Mr Mfazo Hove

Mr Mfazo Hove

MBChB MD FRCOphth CertLRS

Ophthalmology

Recommended by  
2 specialists

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.95
Bedside Manner
4.95
Explanation
4.95

Top feedback

“I had both eyes refractive lens exchange four months ago. Overall very pleased with the result. I no longer need any glasses. I do have some haloes around lights when driving but they aren’t troublesome. Mr Hove was excellent before, during and after. The sedation I had worked well - I remember being in the anaesthetic room and then it was done. A few days later I was driving. Job well done Mr Hove and the team. Thank you for my new eyes. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had both eyes refractive lens exchange four months ago. Overall very pleased with the result. I no longer need any glasses. I do have some haloes around lights when driving but they aren’t troublesome. Mr Hove was excellent before, during and after. The sedation I had worked well - I remember being in the anaesthetic room and then it was done. A few days later I was driving. Job well done Mr Hove and the team. Thank you for my new eyes.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for your kind words and we’re pleased you’re happy with your vision. Mr Hove and team

Patient seen for:
Refractive lens exchange
14-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Hove worked miracles to keep me on the surgery list as the UK was going into lockdown and I was one of the last patients who had the surgery before the hospital was closed. All precautions were observed and the pre and post care was exceptional. I left the hospital after the surgery with no complications and I had a follow-up from the team later that evening and Doctor Hove checked in with me the following day. One month later I reached out to him as my eye drops were running out and Doctor Hove sent me an additional set which were held up by the post office. He then came to my home and personally delivered the eye drops rather than mail them, so that I would not have to wait and would have what I need. How’s that for service and after care! Full 5 star treatment all the way! It has been 3months since the surgery and I am thrilled with the results as I no longer have to faff with my contacts every morning nor worry if I have enough of a supply or worry about wearing them to long each day etc. I can not recommend Doctor Hove, his team and the surgery enough as it has truly changed my life and he is an amazing and wonderful surgeon. Be assured you are in good hands!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for the comprehensive review. I'm glad we managed to get your eyes done before the covid closure and that you're happy with your vision. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Refractive Lens Exchange
12-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had lens replacement surgery and YAG laser procedure with Mr Hove and both have been excellent and in many ways life changing. I used to have 2 pairs of glasses to correct reading vision and distance vision. However, there was a growing 'gap' in vision between the pairs of glasses and that was only ever getting worse. I had looked into lens replacement with one of the common 'high street' chains offering lens replacement surgery. They were very keen on the dual focal lens and it was only my questioning and diligence that uncovered the fact that the dual focal lens would not be right for me. I then engaged with Mr Hove and he discussed at length the differences and the benefits of the Tri focal lens over the dual focal lens. 2 years ago I had the Tri focal lens replacement surgery which was a 100% success and I had every confidence in Mr Hove, his experience, approach and the results prove it. Mr Hove was very clear on the benefits and also the potential side effects - of which I do get hazing around lights and starbursts - However, they do not effect me and 1 month after the surgery I drove across France at night with no real issues. Wind the clock forward 2 years to the present day and I had started to realise that my sight was not quite as clear as it used to be. One text and a conversation with Mr Hove and he was pretty confident he knew the answer. After an eye examination it was confirmed as the slight clouding of the back of the lens capsule and that a YAG procedure would resolve the issues Again, this was a spot on assessment and the quick and painless YAG procedure has restored my vision. I mention this as a life changing procedure. I am heavily dependent on using multiple computer screens as well as speaking to customers or an audience for my job and career. So having to constantly swap pairs of glasses was becoming a real issue and relying on just one pair would impact my ability. Mr Hove has solved that issue by understanding my issues and identifying the tri focal lens as the best way forward

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for the comprehensive review of both lens replacement and your YAG Capsulotomies. I'm always just a text message away as you've discovered again. We're pleased your happy with your vision. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Lens replacement and YAG procedure
10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had (YAG capsulotomy) surgery a week ago, and my vision is now perfect. I don't even need reading glasses. I would recommend Mr Hove and his excellent team for peace of mind, and first class medical treatment.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Mr Hove and the team

