Mr Sanjay Purkayastha

Mr Sanjay Purkayastha

BSc (Hons), MBBS (Hons), MD, FRCS (Eng)

General Surgery

Recommended by  
3 specialists

19 years of experience
7 years as a specialist

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Although I had research hiatal hernia and gerd on the net, the explanation of how caffeine and turmeric was significantly making my symptoms so much worse was enlightening. I discovered turmeric was making me particularly ill when my mother suggested having that with milk because it may help with wheezing. I felt reassured that I am not imagining feeling so unwell after eating turmeric and caffeine particularly, and anti-reflux medication was not making much of a difference. Onions, garlic and tomatoes are well documented (and medication was more effective) but I did not understand how certain foods interfere with the valve that allows food to leave the stomach. Mr Purkayastha was honest and realistic about the long-term outcomes of surgery correction (that it may only last around 5 years) and also the tests that would have to be carried out in order to ascertain whether surgery would be beneficial to me. He also explained (without being at all condescending) that I will need to rethink my eating habits e.g. control my weight, portions, move immediately after eating - which I tend to do automatically without thinking. The actual surgery procedure was explained in detail but with hindsight I should have asked the benefits from Nissen Fundoplication verses Linx which seems to be new procedure. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Although I had research hiatal hernia and gerd on the net, the explanation of how caffeine and turmeric was significantly making my symptoms so much worse was enlightening. I discovered turmeric was making me particularly ill when my mother suggested having that with milk because it may help with wheezing. I felt reassured that I am not imagining feeling so unwell after eating turmeric and caffeine particularly, and anti-reflux medication was not making much of a difference. Onions, garlic and tomatoes are well documented (and medication was more effective) but I did not understand how certain foods interfere with the valve that allows food to leave the stomach. Mr Purkayastha was honest and realistic about the long-term outcomes of surgery correction (that it may only last around 5 years) and also the tests that would have to be carried out in order to ascertain whether surgery would be beneficial to me. He also explained (without being at all condescending) that I will need to rethink my eating habits e.g. control my weight, portions, move immediately after eating - which I tend to do automatically without thinking. The actual surgery procedure was explained in detail but with hindsight I should have asked the benefits from Nissen Fundoplication verses Linx which seems to be new procedure.

27-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I met Mr Purkayastha on zoom in April and in person after my tests had been completed. He was very kind and thorough with his explanations of how to proceed.

23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Purkayastha has assembled a 100% quality and effective team. With his leadership and expertise, they made my surgery and recovering much easier than I had expected . He and his team deserve my gratitude and thanks for being under such good care.

17-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Having had a year of abdominal pain, I can say I was put at ease with the level of detail and explanation that was done at every step before, during and after surgery. I would highly recommend Dr Purkayastha.

Patient seen for:
Appendicitis
10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Purkayastha was pleasant and informative. He took the time to answer and discuss my questions.

Patient seen for:
Inguinal Hernia
08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Purkayastha was so efficient in being able to see me and come up with a plan or action for my pain. He made me feel confident that my problem would be sorted out- which it was!

06-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was recommended by my trusted GP to Mr Purkayastha. I am very particular about Doctors as my GP knows and he won't send me to anyone that he thinks I won't like or trust. I had to have surgery for a ruptured hernia so I had several appointments with Mr Purkayastha. From the first appointment to the most recent one, Mr Purkayastha has been professtional, polite, friendly, caring and very respectful. He is at the top of his field and I felt in very safe hands but also most importantly I felt comfortable to ask what ever questions I had. He spent the time with me that was needed to answer my questions and explain anything that was not clear. His bedside manner is impeccable. I cannot rate or recommend Mr Purkayastha high enough. As a matter of fact I told my GP that he gets 5 gold stars which is the highest rating I have given!

Patient seen for:
Gastric surgery
27-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have seen 3 Bariatric surgeons in the past 5 years following poor aftercare (5 years) from a UK based surgery. I have suffered fir a year with reflux and loss of sleep, digestion problems and weight loss beyond what I wanted. After no success with my precious private health care provider and also my GP suggesting more anti acid tablets I had a preventive medical examination with Preventicum. This took place on the Friday. On the Tuesday I was contacted by Dr Purkayastha team and on Thursday I was seen for my consultation. Within two hours Dr Purkayastha had completed my examination, blood tests, X-ray before completing an adjustment to previous surgery and after instant relief and a promise of a call the next morning to discuss the results of my tests, I headed home extremely happy. For the first time in 12 months I ate with no sickness or acid reflux. I then had a full nights sleep with no acid reflux in 5 years. The following morning it wasn’t the best news, my surgery from 2015 had failed and needed removing to prevent any potential harm I have had my Covid test today, I’m at St Mary’s and also the OneWelbeck on Tuesday for pre operative tests and booked for my operation on Thursday or a Friday From, without exaggeration, has been years of discomfort, to within a 10 day period to meet a surgeon who has diagnosed and will complete corrective surgery is a testament to their work ethic and professionalism This is all happening in June 2020, we are still in the unknown times of Civid 19 with unprecedented new systems of working and living for all. A reason my previous private health care provider suggested I go to A&E if problems persisted. I have met what I now believe to be one of the best in his field, a surgeon who is friendly and professional and puts you at ease with the confidence to address any concerns I had. I cannot thank the team and Dr Purkayastha enough for the care I have received to date. I truly wish our paths had crossed sooner Life changing actions that were achieved in a matter of minutes and hours not months years. Thank you

