Mr Rob Pollock

Mr Rob Pollock

BSc (Hons), MBBS, FRCS (Eng), FRCS (Tr & Orth)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
1 specialist

26 years of experience

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
4.94
Explanation
4.94

Top feedback

“I recently had Knee surgery with Mr Pollock, I can not recommend him and his team enough. Everything was well organised from the start more so given that my surgery was during a pandemic. Mr pollock was informative / helpful and understating every step of the way - I would have no hesitation in recommending him. I also need to mention Frankie his PA , how valuable she is in the process as much as everyone else- very information and organised. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently had Knee surgery with Mr Pollock, I can not recommend him and his team enough. Everything was well organised from the start more so given that my surgery was during a pandemic. Mr pollock was informative / helpful and understating every step of the way - I would have no hesitation in recommending him. I also need to mention Frankie his PA , how valuable she is in the process as much as everyone else- very information and organised.

Patient seen for:
Knee Arthroscopy
21-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Rob Pollock performed a total left hip replacement,for me nearly three years ago,with excellent results.I therefore had no hesitation in returning to him for a repeat procedure,on my right hip. I would recommend Mr Pollock& his excellent team as a 1st.class choice,to anyone requiring surgery,especially hip replacement.

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
19-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Superb from start to finish,I’ve had many surgeries, under Mr Pollock prepare,procedure and aftercare have been flawless.

Patient seen for:
Bone Tumour Surgery
19-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Following a sub capital hip fracture & subsequent operation in January 2020 in Spain, I made an appt to see Mr Pollock to check on the surgical procedure & for aftercare. Mr Pollock has been very helpful & understanding & wonderful at explaining various test results. I have had excellent care over the last 9 months & Mr Pollock has been very reassuring. I would highly recommend him. .

Patient seen for:
Hip Fractures
14-10-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Suffering from a rare nodule in a difficult area behind the knee,I knew that the excision could cause serious complications. I already had seen some top orthopedists in my country and abroad . Some of them had difficulties even to come to a diagnosis, other were reluctant to undertake the risks of such operation. In the first appointment with Dr Pollock I understood that he had deep and solid knowledge of the subject together with great surgical experience. He had studied my case in advance and offered me a clear diagnosis which later was confirmed by the post op biopsy . He answered all my questions with scientific sufficiency ,friendly manner and understanding of the psychological pressure of the patient and his family. After the operation I understood that he is a really talented surgeon: I was waiting at least for some mild post-op neurovascular problems. I had none! Of course I was expecting to be in pain and some weeks with mobility problems. At the second post-op day I returned to my hotel (0,6m) on foot and at the third post-op day I didn’t need painkillers ! It is important to add that after all medical actions I received a detailed written report with all the necessary remarks and instructions. I feel lucky being treated by Dr Pollock. Needed to mention that all the staff at the PG Hospital was well trained and very helpful and the help of Dr Pollock’s personal assistant was valuable.

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
22-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had the pleasure of being treated by Mr Pollock in February 2020. He operated on my knee (he removed a lump of PVNS - a benign tumour). I had never had a general anaesthetic before so was anxious about having surgery. I was so impressed with both Mr Pollock & Mr Cooper (his anaesthetist). They were both incredibly reassuring, explained everything clearly and made me feel very well looked after. I’d highly recommend them both to anyone who needs orthopaedic surgery/consultation. Thank you for everything!

Patient seen for:
Knee Surgery
PVNS
Hoffa's Fat Pad Impingement
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent Surgeon, You will be in good hands and I can’t recommend Mr Pollock enough! I was diagnosed with Soft Tissue Sarcoma on my left foot in 8th August 2019 and was due to have a operation in 9th September 2019 but last minute I have had second thoughts about the surgeon, she was fairly new (as surgery was complex I strongly felt it had to be done by an Experienced Consultant). After doing extensive research on suitable Surgeons I came across Mr Pollock’s details and booked an appointment to see him on 11th September. Having obtained all my reports; test results Mr Pollock’s Secretary has informed me that he will see me earlier as he said I had to have the tumour out ASAP and reconstructive surgery afterwards. I went to see him on Monday 9th and had my surgery on 11th September. During my appointment Dr Pollock explained everything very clearly. I knew what to expect and left his surgery feeling less scared about everything. Mr Pollock not only saved my foot but completely cleared the tumour with a clear margin and I didn’t need to have any radiotherapy or chemotherapy, I just can’t thank him enough. My foot is in great shape, I am now leading a normal life, I walk around 5-10K every day because of the successful surgery. I will be under surveillance for next 10 years but I know I am at good hands. Thank you very much Mr Pollock.

Patient seen for:
Soft Tissue Sarcoma
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Mr.Pollock since he operated on my knee several years ago. Since then I have had need to consult Mr.Pollock regarding my arthritic hip. He has always been helpful and understanding. I have given Mr.Pollock’s name to several of my friends who on my recommendation have consulted Mr.Pollock. I am very grateful to have Mr.Pollock as my consultant.

Patient seen for:
Knee Pain
13-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Excellent surgery result would have appreciated more support during the post operative period but not sure if that should be expected or sought elsewhere.

Mr Rob Pollock

Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you felt you needed more support in the post-op period. I'm not sure whether you were hoping for more support from me, from the physios or the nursing staff. I would be very interested in your feedback so that I can improve my service in the future. Please feel free to see me in clinic to discuss.

