Gulati did my knee replacement at Homerton. I stayed on the 2012 ward. I am very grateful. It is fantastic. I am much more confident with this knee replacement than when I had my other one done. I am booking my ticket to India and I cancelled it three times before due to the knee pain. Mr Gulati has made me happy as I am on my own and now I can visit my relations and brothers because of his work.

30-07-2019