Mr Martin Klinke

Mr Martin Klinke

Consultant Orthopaedic Surgeon, Sports and Exercise Medicine

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
9 specialists

19 years of experience
19 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.97
Bedside Manner
4.97
Explanation
4.97

Top feedback

“I had a recent consultation with Mr Klinke. He is very knowledgeable, considerate and professional. He has a very pleasant manner, easy to talk to, and I greatly appreciate the time he took to explain things to me. He operated on my foot 10 years ago very successfully and he would always be my first choice for any foot problems. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a recent consultation with Mr Klinke. He is very knowledgeable, considerate and professional. He has a very pleasant manner, easy to talk to, and I greatly appreciate the time he took to explain things to me. He operated on my foot 10 years ago very successfully and he would always be my first choice for any foot problems.

21-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Martin Klinke throughly examined my bunion on right foot . Had me walk around and noticed my hamstrings were extremely tight also . The procedure was thoroughly explained to me and what to expect before I booked the procedure . After the operation he came to see me and how I was coping with the after surgery and the following morning before I was discharged . After care for my foot explained in detail . I had your surgery in June . I followed his instructions on what I could and couldn’t do . I also did the physio therapy which will help sped up your progress to walking as normal . I am pleased to its almost the end of October 2019 and walking better than before . Thank you Dr . Klinke

Patient seen for:
Bunions (Hallux Valgus)
24-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had an excellent experience using Mr Klinke. To start with his PA, Gay Munn, is extremely efficient. I was abroad when I ruptured my achilles so getting seen quickly on my return to the UK was paramount. His communication around the options available to me was clear, the route to surgery unproblematic, the surgery and after care excellent. In short, everything went as smoothly as I could have hoped for. Very professional. The only thing I haven't liked is using the 'egress secure e mail service' which seems unnecessary and over complicated.

Patient seen for:
Achilles Tendon Problems
30-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Klinke carried out a Weil osteotomy 2nd and 3rd metatarsals with pin fixation of second toe, resection of bony prominence 5th metatarsal head on my right foot. cortisone injections TMT 1 joint right foot and TMT 2 joint left foot. December 2017. The operation was clearly explained, as was the post-operation rest and recuperation. 1 1/2 years on, I am pain free and very pleased with the outcome of the operation.

24-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Klinke operated on my torn Achilles’ tendon in November 2018 and six months later I am waking normally with a fully healed tendon. He has been excellent throughout, from clearly explaining the procedure to me to always being available to answer any questions during my post op recovery. I can not recommend him more highly and am very grateful that I was referred to him by my doctor.

18-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a 57 year old woman, who enjoys moderate exercise and jogging. My bunion was becoming more painful, and I undertook quite a bit of research on treatments and specialists. Mr Klinke emerged from my research as being one of the leading surgeons in this field and the reviews were impressive.Within a few minutes of my first consultantion with Mr Klinke it was clear why he has such a reputation; I had total trust and confidence in his advice, and quickly dispensed with my long list of google -fuelled questions! I was nervous at the prospect of surgery, but Mr Klinke put me at ease. I had my bunion surgery in March 2019, and can honestly say that, for me, the procedure has involved very little pain. There is an inevitable period of recuperation, inconvenience and some discomfort, but my surgery (and best of all my big toe!!) has been so streamlined. I am delighted with my "new foot", am walking without any discomfort, and hope to be back running soon. I cannot praise Mr Klinke enough and would recommend him unreservedly. In addition to being a brilliant surgeon, Mr Klinke is also a very kind and approachable consultant.

17-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I always find Martin supremely professional and knowledgeable in his field. He is thorough, knows my history and is able to give sound advice, and reassurance. I always feel encouraged after seeing Martin. Thank you,

12-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr K has a very professional and reassuring manner. Most importantly, he is obviously an excellent surgeon. My ankles were an absolute mess and the improvement in such as short time (post surgery) has been startling. Although the amount of work he did was considerable and extensive the physical after effects of the surgery have been remarkably low. Three weeks after the operation to the second ankle I am back in the gym for the first time in ten years.

21-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

First Class treatment. Mr Klinke always listened to me and never dismissed my issues. He performed, what I believe, to be the perfect surgery. I hope I don't have any further issues, but if I did, Mr Klinke would be the first person I'd get in touch with.

