Mr Simon Horgan

Mr Simon Horgan

MBBS, FRCS, FRCOphth

Ophthalmology

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.98
Bedside Manner
4.96
Explanation
4.98

Top feedback

“Mr. Horgan has treated me for about 2 years for age-related macular degeneration and central serous retinopathy. I was extremely nervous before my first treatment but Mr. Horgan was very caring and his support staff excellent. He was courteous, relaxed and authoritative and took time to explain things to me in language I could understand. His practice manager, Lorraine, was equally impressive and helpful at all times. I cannot speak too highly of the service received.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Horgan has treated me for about 2 years for age-related macular degeneration and central serous retinopathy. I was extremely nervous before my first treatment but Mr. Horgan was very caring and his support staff excellent. He was courteous, relaxed and authoritative and took time to explain things to me in language I could understand. His practice manager, Lorraine, was equally impressive and helpful at all times. I cannot speak too highly of the service received.

Patient seen for:
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Horgan was pleasant and helpful.

Mr Simon Horgan

thanks for your feedback.

Patient seen for:
Ocular hypertension
01-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Horgan is very professional and of course an expert in his field. He explained everything in a lot of detail and put my mind to rest. From my initial consultation to the day of surgery, everything was dealt with in a thorough manner. Mr Horgan was very reassuring during the procedure itself which made me feel at ease. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Horgan.

Mr Simon Horgan

So lovely to hear your positive feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
27-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very grateful to Mr Horgan for his care expertise and kindness in keeping my eyesight stable. He has treated me since 2016 for ARMD.

Mr Simon Horgan

You are most welcome and Mr Horgan is very happy to help.

Patient seen for:
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
19-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been treated for nearly 5 years by Mr Horgan. My sight has been saved from degenerating very quickly and I am very grateful to him for his expertise and kindness. I would certainly recommend anyone who has aged related we macular degeneration to see him.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Patient seen for:
Age related wet macular degeneration
19-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Appropriate time given to explain the procedure, options and outcome.

Mr Simon Horgan

Good to know.

18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

This was a return visit to see Mr Horgan, 7 years after my first cataract operation.

Mr Simon Horgan

We are glad you made the decision to return.

Patient seen for:
Cataract.
17-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly and helpful

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
06-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have found that I can trust Mr.Horgan's judgement completely. He is excellent at explaining all aspects of treatments and he is kind and considerate.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your positive feedback. This is great to hear.

Patient seen for:
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
06-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Mr Horgan for over 5 years and have had excellent in every respect,

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear.

04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very calming and reassuring

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your feedback.

03-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very calming and reassuring

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your positive feedback.

03-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Horgan was great with my little boy today. Highly recommend

Mr Simon Horgan

Lovely to hear. Thanks for the feedback.

23-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had bi lateral cataract surgery and received multifocal lenses which have made a big difference to my sight. I have appreciated the clinical support and all round care that I have received. Thank you for everything you have done for me.

Mr Simon Horgan

You are most welcome. So great to hear that you are pleased!

23-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thorough examination with full explanation of how to move forward

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Patient seen for:
Vision problems
20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Marvellous vision following cataract surgery

Mr Simon Horgan

Excellent news!

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Made to feel very comfortable. Treatment was explained well and painless! Thank you.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your feedback.

19-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Mr Horgan and the support staff at the New Victoria Hospital dealt with my two cataracts in a professional, timely way that has resulted in me being glasses-free around the house for the first time in 50 years. I had toric replacement lenses fitted, which have reduced both my significant short sightedness and astigmatism, and now I only need glasses for distance (driving, TV, etc.). My operations were quick (about 15 minutes) and painless with a rapid recovery by adhering to the prescribed eye-drop schedule.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for the wonderful feedback! It's always lovely to hear from happy patients!

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
16-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Horgan has done a wonderful job on my cataracts. I can see brilliantly now. Only snag was that I can wrinkles which I didn't realise I had!! Luckily Mr Horgan has an aesthetic clinic too so I have been able to sort those out too

Mr Simon Horgan

We will see you again soon then hopefully!

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Marvellous

Mr Simon Horgan

THANK YOU!

06-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent as always. I see Mr Horgan regularly

Mr Simon Horgan

Good to hear.