Patient seen for:
Knee Replacement
08-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A highly experienced surgeon who listened very well and then explored every avenue to get to the root of the problem. I felt in extremely safe hands because he really knows his stuff and was a pleasure to deal with. Would recommend to anyone needing an orthopaedic surgeon.

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Knee Pain
Hip and groin pain
Torn Meniscus (Cartilage)
24-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Pollock was clear, helpful and empathetic in appointments and engaged extremely well with our 11 year old son (as well as us). He was calming, professional and sensible throughout. At the hospital, he and the whole team were excellent. The operation took place once Covid restrictions allowed, but whilst extra precautions were still in place. All of that was handled smoothly. The operation itself was again done to the highest standards. Again our son was made to feel calm throughout. A special child expert came to talk to him and answer all his questions. It was admirable throughout. Mr Pollock's PA (Frankie) was brilliant too! Efficient, knowledgeable and helpful throughout. We are very impressed indeed with the experience throughout. Thank you!

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Bone Tumour Surgery
24-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The experience has been exemplary. Mr Pollock is extremely approachable and is clearly extremely knowledgeable and competent.

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Knee Replacement
20-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Pollock came highly recommended and did not disappoint for my double knee op (i.e. both knees). Mr Pollock was prepared to take me on at short notice and was thorough in his explanation of the procedures and findings post op. I would highly recommend Mr Pollock's expertise and comforting manner.

Patient seen for:
Knee Arthroscopy
18-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was extremely grateful to Mr Pollock for my virtual session, and the fact that he managed to fit me in during such an unprecedented time due to Coronavirus. I was given excellent information, all my questions were answered, and I was very satisfied with my aftercare. I am healing well, and would highly recommend Mr Pollock to anyone who needed orthopaedic care

Patient seen for:
Orthopaedic Surgery
Knee Replacement
18-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Since childhood I had a damaged hip due to Perthes Disease. For decades the advice was that it was not appropriate to take action. When I met Mr Pollock late last year, age 57, I found out that with medical advances and a knowledgeable, experienced and confident surgeon I could have a new lease of life without hip pain, restricted use and recover some leg length. Mr Pollock has managed to achieve all these things for me and years of concern about my steady deterioration prior to the operation are now behind me and I am easily able to do all those things I had begun to avoid and put off. A huge thank you for my full hip replacement which has gone brilliantly. I would be happy to recommend Mr Pollock to anyone else needing a hip replacement.

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
15-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Pollock is the most wonderful consultant. He has the very best of qualities that every patient wants and needs: excellent bedside manner, friendliness, clam and clear explanation of issue and how they will be treated, great knowledge of his subject, professionalism, extremely calming manner (priceless for those of us who are anxious). In times of not being well and considering Covid, I will always consider myself extremely fortunate that Mr. Pollock took me on as a patient for sarcoma excision surgery, biopsy and consultation before that, and arranged my reconstructive surgery and follow ups. I am now in post care and this has been just as good as during my troubles. I will forever think of Mr. Pollock as my guardian angel. Mr. Pollock's team and associates (Frankie, Mr. Woollard, Rachel, Mikhael, Farhana) and everyone I have met who is working in the proximity have been absolutely terrific professionals and loveliest individuals. I am not surprise to see that Mr. Pollock's wonderful attitude is permeating onto his team and that he has high standards for other specialists with whom Mr. Pollock works or refers. Thank you so much, Mr. Pollock and Team!!! Thank you National Royal Orthopedic Hospital and staff Thank you Princess Grace Hospital and staff

Patient seen for:
Soft Tissue Sarcoma
13-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Had 2 surgeries with Mr Pollock and both went smoothly. Completely informed and felt like I was in safe hands.

Patient seen for:
Meniscal Repair
13-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My daughter was 17 years old when she was diagnosed with Osteosarcoma....I wanted to make sure that she will get the best treatment, and as per my readings and her doctors advice I needed to find the best, most experienced and most qualified surgent to do the needed surgery for her.....Started at my home country Jordan...the doctors told me that its a very complicated surgery, it will take more than 10 hours and the main nerve in her leg might be lost causing a lose foot...started to look abroad: Italy, France, Germany and then I started looking in the UK...I got Mr. Rob Pollock contact through the UK Sarcoma Center, he replied to my email immediately and connected me directly to his PA ….she was amazing, got the needed appointment, met Mr. Pollock in London, he reviewed all images and medical reports, explained to me how the operation will go, what are the expected outcomes and what to expect....he spent more than 45 mins answering all my questions....My daughter TALA went into surgery....it took 3.5 hours as promised by Mr. Pollock, tumor fully removed with clear margins, no complications whatsoever during or after surgery....from April 2019 till today we (me and my daughter) are in continuous contact with Mr. Pollock....he is extremely nice, caring and wonderful, he is answering all our emails, checking on Tala regularly and answering even my silly questions whenever I send him any question.....our experience with Mr. Pollock was and still extremely wonderful from all aspects....he is not only a highly qualified surgent but he is so human, so dedicated and so caring....huge experience and extremely pleasant personality......Me and my family will be always thankful for Mr. Pollock for saving our daughter's life.

Patient seen for:
Osteosarcoma
13-08-2020