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had over a number of years seen many consultants specialising in foot and ankle surgery. I had suffered for a long time from ankle ligament problems, having been a professional ballet dancer for 30 years. Many wanted to fuse my ankle, which would mean I would have little or no flexibility and, as I was still working as a choreographer, this would have made it very difficult to demonstrate the work. I found Mr Martin Klinke at the London Foot and Ankle Clinic and after reading the testimonials decided to make an appointment. Mr Klinke is a charming, warm person. He explained in detail what would be possible with an ankle joint replacement. I had x-rays taken and he told me he thought it would be possible to have an ankle joint replacement although he would discuss with his colleagues for their opinion. He let me know the next day that he and his colleagues thought it possible, so we went ahead and booked a suitable date for the operation to fit in with my commitments and to allow time for recovery for my next assignment. I had the operation in December 2015 and each year I have x-rays and a check-up with Mr Klinke, which gives me the peace of mind that all is well. My ankle seems to have improved each year and it is such a relief not to be in pain and to be able to walk longer distances than I had for several years. From the start, I found Mr Klinke to be very professional and confidence-inspiring. I am very grateful to him for getting me back on my feet!

21-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great service and ability to make you feel confident about the procedure and the recovery

18-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A kind and careful man. A brilliant surgeon.

20-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Brilliant.

08-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I approached Martin after about a year after i had torn my ATFL ligament in my left ankle in an Adventure race in NZ. My initial specialist had recommended against surgery and recommend a period of recover and physio. This did not work for my active lifestyle so i sought a second opinion and after much searching came across Martin Klinke. Luckily Martin is a fellow cyclist and understood my need to get back into cycling and mountain running. Unfortunately, the year of "recovery" in which is still ran and biked had resulted in tendon pain in addition to instability in my ankle. Martin took new MRI scans and recommended surgery as soon as possible, with the intention of carryout out a repair to the ATFL ligament supplement by synthetic material to add strength to the area. The MRI could not accurately tell how much damage had been done to the Tendons, but the planned operation would assess this and make the necessary repair at the same time. Martin clearly set out the risks, the time frame and provided details of what would be carried out. I was concerned about the 12 month recover period that might be needed for the ankle but was advised that the longer i could leave it before running again the better the recovery would be. The operation went as planned and but the tendon damage was quite extensive resulting in them being wrapped and tied together. I think the tendon damage was worse than the ATFL issue. I spent about 2 weeks in plaster and was off work for 4 weeks in total. I was sit on top Kayaking within 6 weeks of the operation and initial sessions on the Turbo trainer around the same time. These were very gentle, but built up so that by 5 months after the operation i under took a 5 day - 900km bike ride through Thailand. I held off running until about 6 or 7 months and initial jogs around a track were not comfortable. I stopped and waited a few more months for the tendon repair to progress further. All of this was in line with the timescales set out before the operation. I undertook a 900km trail ride across Italy about 9 months after the operation with no undue concerns followed by the Raid Pyrenees 13 months after the operation. I started running again about 10/11 months after the operation and built up slowly and took part in the CCC race in the French Alps 14 months after the operation. this 101km trail run from Courmayuer to Chamonix was mainly on steep, rocky technical trails with 6000m of ascent and descent. Although not fast, i finished the full course with 2 hrs to spare and no issues for my Ankle. Martin was easily reachable via email throughout my recovery period for advice and guidance. I am very happy with the service i have received and would have no hesitation in recommending Martin to others with similar Ankle issues.

04-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have nothing but the highest praise for Mr. Klinke. From my initial consultation nearly 10 years ago through one minor and one major operation and many follow-up consultations he has demonstrated superb technical and medical know-how coupled with an excellent ability to communicate in meaningful terms with me. At all times he has kept me fully informed about my particular condition, the most appropriate course of treatment and possible outcomes. He is a consummate professional.

31-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very pleased to be treated by Martin Klinker, who was thorough, considerate and very professional. He explained the problem and procedure extremely well and his follow up has also been excellent. I would highly recommend him.

01-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had been having years of treatment for my Achilles on both of my legs. Unfortunately nothing seemed to work long term. Mr Klinike was recommend to me. Mr Klinke was able to sort my Achilles out on both of my legs – first time in years I am not in pain, just wished he had been recommend to me years ago!! I would highly recommend Mr Klinke, as he was able to diagnose what my problems was with in my first appointment, surgery was booked and within three months I was back to normal. Just wished our paths had crossed years ago.

09-01-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Mr Klinke replaced my right ankle in 2013 as arthritis had damaged the joint . I had attentive and profesional care from Mr Klinke and the operation was successfully done . I was not able to take advantage of phisio or aftercare , which I would strongly recommend as it took some months before my ankle was pain free . Four years on , I am pleased I had the operation and that i chose Mr Klinke as my surgion .

