Mr Paul Chatrath

Mr Paul Chatrath

MA, MBBS, MD, FRCS (ORL)

Ear Nose & Throat Surgery

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.97
Bedside Manner
4.96
Explanation
4.99

Top feedback

“Friendly, professional and caring. He listened carefully and kept me well informed. Paul went above and beyond diagnosing and resolving multiple issues not just my initial query. I couldn’t recommend him more, thank you Paul. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Friendly, professional and caring. He listened carefully and kept me well informed. Paul went above and beyond diagnosing and resolving multiple issues not just my initial query. I couldn’t recommend him more, thank you Paul.

16-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the very instant I meet Mr Chatrath I felt at ease. He was quick to diagnose my condition and very very prompt in booking a slot for the operation. I felt it was no trouble asking questions outside of my appointments and my concerns were dealt with almost immediately. His secretary was very efficient and I would have no hesitation in recommending him and his team.

12-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I received first-class treatment from Mr Chatrath I had been admitted to hospital due to heavy nose bleeds and this problem went on for months and no one sorted the problem.I decided to find a consultant myself and made an appointment with Mr Chatrath. He was polite and gave me a thorough examination and explained everything to me. He started treatment straight away and after my third visit my problem had calmed and I didn't need to go back.He a first-class consultant and treated me with respect and made me feel relaxed and comfortable.He knew straight away what was wrong.I would highly recommend Mr Chatrath and if I ever needed any treatment again I would go back. Thank you for fantastic care.

Patient seen for:
Epistaxis (nose bleeding)
11-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Chatrath was exceptional, both before my surgery, and after. The team of Doctors/staff that work alongside him absolutely brilliant. My surgery was difficult because of were it was (cyst inside R/Nostril), but Dr Chatrath did brilliant work and no after effects

Patient seen for:
Cyst removal inside R/Nostril
11-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and a great way with children too. explained everything very well and made both my wife and I feel at ease that our son was in good hands with him

Patient seen for:
Adenoidectomy
Otitis Media (Glue Ear)
25-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath is the consummate professional in his field, extremely polite and caring, puts you entirely at ease always explaining very clearly his diagnosis and remedial treatment. Highly recommended.

Patient seen for:
Blocked or damaged tubes
18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I took my son to see Mr Chatrath. We both found him to be understanding, professional and thorough. The after care was good too. I would recommend this consultant to others.

17-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I approached Mr Chatrath originally as I had heard of the Earfold technique to correct ear positioning. I discussed this at the original consultation with Mr Chatrath who demonstrated what it would look like. He also explained pinnaplasty which we both felt would give a much better result in my case. I decided to go ahead with a pinnaplasty operation which Mr Chatrath carried out. 3 weeks after the operation I am writing this review and am delighted with the results. Selecting the pinnaplasty option was most definitely the best solution for myself. I should have done this years ago! I would certainly recommend Mr Chatrath to anybody considering an ear pinning operation.

06-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had the Earfold procedure 4 weeks ago and I am very pleased with the results. Doctor Chatrath is an excellent and very experienced professional. The final position of my ears is even better than the one achieved during the initial test. The procedure under local anaesthetic took him less that 15 minutes per ear. I only felt some discomfort the first night for which I took paracetamol. The only recommendation is to be careful when you pull on/off your clothes for the first 2 weeks, don’t be rough otherwise it could be a little bit painful. I highly recommend the procedure and the Doctor.

Patient seen for:
Adult Ear, Nose & Throat Surgery
04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had treatment for sinus problems for years. Mr Chatrath is such an expert at his work and so k ind and friendly which puts me at ease. Thank you Mr Chatrath.