10-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

If I could give Dr Hove a million stars, I would! Dr Hove, is by far the most honest Consultant I have ever come across in my life. I went to see Dr Hove for potential cataract surgery which unfortunately was a lot more complicated then I had envisaged. Dr Hove was brutally honest around the complications and not for a second did he try and convince me to go ahead with the procedure with himself. I was refunded the £500 consultation fee and what’s more he let me have all my scans and x-rays to keep without charging me a penny. If all this wasn’t enough, Dr Hove contacted another Surgeon for me to see and arranged an emergency appointment for me. I spent nearly three hours at the private clinic and was not charged a single penny. After seeing you today, it fills me with hope that goodness still prevails and there are people out there who genuinely put the patients interest first. It is of no surprise to me that you have patients from all across the world to come and see you. I thank you from the bottom of my heart and if I or any of my family/friends are in need we know where to come. Thank you Dr Hove for the outstanding service you provide. May God Bless You!

Mr Mfazo Hove

I pride myself on providing good honest care and if I'm not the best person for your problem I will tell you and send you to the correct person to deal with your complaint. Free consultations and really free. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Complex Cataract Surgery
04-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very happy with the overall experience, the bilateral cataract removal and helpful support staff (especially Elaine the optometrist).

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for highlighting the fantastic job Elaine does with all the patients. Mr Hove and the team.

31-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From my own experience so far till now (about 4 months since operation), I'd recommend to anyone with bad eye sights: short / long sighted to it done by Mr Hove. It's worth every penny.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review and for investing in the health of your eyes. Mr Hove and the team.

30-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had undergone a Bilateral refractive lens exchange with trifocal lenses with Dr Hove on the 5th of March 2020. On reflection it was the best decision I made. My eye sight was very poor before and now I can see perfectly. The procedure went very well and I was well looked after by Dr Hove and his team. He had explained the full procedure well and I felt at ease. After I had left the hospital he was also avaiable to answer any queries I had regarding my recovery. I would strongly recommend meeting with Dr Hove to complete the operation. My advise is you must follow after care instructions to ensure your eyes heal well.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for choosing me to be your surgeon, and we're glad you are pleased with your results. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Multifocal Intraocular Lens
30-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had 2 eyes lens replacement (trifocals) with Mr Hove. I’m please with the result. I have given my Numerous reading glasses to charity. Very warm and friendly guy. He was honest and thorough in his explanation of what to expect, the risks and the glare and haloes I’d get. He made me watch a video to explain what he would do which helped me understand. Overall couldn’t rate him any higher. Thanks again. Your rugby tickets are on their way. Enjoy the game

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review. Explaining the risks properly is very important and that's why consultations take 45mins. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
23-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I used to live in London. I now live in Italy. I came back to London for my lens replacement with Mr Hove - excellent from start to finish. He even recommended a lovely hotel (Landmark) which was convenient for both his clinic and the hospital. I am pleased with my vision and I have friends who are now coming to see him. Thank you Mr Hove

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for choosing us and coming all the way from Italy to have your eyes done with us. No pressure- I'm glad we didn't disappoint. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My wife had a Bilateral refractive lens exchange with trifocal lenses, carried out by Mfazo, I supported her through the whole process. I decided to have the same procedure & rid myself of the contact lenses & glasses that had restricted my life & sport for over 40 years. My experience was of support, guidance & reassurance every step of the way from Mfazo & his team. The operation on both eyes on the same day was a good experience.Mfazo is a straight-talking brilliant surgeon & undoubtedly "The Best" in the ophthalmology profession. This procedure will change your life for the better.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you both for entrusting us with your vision. It's a privilege. Mr Hove and the team.

12-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had Bilateral Refractive Lens Exchange with Trifocal Lenses with Mr Hove. I found the whole experience painless and quick. I am so happy with the results which are literally life changing! No more glasses and it has made life so much easier. Both eyes done at the same time makes everything so much easier and recovery is just a couple of days! If you are reading this (with your glasses) I think just go for it ... you won’t regret it and Mr Hove is the best!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Once you decide to go ahead you're in good hands. Mr Hove and the team

