Mr Naga Venkatesh Jayanthi

Mr Naga Venkatesh Jayanthi

MB BS, MRCS Ed, MD, FRCS

General Surgery

Recommended by  
1 specialist

17 years of experience
8 years as a specialist

Overall Rating

Overall
4.93
Bedside Manner
4.93
Explanation
4.93

Top feedback

“Mr Jayanthi is one of the nicest, most genuine men I have ever met. Throughout my entire experience he has been kind, informative and has even taken a genuine interest in my progress since my surgery. From the second I walked into his office I knew that he was the surgeon for me. After battling with food addiction and obesity most of my life, I decided that I needed to make a change. From the second I met Mr Jayanthi my journey has been amazing. He made sure that I knew everything beforehand, he came to see me before I was put under anesthetic and he was there when I woke up. Staying in the hospital was like staying in a hotel and my recovery has been amazing. I will never regret my decision to have bariatric surgery. I have now reached my target weightloss, I no longer smoke and my life is amazing. Thankyou Mr Jayanthi and your team for taking such good care of me, I will forever be greatful to you. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Jayanthi is one of the nicest, most genuine men I have ever met. Throughout my entire experience he has been kind, informative and has even taken a genuine interest in my progress since my surgery. From the second I walked into his office I knew that he was the surgeon for me. After battling with food addiction and obesity most of my life, I decided that I needed to make a change. From the second I met Mr Jayanthi my journey has been amazing. He made sure that I knew everything beforehand, he came to see me before I was put under anesthetic and he was there when I woke up. Staying in the hospital was like staying in a hotel and my recovery has been amazing. I will never regret my decision to have bariatric surgery. I have now reached my target weightloss, I no longer smoke and my life is amazing. Thankyou Mr Jayanthi and your team for taking such good care of me, I will forever be greatful to you.

Patient seen for:
Weight Loss & Bariatric Surgery
Gastric Bypass
Laparoscopic (key-hole) Surgery
02-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Jayanthi is the nicest, kindest and most reassuring surgeon I could ever have asked for. I made the decision to have bariatric surgery to change my life and I have never looked back from the minute I walked into Mr Jayanthi's office. I wasn't scared leading up to my surgery and I felt extremely looked after post surgery. He is always available to answer any questions I have and he genuinely takes an interest in my progress. The aftercare I have received has been outstanding and I couldn't be any happier with choice I made and the surgeon I chose. I was diabetic, severely obese, I was unhealthy and I was miserable. Now I am happy, healthy, no longer diabetic and my BMI is perfect. Thank you Mr Jayanthi, for saving my life.

Patient seen for:
Gastric Bypass
Weight Loss & Bariatric Surgery
21-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a vertical sleeve gastrectomy on July 2019. My initial appointment made me feel reassured immediately as I had gone after doing my research and I feel Mr Jayanthi asked the right questions and gave me a realistic picture of what life would be like post sleeve in the immediate days and longer term. The pre op checks at Springfield Hospital were very thorough and the attention and care was exceptional. Everyone was dedicated to making me feel reassured and in control of my decision making. Although on the day I was petrified. The fear of elective surgery was overwhelming at the thought of never seeing my children again, being visited my the anaesthetist and Mr Jayanthi before the op to discuss my concerns and worries reaffirmed my trust in Mr Jayanthi as my surgeon. I was visited again post surgery by both surgeon and anaesthetist and the next morning too. The nurses were fantastic at managing any pain and nausea and their bedside manners were sympathetic and nurturing, I never felt judged. The support once home has been good with visits to the dietician and to see Mr Jayanthi but I have not needed much as I am very lucky it was textbook surgery for me with no complications and no pain after day 5. The weight is slowly falling away at 1-3 pounds a week but psychologically the change has been the biggest difference. Food no longer rules my life, I am not obsessed, I cannot binge and not really bothered at all by food. Long may that continue! I was able to join the gym after 6 weeks and am happily mobile, tolerating pretty much all foods and feeling much happier mentally.