Patient seen for:
Nasal and sinus disorder (sinusitis) treatment
20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Exceptional from start too finish

15-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath was impressive from my first consultation. He was very calm and reassuring and explained every procedure before starting On the day of the surgery he made me feel calm and relaxed about the procedure even though I was obviously very nervous The result of the procedure was immediate and, although he warned me to expect swelling and pain, caused no discomfort and minimal pain, controlled with paracetamol and ibuprofen. My symptom was an elongated uvula which had grown to a length to be nearly touching my voice box causing a feeling of constant catarrh which I was unable to swallow. On my first consultation Mr Chatrath passed a camera down my nose to examine my uvula and eased my concern of a malignant growth. After the operation he confirmed that there was no cancerous cells and although he was unable to identify the cause of the problem he does not believe the problem is likely to re-occur. Overall the whole experience was made as good as possible by Mr Chatrath’s brilliant ‘bedside manner’ and calm disposition and I would not hesitate to recommend him highly.

13-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wish there were more consultants like him, who really tried to help and go e as much info as possible!

06-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath was very reassuring throughout and I feel very confident being treated by him. Extremely professional and very easy to talk to. I would highly recommend.

Patient seen for:
Nasal and sinus disorder (sinusitis) treatment
13-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very kind doctor. Explained My problem very well and made me feel comfortable about the procedure that I will be going through.

Patient seen for:
Ear Nose & Throat Surgery
10-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent consultation, thorough examination and good observations as to likely issues. Would definitely recommend.

29-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After having tonsillitis 5 times in a period of 6 months I was referred to the Nhs ent due to having ear pain. Due to the length of time it took to wait (6 months before I was seen) I was going downhill rapidly. After seeing the consultant she advised “go away and get yourself well and healthy” - I already lead a healthy and active lifestyle. I went back in 6 weeks to which the consultant couldn’t understand why I wasn’t better. I had a ct scan which showed a very large fungal infection within the whole of the left cavity of my sinus’. I had an immediate operation to remove this and clean the sinus’. After this I still went on another 3 years to suffer sinus infection after another. Also experiencing post nasal drip, a horseness in my throat and terrible headaches and head pain. After numerous scans and operations with no resolution I went private and this is when I met Paul. He immediately established that Id had Trauma to the septum high up at the top/ bridge of my nose that potentially was causing a blockage to the sinus’, he advised correcting this, another sinus drain but also removing my tonsils as they did not look healthy. I opted to have the nose operations first which were successful and was to see I felt I needed my tonsils out going forward. I thought I’d improve only to fall pregnant 10 months after my nose op’s. Subsequently I suffered horrendously through the pregnancy yet again with sinus pain, head pain, facial flushing and also a puffyness around my neck and cheeks. After my son was born the nhs sent me for further scans which still showed inflammation in my sinus’ and I was still suffering terribly from getting a common cold. I wouldn’t be able to shift it and it would go to drastic extremely quickly head pain again, sore throat etc I decided it was time to visit Paul again and I was not disappointed - contrary to the Nhs who just had no idea why I was still suffering as great as I was. It was decided with Paul that I needed the tonsils removed, the operation was very successful, again. Once removed and one month on I don’t know why I didn’t opt for this sooner. My face and neck isn’t puffy/ swollen anymore. My throat and mouth are not suffering any kind of reaction anymore and I’ve had a small cold and feel my body can deal with it once again. I’ve not had any ear pain either and have since returned to swimming (my favourite past time) and can safely put my ears under the water once again, something I hadn’t been able to do in 3 years. Paul is very understanding of the pain and discomfort you are experiencing and is very attentive to his attention to detail. He listens to your symptoms, looks at the evidence the symptoms are causing and makes a diagnosis. I feel I have achieved a greater result with Paul in the two times I have been under him than in the 3 years I have been treated on the Nhs.

Patient seen for:
Sinus Surgery
Tonsillectomy
28-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Chatrath successfully performed 3 surgeries on my two years old. He was very patient and informative throughout the consultations before and after the procedures. His soft skills have also helped us to make the right decision at the right timing according to our constraints. His secretary Maria have helped us a lot and was of a great support with no delay. Thank you again.

13-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

This was my first visit and I have only good things to say about this first experience

Patient seen for:
Ear Infections
11-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
1

Very polite, warm manner and friendly.