12-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had been wearing a combination of glasses and contact lenses from the age of 6 (over 40 years). My prescription had been getting progressively worse and I was finding myself having to wear reading glasses on top of my contact lenses. My prescription was around -10.5 with the added complication of astigmatisms. I was recommended to Mr Hove by no less than 5 of my partners friends who had all recently had lens replacement surgery with him. From the initial meeting all the way through to surgery, Mr Hove could not have been any more accommodating and helpful. He explained exactly what would be involved and at no point was there any pressure to do anything I wasn’t 100% comfortable doing. I decided to go ahead and the procedure I had was Bilateral Refractive Lens Exchange with toric trifocal lenses. It was something I could only have dreamed of a few years ago and the results have been transformational. I can now see perfectly without glasses or contacts and with no issues. He even made the operating theatre a comfortable and fun place to be with his choice of background music! I can not recommend Mr Hove highly enough - it is literally a life changing operation that is over in a matter of minutes!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Friends and family are and important source of customers - so we aim to please with very patient. Thank you for the detailed and comprehensive review. Mr Hove and the team.

11-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Is really one of the best oftamolog that I have been seen. Thank you !

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review. Mr Hove and the team.

11-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a 23 year old graduate who suffers from severe astigmatism, resulting in me having to wear glasses since the age of 7. An attempt to use contact lenses in my early teens failed, largely because of the severity of my astigmatism. Surgery was a last resort and, therefore, in August 2018 I had a "bilateral simultaneous refractive lens exchange with trifocal lenses" procedure. I was previously refused for a procedure by a well-known provider, but Dr Hove assured me a procedure would be possible. He immediately put me at ease and answered any questions I may have had, even predicting some that I would have. I waited this long to give a review as I felt it was important to see how my eyes had developed after a long period of time. My eyes are still growing stronger and stronger and although my eyes get tired, this does not occur as often as it did at the start. The only issue I have to this point is that my distance-viewing is not as good as it was when I wore glasses. However, having said that, how it is at the moment is better than it was last year. What I would advise anyone undertaking this procedure is to opt for the general anaesthetic option. I did not, as I felt the price to be too steep for me, however the sensation of the procedure whilst awake is not one I would gladly repeat. If I could go back, I would definitely opt for the general anaesthetic option.

Mr Mfazo Hove

We were pleased to have been able to help you where others couldn't and that you are happy with your vision. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
bilateral simultaneous refractive lens exchange with trifocal lenses
11-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had laser eye surgery with Mr Hove 6 months ago. I could see something almost immediately even though it was blurred and I was clear by the next day. My left eye has some discomfort on the day. I gave him a ring and he told me to go to sleep. I woke up 4 hours later with the pain gone and my vision considerably better. I no longer need my contacts. Best money I have ever spent. Thank you very much Mr Hove for guiding me through the process.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Happy to help. thank you for writing a review. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Laser Eye Surgery
10-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Both eyes done in January 2020 -lens replacement. Very happy with my new eyes. Would definitely recommend Mr Hove.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for you succinct review. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
05-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had refractive lens exchange with trifocals with Mr Hove who put me at ease before and throughout the surgery, he has a very kind and caring nature. It's amazing not to put contact lenses in or wear glasess anymore, I had full vision the day after surgery and was ready to drive within 3 days. I wish I had it done sooner would highly recommend the surgery and Mr. Hove as a surgeon. Thank you for giving me a new lease of life!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review and for you recommendation. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Having gotten fed up of wearing glasses I decided to do something about it. I found Mr Hove through google- I read through over 100 of his reviews- I gave up trying to find an unhappy patient. I came across patients who had had enhancements but they still seemed happy with him and their final vision. I had my consultation in November had my surgery on the 9th of January. The clinic at London Medical was clean and very efficient. I spent 45 mins with him answering all my questions. surgery at the welling was all very straightforward. It took 20mins to have both eyes. i found the music comforting. It has been nothing short of a miracle. I haven't used my glasses since. i can see very clearly. I found Mr Hove to be very honest in his explanation of what I could expect and as promised I can read everything on his business card. Job well done. Thank you very much