26-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very comfortable throughout my surgery because of Mr Purkayastha. Great surgeon and man!

Patient seen for:
Hernia
26-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I wanted to extend a heartfelt thank you to Mr Purkayastha for his fantastic care of me. His quality and integrity as a surgeon and, more fundamentally, as a person, shine through. I cannot thank him enough. Although my journey is not over I am looking forward to the next step with him. The whole process was made stress free by his secretary Marcela and her kindness, sincere caring, and concern made everything better.

Patient seen for:
Gallbladder Removal (cholecystectomy)
22-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful, explained my whole surgery, answered and calmed me about any worries i had. Was very kind and constantly discussed and updated me on the process making sure i was content

19-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Purkayastha was extremely effective and I had my operation with no problems

17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Purkayastha was extremely helpful and understanding.

17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The whole experience was very easy with no hiccups. I saw the consultant very quickly and al precautions were met.

17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Not a single issue. My problem was explained well, the prognosis and suggested treatment were well described and explained (and then performed). When I had minor post-operative issues, despite the procedure not being a likely candidate Mr P was happy to see me and reassure me that all was well.

Patient seen for:
Open Hernia Repair
17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

In my dealings with Mr Purkayastha , I have found him to be patient, compassionate and taking the time to listen to me and my concerns. Very impressed with his manner and cannot recommend him enough.

Patient seen for:
Weight Management
11-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Exemplary, from my first phone call to his secretary Marcela, through to my final appointment and discharge. Superb care -- including a reassuring telephone call at 9pm on a Sunday evening. I am enormously grateful for the care and attention I received.

10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Purkayastha could not have been more helpful and compassionate in all his dealings with us - his skill as a surgeon is beyond question as is the individual care and attention which he gives to his patients. I couldn't recommend him more highly.

10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very precise in his commentary Very professional

Patient seen for:
Gallstones
10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Purkayastha is an amazing doctor with excellent bedside manner. I was admitted to the hospital at 7 pm in the evening with acute appendicitis. Even though Dr. Purkayastha was not on call that evening, he came into the hospital to check on me and examine me. He took his time to explain to me what was happening and what my options are. My husband, who was a little stressed in light of the circumstances, had a lot of questions and Dr. Purkayastha responded to all of his questions putting him at ease. My surgery was perfect and after the surgery I was able to reach Marcela (the most amazing privat PA I have ever met!) very easily with any questions. Overall, I could not have hoped for a better team to take care of me.

Patient seen for:
Appendicitis
10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Best surgeon I have ever come across. Absolutely amazing bedside manner, made me feel so comfortable and explain everything until I fully understood what was happening and was always honest with me. Even now a year later we still communicate on how I’m doing. I couldn’t of asked for a better surgeon!

Patient seen for:
bariatric surgery
09-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I highly recommend Mr Purkayastha.He was very professional, very reassuring and an excellent surgeon. Would not hesitate to use him again.

Patient seen for:
Hernia
Gastric Sleeve
09-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Simply the best. Mr P was kind, very knowledgeable, and spent time talking to me about my options and helping me make a really educated decision. Our conversations were open, honest and super helpful in not only making the decision to move ahead, but also for all stages or pre- and post operation. His bed side manner was fantastic too. Cannot thank him enough for his support and his skills in helping me.

Patient seen for:
Bariatric surgery
08-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Prkayastha is a fantastic surgeon - I couldn't recommend him highly enough!

Patient seen for:
Appendicectomy
07-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He treated me like an adult and explained everything well.

Patient seen for:
Gallbladder Removal (cholecystectomy)
07-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A great sergeant very friendly & care for his patients so much from his hart.

06-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Sanjay Purkayastha is an honest and thoughtful professional - he will always take the time to explain any issues or procedures to you.

06-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and friendly approach and an absolute pleasure to do business with. He clearly sets very high standards and as a result his staff perform with great professionalism and enthusiasm.

06-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wonderful and sweet and calming. Made me feel at ease throughout the whole process was always there when needed and was very professional. Would recommend him

05-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Everything always is perfect Service, explanations and etc

05-06-2020