Patient seen for:
Tonsillitis
11-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath truly is a wonderful doctor. My entire experience with him has been brilliant. From my first meeting with him and throughout, his manner was polite and professional. He was incredibly considerate, informative and listened to me intently. From our very first meeting I knew he was the surgeon I wanted to perform my surgery. I am absolutely thrilled with the results of my rhinoplasty. Mr Chatrath did a wonderful job.

Patient seen for:
Rhinoplasty (Nose Reshaping)
02-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Paul was very professional and he delivered a high quality treatment.

Patient seen for:
Rhinoplasty (Nose Reshaping)
30-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath explained everything very clearly, and always had time to answer any questions that I had. His calm professional approach instilled confidence. The procedure that he carried out on my nose was very successful, and I had very little discomfort after the operation. Despite being a very nervous patient Mr Chatrath made it a good experience.

Patient seen for:
Septoplasty
intranasal z-plasty
12-10-2019
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Paul was friendly and professional

Patient seen for:
Consultation
09-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Lovely Doctor

09-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath is extremely professional, efficient and welcoming! If needed I would choose his professionalism again!

04-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My teenage daughter has had a follow up appointment with Mr Chatrath who discussed the outcomes and our options going forward. This was explained thoroughly and in a way that we could easily understand. I would thoroughly recommend Mr Chatrath.

Patient seen for:
Follow up appointment
02-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Overall I am highly satisfied with the treatment from Dr Paul Chatrath. His extensive experience and medical expertise in the area of ENT gave me confidence that he would deliver a great result. Finally Dr Chatrath exceeded my expectations by improving further on the shape and condition of my nose than what initially expected.

Patient seen for:
Deviated septum
Septoplasty
Rhinoplasty (Nose Reshaping)
02-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Brilliant from start to finish, explained everything, and erased all my fears.

Patient seen for:
Cyst inside my Nose
02-10-2019
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear and straightforward

02-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Fantastic consultation

25-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good doctor

Patient seen for:
Ear Infections
25-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From beginning to end Mr Paul Chatrath was knowledgable and friendly. We felt able to ask as many questions as we needed to. My daughter was put at ease about her operation and she was able to relate to him well to. We were given lots of information about tonsil removal and felt very well informed.

Patient seen for:
Tonsillectomy
21-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience having my operation was way more than I expected I was looked after amazingly by dr Chatrath and by the nurses, everyone was very kind and reassuring when I was upset they made me feel confident that I was in good hands

Patient seen for:
Deviated septum
Adenoidectomy
Grommet insertion
19-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sublime professionalism and clearly a highly intelligent and experienced doctor. Would only see this Consultant for ENT issues.

18-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath is the only Ent doctor I can fully trust with my ent issues. He actually takes the time to listen to my concerns and answers all my questions. He even helped me when I was abroad on a trip and had nasal problems. I would definetely choose Mr Chatrath as my ent doctor, as he is much more helpful than the other ent consultants I saw who barely give you 10 minutes, and rush you out the doot without answering my questions.

Patient seen for:
Nasal disease
14-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Chatrath treated my family and I with respect and dignity. He had a person centred care approach and was willing to discuss any concerns with us throughout the whole process. He remained professional at all times.

Patient seen for:
Tonsillectomy
Adenoidectomy
Grommet insertion
12-09-2019
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Originally my husband was under the care of Mr Chatrath, although an unsavoury procedure with Mr Chatrath’s professional, empathetic manner my husband’s operation was a complete success. Some years later it has been necessary for me to have a procedure and after seeing 2/3 consultants I requested Mr Chatrath under my private health insurance. He explains everything clearly and has an amazing manner that helps to keep you calm and focused to ensure your best recovery. Would always put my faith and trust in him.

Patient seen for:
Ear Nose & Throat Surgery
12-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very happy with my treatment so far.

Patient seen for:
Hearing loss
28-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath had a very calming and caring manner around my very nervous daughter. He put her at ease straight away, explaining everything in a way that we could understand.