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a review especially having read over 100 of them before the operation. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
04-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had refractive lens exchange with Mr Hove 2 years ago. My left eye has gradually become blurred. I texted him - he replied 5 mins later. Lavinia booked me into the clinic at London Medical. I had posterior capsule opacity - He performed YAG capsulotomy on both eyes- he offered to do one eye but I wanted them both done. I was back to clear vision the next day. Thank you Mr Hove.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review. We're glad the YAG capsulotomy has fixed the problem. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
03-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I know you are probably inundated with thank you's as you do so many cataract operations, but I just wanted to add one from me. Despite dealing with a stream of strangers you were so calming, friendly and professional. It is such a delight to be able to see clearly again. A neighbour caught me gazing up at one of the ancient pine trees near our house....it's like being a kid again with every pine needle in focus so a BIG THANK YOU!!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Every patient is important and gets my undivided attention. Thank you for writing a review. Mr Hove

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
01-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I flew from Pakistan to London to have surgery with Mr Hove for my cataracts. He did some of my friends and another of my friends who lives in Dubai. He saw me in London Medical the next day, surgery was a day later at the platinum medical centre, and then I had my post op check 5 days later. All in all I was in London for a week. I left London with clear vision and no longer needing glasses. I’ve waited 5 months to write this review. I can still see clearly. I’m coming back to see him with my daughter who wants to have laser eye surgery.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for choosing us for your eyecare. Mr Hove and the team.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
01-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Had my left cataract done 1 month ago. My vision is so much improved. Very efficient. Saw Mr Hove and had my surgery that same week. The procedure was over in 5 mins. Very straightforward.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for choosing us. Mr Hove and the team

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
31-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Hove performed Bilateral simultaneous phacoemulsification with Trifocal lenses on 9th January. The care and attention I received from start to finish was outstanding. The surgery is life changing and my only regret is that I didn’t do it years ago. The procedure is so quick and pain free and I was home and watching telly within hours. I cannot recommend Mr Hove enough and anyone considering having lens replacement should pay him a visit.

30-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had refractive lens replacement (both eyes on the same day) all most 9 months ago. The clinic appointment at London medical was very thorough. I was squeamish watching the video of the operation so Mr Hove insisted I have sedation (which really helped- I don’t remember anything after being in the anaesthetic room). After the operation my left eye was completely clear but my right eye didn’t see so well for distance. I ended up -1 in this eye (I had been -8) but it was still disappointing that it wasn’t clear like my left eye. 4 months later I had a piggyback lens inserted on top of the original lens. This has made the right eye clearer than the left! I can still see to read and now have clear distance vision in both eyes. Throughout the process Mr Hove has been fantastic. He has guided me through the consultation, the first recovery, all the tests before the second operation and now I have amazing vision. He answered my messages, called me back and was very transparent about everything. He really was the John Lewis experience that he strives to achieve. Nothing was ever a problem. I have recommended 3 of my friends, two of whom have already had their eyes done. I am forever grateful.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for choosing us. We take pride in doing everything well. The sedation is a great option. Mr Hove and team

Patient seen for:
Multifocal Intraocular Lens
29-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I chose Mr Hove as he operated on 3 of my friends. They are all loving their new eyes. I had bilateral lens replacement with Trifocal lenses in December 2019. I now no longer need glasses for anything and I’m over the moon. The consultation was at London Medical on Marylebone high street. Numerous tests were done and Mr Hove was able to confirm that before my Laser eye surgery 11 years ago I was long sighted (I couldn’t remember). The consultation was thorough. He showed me a video of the operation which helped me understand the risks involved. I then confirmed I wanted to proceed 10 days later. The operation at the Wellington was smooth sailing. I had sedation and both my eyes were done in no time at all. My partner and I enjoyed the meal and I was on my way home 2.5 hours after I arrived. I highly recommend Mr Hove. He gave me his mobile number, called me the next day, and always answered an questions of mine promptly. His secretary Lavinia was also very helpful and knowledgeable. Thank you very much - I am forever grateful

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review and for choosing us for your eyecare. Mr Hove and team.

Patient seen for:
Multifocal Intraocular Lens
23-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My journey was god sent. All through the consultation and the operation it was absolutely brilliant. It has given my new lease of life. Fantastic completely changed my life after wearing the glasses for nearly twenty odd years.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Happy to be of service. Mr Hove and team

17-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had YAG laser treatment after suffering cloudy vision in one of my eyes. The treatment was full explained to me. It took around 2 minutes and was completely painless. The result was amazing the definition and colour vividness that I now have is absolutely fantastic I am so glad I had it done

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing a review. Mr Hove the team.