Patient seen for:
Glaucoma
06-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really happy with every aspect of care.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your feedback.

03-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He was excellent at every stage of my treatment, no issues whatsoever - would highly recommend.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for the lovely feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
21-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Brilliant results from cataract surgery

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear!

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
19-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent I every aspect. A pleasure to have my cataracts treated. Highly recommended.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear, thank you.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
16-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Horgan was mindful of my concerns over possible complications. He did his best to reassure me whilst being entirely honest. I never felt rushed by him. I feel the outcome is as good as it could be. given my problematic sight. The fact that I can carry out most tasks without glasses, for the first time in my life, is a real bonus. I am yet to get my spectacles for long distance but don't anticipate any issues arising.

Mr Simon Horgan

So pleased to hear, thank you for your kind feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
10-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Everything went extremely well.

Mr Simon Horgan

Glad to hear.

14-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

I will go back

Mr Simon Horgan

so pleased to hear.

06-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent treatment and service

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you.

Patient seen for:
Cataract.
04-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Helpful and reassuring. Efficient processes too.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your feedback.

28-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent treatment. Takes away nervousness and I’d very reassuring regarding process.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear, thank you.

Patient seen for:
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
23-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Mr Horgan is extremely competent and explained everything to me in detail. The cataract operation om each of my eyes was very successful for which I am most grateful

Mr Simon Horgan

So pleased to hear; thank you

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
18-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent. I was able to have my injection treatment at the New Vic clinic which was quick and convenient.

Mr Simon Horgan

Good to hear.

Patient seen for:
Age-related Macular Degeneration (AMD)
17-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really helpful and reassuring. Highly recommend

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your feedback

Patient seen for:
Floaters
10-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional and caring on every visit. Fantastic result from my cataract procedure.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear; thank you for your opinion.

30-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly informative consultations and the best possible outcome following surgery.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataract
24-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

This is the second procedure carried out for me by Mr Horgan. I'd like to thank the whole team for their professionalism, skill and friendly interaction with me. Highly recommended.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear. thank you.

Patient seen for:
Cataract
24-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent experience - customised to my circumstances and feedback - and excellent outcomes in each eye.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
22-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly and welcoming. Clear and understandable explanations of procedure and treatment. Result; a life changing improvement in eye sight. Highly recommend.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear!

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
22-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My husband and I attended together with my cataracts and his glaucoma. We left feeling very reassured and well looked after. Excellent

Mr Simon Horgan

Lovely to hear. Thank you.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
19-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Mr.Simon Horgan's for a number of year's and always found him pleasant and very informative as regards my eye condition.I feel that I am in very safe hands.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear.

18-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Mr. Horgan extremely professional. He gave a very full explanation of the procedure and any associated risks. His timekeeping was prompt and the secretarial help he employs is pleasant, very efficient and accessible. He is also very empathetic and bent over backwards to help with an unrelated area which might have affected my procedure. The procedure was painless and easier than I had anticipated and was 100% successful. I cannot recommend Mr. Horgan too highly.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your lovely feedback (and for mentioning me also!) Secretary.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
18-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very happy with Mr Horgan's care.

Mr Simon Horgan

Great to hear.

17-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent communicator.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your feedback.

16-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very good as usual

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your kind feedback.

12-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Saw Mr Horgan today as a new patient to check my diabetic retinopathy. He was very thorough and I am completely reassured. My eyes have also been irritated lately.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you for your positive feedback.

Patient seen for:
Dry Eyes
Diabetes
12-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very very pleased on his consultation and care

Mr Simon Horgan

Thank you.

10-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An excellent experience with results better then expected

Mr Simon Horgan

Fantastic to hear.

Patient seen for:
Cataract
06-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very, very good. I felt completely happy

Mr Simon Horgan

great to hear; thanks for your feedback.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
22-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very happy with my treatment by Mr Horgan. I particularly appreciated the care taken prior to the procedure to check my retina because of the thickness of my cataract. The procedure went smoothly on the appointed day and Mr. Horgan's post operation lchecks ensured that my eye was working well.

Mr Simon Horgan

Thanks for your positive feedback.

27-06-2019