Patient seen for:
Nasal blockage
16-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Where do I start….well about 7 years ago I developed rhinitis. GP prescribed me nasal steroids. Worked well to control my symptoms. However, around late 2014 my symptoms got worse with a loss of smell and continuous nasal congestion. I ended up being referred to Barts Royal London Hospital. The lead ENT consultant who saw me (I can’t remember his name) misdiagnosed me saying that I had a cold. I was not convinced so asked for a second opinion. I later saw Mr Goswami, another ENT consultant, who confidently and correctly diagnosed my condition as Rhinosinusitis with the presence of nasal polyps. It was a vicious cycle, inflammation, blockage and finally infection. I was offered FESS surgery to remove the polyps and make a small drainage passage. On the day of surgery I assumed Mr Goswami would be carrying out the procedure however it was a totally new surgeon, in addition it was her first day on the job at the hospital. It freaked me out learning this especially never seeing the person before or having surgery in my life. So I decided to cancel it and was given prednisilone, antibiotics and a new type of nasal steroid. It worked like a miracle as I had my sense of smell back. However, this was only short lived and within a few weeks I was back to square one. It affected my quality of life and as such my confidence level was low. Around the same time I had developed dyspepsia where I felt a stuck feeling after eating followed by belching. Still not sure if this is related, nevertheless I had endless tests for this, with the cause still remaining unknown. I was referred again to Barts Royal London Hospital where I saw 2 more ENT consultants. The first one prescribed me a longer course of antibiotics and the second one (I think his name was Sandeep Paun) discussed the surgery options although he did not sound very genuine or sincere about it, besides, I would not allow a surgeon to put me under the knife if I did not have full confidence in the person. At the same time I investigated and researched and even bought a book called ‘Healing your Sinuses’ by Prof Ralph Metson. I also changed my diet (completely non sugar based) and also tried out some herbal medication such as Bromelain and Serrepeptase along with regular nasal irrigation. All these helped to some degree by easing the level of congestion, nevertheless I still had nasal polyps. I was not keen on having FESS due to the complications so I wanted to have balloon Sinoplasty. As I lost confidence in Barts Royal London after seeing some 5 consultants I decided to book a private appoint with Prof Chowdhury at the Spire Roding Hospital. He was a pleasant consultant who also explained to me about the risk of FESS but also stated he does not do balloon Sinoplasty. This left me checking on the internet to find someone who does this procedure locally and moreover had good positive feedback as the last thing I wanted to do was waste further time. Following extensive research I found Dr Paul Chatrath. After checking 5* reviews on various sites I was convinced this was the person to go for. So I booked a private appointment at Spire Roding. At first I was really impressed with his knowledge, expertise and ease of explanation. Not just that, he was very confident and reassuring. Mr Chartrah had great listening skills; he is indeed a credit to Spire Roding. Mr Chatrah carried out my surgery in November 2017 removing my nasal polyps. Very recently I saw Mr Chatrah again. He is a wonderful person and indeed the best of the best one can find in London (and perhaps the country) and the only choice for me as far as ENT matters are concerned.

Patient seen for:
Rhinosinusitis
14-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Mr Chatrath to be very patient and understanding, and felt very reassured during my appointment that he would do all he can to help and support me.

Patient seen for:
Sinusitis
11-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional. From beginning I felt confident about my treatment. I was informed well. Treatment done perfectly therefore recovery was as easy as possible.

06-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Chatrath is highly skilled, patient and kind, a truly great doctor!

Patient seen for:
Anaemia
03-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

So far I have had only one consultation with Mr.Chatrath and at that meeting I found him polite and professional which has given me the confidence that I am in safe hands.

24-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr chatrath is always on time he explains very well answers to all the questions

24-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional, knowledgable, comfortable manner. Everything was explained fully.

13-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Chatrath was very clear and concise when giving me my examination and explained clearly what he had discovered and next steps of treatment.

Patient seen for:
Eardrum perforations
12-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied with my service & my procedure & even quick respond for any questions afterward .

01-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very Very Very pleased with the care and skill provided by Mr Chatrath through the consultations and procedure.

26-06-2019