17-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Following an A&E visit to the Western Eye Hospital, I was fortunate to have Mr Hove see me.With the diagnosis of a seriously deteriorated eye ulcer on my pupil, Mr Hove set a plan to prevent any further deterioration, restore and ultimately save the sight in my eye.I express my sincere gratitude and appreciation to Mr Hove in his tireless quest to stabilise my condition, allow for its recovery and the ultimate restoration of my sight.His commitment, dedication and personal interest in my recovery have been impressive and touching.My utmost thanks to him, and with the knowledge I now have specialist eye care available through his services.Thank you, Mr Hove,

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for the review. I'm glad you eyes are finally back to normal. Mr Hove

Patient seen for:
Urgent Eye Care
05-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I trust 100% on Mr Hove, because he is an excellent ophthalmologist. I am really thankful to him because he saved me of losing my vision 5 years ago and thanks to him My vision is good without any Problems. He saw me how desperate I was and he helped me. He was angel for me. He is excellent as a person and as a professional!!! And all his team is amazing. Highly recommended.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for your kind review. Mr Hove

26-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing results everything was easy no after effects. I wish I had it done years ago.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thanks for writing a review. Mr Hove and team

Patient seen for:
Bilateral simultaneous phacoemulsification with toric trifocal lenses
17-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr.Howe, in my opinion, is a very professional ophthalmologist with a great personality, he is so knowledgeable and experience in his field that few minutes after meeting him I felt I could put my left eye - for phacoemulsufication with trifocal lens - into his hands without fear or doubts about the success, I am now reading the newspapers without the need for glasses. I had the surgery procedure done on the fourth of October 2019 and together with his excellent team I always felt comfortable and well looked after, Mr Howe contagious kindness and consideration for his patients has touched me deeply. Thank you!!!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for the generous review. Mr Hove and the team

16-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Hove was recommended to me, and after some research I sent him and email, which he responded to very quickly. Mr Hove clearly explained the initial consultation procedure and an appoint for this was arranged with a member of his staff. Throughout the consultation, which included a comprehensive check of my eyes, Mr Hove was precise and transparent about the lens exchange procedure , and asked me to watch a short film of the procedure. The positive and negative risks were explained and I was in no way pressurised. Once I had made the decision to undergo a Bilateral simultaneous phacoemulsification with trifocal lenses, an appointment was made ,to suit me, at the Wellington Hospital. Throughout the procedure Mr Hove was clear and comforting in his manner, the procedure was quick and pain free . A call was made to me the following day by Mr Hove to check that I was okay and he gave me his number and email address if I had any questions. A post procedure appointment was made for me to check that all was well, again Mr Hove was comprehensive in his checks. Overall, the customer service I received was outstanding , I knew that I could call Mr Hove at anytime, he was highly professional in his dealings with me and I was extremely confident in the procedure. I wouldn’t have undertaken a lens exchange if it hadn’t been for Mr Hove and I throughly recommend him. Thank you.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a detailed review. Mr Hove and team.

01-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr H operated on me in June 2018. He answered bluntly with honest and open answers, which I needed. He explained the procedure and likely complications that I might experience. So I was well informed and knew the risks before I made my decision A massive step for me as I went 50 years before I decided to have this surgery. Wearing spectacles and contact lenses since I was 13, I didn't take this lightly. When Mr Hove operated on me he had completed the same procedure on around 5000 patients, most of who had positive reviews. I had asked for multifocal lens, as I was wearing varifocal glasses and still was having difficulty with close work. The surgery itself was fast and efficient. Over in just over 20 minutes. Mr Hove has since moved to his own practice, but still answered my texts, usually within the same day of me sending them. This was even after he left the organisation I had used to manage the procedure. For me, I have a distance vision and a close vision that I could only get with varifocals, but better as I can see much more detail. No more removing my varifocal spectacles to try and improve my close detailled work. Driving without glasses. Great. Middle distance, like PC and VDU work is the only area that I have slight difficulty with, so ensure that I have the text 15% larger. This has transformed my life. No more specs! Highly recommend Mr Hove.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing such a detailed and comprehensive review.