Patient seen for:
Gastric Sleeve
19-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was extremely pleased with the Inguinal hernia keyhole operation performed by Mr Jayanthi. I found it very difficult to understand that from three small keyhole cuts he could repair my hernia without any pain in the hernia area. I had the wound covers on for 5 days with a little bit of pain in my shoulder, that I understand quite usual after keyhole surgery, that only lasted a couple of days. I only had to take a minimum of pain relief, mainly on instructions of the nurse, although I did wear my surgical stockings for a few weeks as instructed. Mr Jayanthi explained before the surgery what the operation entailed even with the worst-case scenarios, I also had a visit from the anaesthetic doctor explaining what would happen.I was the last patient of the day and had an injection next thing I knew was that I was in the recovery room and greeted by Mr Jayanthi to give me details on how well the operation went.I can't thank Mr Jayanthi enough for his excellent work. I would recommend him without hesitation.

Patient seen for:
Inguinal Hernia
25-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can’t say enough about you, you are so skilled, compassionate and the best. Thank you for the amazing experience.

24-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Jayanthi is a very skilled surgeon with compassion and professionalism in equal amounts. My condition was complex, my stomach was twisted and in my chest, I had a couple of hiatus hernias and a stricture in my oesophagus. I was unable to eat or drink for a month prior to my operation. The operation was explained to me clearly and I didn't need to ask many questions at all. The operation was completed successfully and I am nearly fully recovered. Patient care is upper most in Mr Jayanthi's thoughts and I completely trust him.

Patient seen for:
Upper GI (Gastrointestinal) Surgery
Laparoscopy
Laparoscopic (key-hole) Surgery
Gastro-oesophageal Reflux Disease (GORD) or Reflux
Open Hernia Repair
Hiatus Hernia
20-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Jayanthi made me feel at ease, explained any concerns I had regarding my operation He was polite and very informative, and my follow up appointment was just the same.

Patient seen for:
Gallbladder Removal (cholecystectomy)
17-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional, highly experienced and helpful. Highly recommend. Whole process explained thoroughly and discussed. Could not have asked for a better surgery experience.

Patient seen for:
Gastric Sleeve
11-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Jayanthi, thank you very much for not giving up with me. Very sorry for the sleepless nights I gave you but you still kept on trying. By your determination, you have given me more time to live my life and spend it with the people I love. Thank you with all my heart.

25-04-2019
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

I have found Mr Jayanthi to be very professional and knowledgeable. I have no problem understanding Mr Jayanthi's explanations covering my procedure. There was no hesitation in delaying my surgery in order to diagnose and treat sleep apnea. He made sure I understood my part in a successful ongoing outcome. Post operatively he has been very supportive and encouraging. Whilst in hospital Mr Jayanthi was again very supportive and professional. I would not hesitate to recommend him. My surgery has been life changing and I am very grateful.

28-12-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a gastric bypass done at the end of march 2016 and the service and professionalism I got from mr jayanthi from my first appointment to now has been outstanding . I feel pregnant quiet quickly afterwards which is not recommended but they support from mr jayanthi and his team has been amazing . I can't thank him and his team enough for what they have done for me and how they made it so easy for me to make such and important decision in my life. I would highly recommend mr jayanthi.

22-12-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

!

22-12-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Without exaggeration, to me Mr Jayanthi was a life saver and to my family he is their hero. I was diagnosed with a large cancerous GIST, which when on Chemo grew very fast. I desperately needed a Surgeon I had confidence in, and after meeting when in Hospital I made sure he would be the surgeon that would be looking after me. About 8 months ago, with his team he removed an incredible 8.5 litre of GIST with about 60% of my stomach. I have made a miraculous recovery and now have an excellent quality of life. Jon Bacon.

20-10-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He's a good guy and did a laprascopic triple hernia op for me with no problems so thanks.

09-10-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Not only is Mr Jayanthi extremely knowledgable and professional, he is compassionate and kind. He takes any concerns very seriously and answers all my questions to my satisfaction.

26-09-2016