19-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can honestly say that I feel I have been given a new lease of life following my operation where I am both glasses free and have what feels like perfect vision something I have not had for over 60 years. During the whole experience I felt fully informed, comfortable and very well cared for with open access to Mr Hove prior, during and after my surgery where all of my questions were answered fully and clear explanations of procedures, risks and benefits were provided. At all times I felt that I was always in charge of what decisions I could make and that I could change my mind should I wish to at any time. I feel grateful that Mr Hove was my surgeon as he is not only very highly skilled but also has acted with integrity, honesty and authenticity throughout this whole experience. I feel I have been in completely safe hands and have felt fully supported at all times.

27-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I needed to have cataract surgery in both eyes (bilateral simultaneous phacoemulsification with monofocal lenses), and looked for a surgeon with a good track record. I found several surgeons through an internet search. Mr Hove was the only one who called me immediately to offer his services. The initial consultation was detailed and thorough. The surgery itself was quick - about a half-hour in total and I was able to go home after an hour. However, the day after surgery I was concerned that one eye seemed to have a “fog” over the vision. After a further day, I was still anxious and rang Mr Hove who was happy to see me at the Western Eye Hospital. He examined the eye and reassured me that it was fine, and that sometimes one eye recovers from surgery more slowly than the other. The”fog” was due to the new lens accumulating water vapour and this eventually disappeared. I was delighted with the outcome of the surgery. Mr Hove is extremely capable, cheerful and at all times professional. I would recommend him without reservation.

Patient seen for:
bilateral simultaneous phacoemulsification with monofocal lenses
18-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Cannot give this fabulous surgeon, Mr Hove enough stars!! Anyone who is hesitant or even thinking about having eye surgery (I had lens replacement surgery) you definitely need this man to do your surgery! Absolutely thorough from the start of my first consultation to the day of surgery!! I was quite anxious, but Mr Hove gave me the faith and I would have him operate on any of my family members if and when they need it. Top guy and so personable, plus I liked his choice of music in theatre! 😎

Patient seen for:
eye
30-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was interested in laser eye surgery and a friend of mine recommended Mr Mfazo Hove. She was so thrilled with the whole experience with Mr Mfazo Hove that she recommended the treatment to her friend & then myself. The whole experience was totally professional it worked so well for me & I haven't looked back since. Mr Mfazo Hove was an amazing surgeon and the after-care was second to none. Thank you, Mr Mfazo Hove, for making the whole experience worthwhile, I wouldn't hesitate to recommend you to anyone.

Patient seen for:
Laser Eye Surgery
30-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Over the years my eye sight has been getting worse gradually, my wife had her operation with Mr Hove about 2 years ago and she felt so much better immediately and no concerns, So I made an appointment with Mr Hove to discuss my concerns and Mr Hove explained to me that I should have a slightly different operation due to my needs, Mr Hove said I should have the Bilateral simultaneous refractive lens exchange with tri-focal lenses, which he explained at length what these are and how it would benefit me. Mr Hove explained at all the time making sure that I was clear in every step he was there for me prior and post operation at the end of the phone, I can honestly say that he is one of the most concerned about your health and careful about how you are at every stage of the op. I would definitely would promote his services.

28-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Hi there.I would just like to say a few things about the procedure I had with mr hove.. I have been wearing glasses since I was a child I’m 47 years young now and I’m in the construction industry I was fed up with wearing glasses and also the speed my eyes were deteriorating.. I booked an appointment with dr hove which I checked and carefully chosen him.From the minute I met mr hove he made me fill completely comfortable.I told him about my vision and he explained in detail exactly what I should expect from the procedure what suited me BILATERAL SIMULTANEOUS REFRACTIVE LENS EXCHANGE WITH TRIFOCAL LENSES a bit of a mouthful I know....... Anyway I booked to have my procedure. Done from the moment I walked in everybody who was involved made me fill at ease which was so reassuring and knocked the edge off of things ( this is your eyes we are taking about here) mr hove is a very special guy and as the procedure was taking place was talking me through the whole time 15-20minutes what was going on .... after the op maybe 2-3hours my vision was better already a little bit gritty in the eyes but that’s what the drops are for...It’s been 6months now and I have been given a new lease of life .bit extreme I no but it’s the only thing I can explain... vision colours. It’s like a breath of fresh air.......... I’m so pleased I opted for this And wish I had it done years ago.... but if I did I wouldn’t of had the chance to meet this guy mr hove Thank you for giving me a me lease of life mr hove your a incredible human being.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
19-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently had a cataract removed, the procedure is Phacoemulsification with a monofocal lens. I was very nervous about the procedure until I arrived at the hospital where I was met by very calm and professional staff. Mr Hove came to see me and once again applied his calm reassuring manner putting me more at ease. The operation and aftercare were exceptional and I would not hesitate to consult Mr Hove again should the need arise.

18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor seems very knowledgeable and is kind and patient. He explained my condition well in lay terms.

18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My biggest concern when driving at night was dealing with the glare and halos. So I knew that the time had come to have my cataracts removed which I’d been putting off solely because of my queasiness with all things relating to ophthalmology. It is now six weeks since I had cataract surgery on my left eye and I have just had my post op check-up. I told the surgeon that I am utterly delighted with the result but was experiencing a slight physical feeling of a scratch on my eye. He explained the reason for this (a tiny nerve in my eye had been cut) and reassured me that the sensation would fade within two months of having the operation. Everything I see now is visually amazing – from colours to contract. I am going to have the other eye done asap – hopefully within the next two months. Mr Hove is an informative, highly accomplished surgeon.

01-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very impressed and satisfied with Mr HOVES EXPLANATION REGARDING MY CATARACT procedure. FELT reassured regarding the process and for the second cataract to be operated on. Many thanks

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Happy to be of service

17-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Hove provided a professional and quick service as an ophthalmologist. He was delicate, respectful and precise during the procedure in which made me feel relaxed. He was also very attentive during my recovery period by checking on me promptly. I strongly recommend his services.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for writing and review and I'm pleased you are happy with the care I gave you.

13-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience with Mr Hove has been exceptional. I have a family history of Glaucoma and was referred to him for consultation following a diagnosis of increased fluid pressure inside both my eyes. Following further tests at London Medical, Mr Hove spoke in great detail about the long term effects of my condition and the treatments available should I choose them. I was also wearing glasses for reading and was made aware that cataracts would form in later life. I never felt under any pressure to take any treatment however after doing my research and further discussions with Mr Hove I am delighted to say I opted for Bilateral Simultaneous Refractive Lens Exchange with Trifocals lenses. The procedure was explained in great detail and the entire process for both eyes was over in 25 minutes. I have now done away with my glasses and I no longer have the threat of cataracts. Most importantly, the hope is that the fluid pressure in my eyes will be reduced because of the new lenses. After 6 weeks I am now on one set of drops per day and the pressure has decreased dramatically.Postoperative treatment has been superb. Mr Hove is kind enough to give his personal contact details to all his patients so that they may speak to him at any time with any concerns. Needless to say I am delighted with the results and have every confidence in recommending Mr Hove, a true expert in his chosen field.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Its been a pleasure looking after you. Thank you for the comprehensive review and for the friends and family referrals. Mr Hove and the team

10-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very concerned regarding this operation until I spoke with surgeon Mr Hove he put my mind at ease and operation was over within 20 minutes and only wish I would have had it sooner and the consultations after operation are second to none excellent surgeon in every department / had my both eyes done at same time life without glasses is perfect thank you Mr Hove Had the operation end of February vision is perfect.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for the kind review. Mr Hove and the team

30-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had refractive lens replacement with multifocal lenses carried out by Mr. Hove and am extremely pleased with no longer having to wear glasses for everyday tasks. It is a delight to be able to read and drive whilst not having to change glasses or struggle to read menus or even check my mobile phone e-mails. I would recommend Mr. Hove to anybody as he explains all possibilities and ensures that any concerns are completely addressed.

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are pleased you are satisfied with the results. Mr Hove and team

03-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Hove & his team have been absolutely amazing!

Mr Mfazo Hove

Thank you! Mr Hove and the team

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From first appointment his manner was such that I felt completely at ease and it was obvious that he was a gifted consultant I knew instinctively that he was the right man to trust with my eyes

Mr Mfazo Hove

Your eyesight is precious. Thank you for entrusting it to us on your journey to spectacle independence. Mr Hove and the team

09-04-2019