20-11-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I couldn’t have hoped for a better surgeon. From my first appointment it was evident Mr. Martin Klinke had all the necessary knowledge and ability with an additional capacity to explain technical aspects in language that was easy to understand. Both his surgical skills and his aftercare led to correction of my hallux valgus, with an original surgery on both feet plus follow-up on one foot a year later. Support staff also deserve credit for guiding administration processes smoothly. But beyond all of this, Mr. Klinke has that special quality of genuine empathy for his patients. It was a pleasure to work with him.

07-10-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was referred to Mr Klinke by a family friend who was very happy with the results of her operation. I had bad post traumatic arthritis in my left ankle after I broke my ankle playing football in 2013. To alleviate the pain Mr Klinke explained the two potential options available to me which were an ankle fusion and an ankle replacement but after a full assessment by Mr Klinke and a bone scan, Mr Klinke advised me in March 2017 that an ankle fusion would be the best operation for me. Mr Klinke operated on me at the beginning of April and for the first six weeks after the ankle fusion I had a cast on my left ankle and had to use crutches to get around as I was not allowed to weight bear. After 6 weeks the cast was changed for a protective boot which I could remove at night and when resting and I was then in this boot for a further 7 weeks although during that time I was able to partially weight bear. 13 weeks after my ankle fusion Mr Klinke gave me the all clear to walk without crutches and now 5 months after my operation I am able to walk, cycle and swim pain free. Mr Klinke is very professional and approachable and explained the whole process clearly to me from my first appointment. I am extremely pleased with the results of my ankle fusion and with hindsight should have had the operation a lot earlier rather than enduring the pain that I did for a couple of years.

11-09-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot praise Mr Klinke highly enough. Not only is he a highly skilled surgeon, he has a warm, caring and professional approach when speaking to his patients. I immediately felt at ease, safe and that I was in the best possible hands upon meeting with him to assess the fracture. He repaired the fracture to my tibia. The procedure was carried out so well that the bone has healed fantastically. So well infact, that the Mobility in my ankle is much better than expected for someone at my stage of recovery. My physiotherapist (independent) is over the moon with my progress and agrees that Mr Klinke is an exceptional surgeon. Whilst I hope to never need his surgical talents to fix me up again - No other surgeon would ever be on my list, should I be unlucky enough to break a lower limb bone again.

07-08-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have recently undertaken a 5 hour hike and this would never have been possible without you. Thank you so much!

07-07-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Martin Klinke is a extremely competent surgeon. I would say “gifted” after 2 disastrous podiatrist surgeries in California. He essentially rebuilt my foot. Other surgeons told me they would fuse my big toe yet Mr. Klinke was able to rebuild my big toe into a flexible, “normal” toe. I now have a big toe the touches the ground again, is straight and no longer crooked, while the other toes that became hammertoes in order to keep me from falling without the use of a big toe are now also “normal”. I am thrilled and deeply appreciative. I look forward to resuming yoga, dancing, long hikes and enjoying my life. Mr. Klinke’s support staff are highly professional making the entire process easier than I’d expected.

25-05-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Klinke is an incredible surgeon. He has recently replaced my ankle and lengthened my achilles tendon when I had only been given the option of an ankle fusion under the NHS. The whole process has been extremely quick and smooth - I felt well informed about all aspects of the operation and the recovery. Now, 3 months post-op I have no pain or locking in the joint which means I can walk and sleep comfortably. Combined with weekly physio I have more mobility than I had pre-operatively and I'm still noticing progress every day. The wound has healed beautifully and Mr Klinke has been very caring in his follow-up to ensure the best results....I am extremely grateful to him!

13-05-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

!

13-01-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

!

01-09-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Klinke carried out an ankle joint replacement and percutaneous Achilles tendon lengthening for me on 4th January, 2016. He explained the procedure in detail including the risks and benefits from having the surgery. The operation was successful and I have been very pleased with the post operative care provided by Mr Klinke. He is a very personable guy and I would definitely recommend him to anybody with foot and ankle issues.

05-07-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would definitely recommend Mr Klinke. He is always on time and whenever I had to get x-rays he would bring me straight in to see him afterwards so I never had to wait. I saw him on Monday morning and he was able to arrange for me to have ankle surgery that Wednesday. The surgery was very successful and I was able to walk less than three weeks after surgery. He was very precise and cautious making sure that all potential post surgery issues were mitigated. Also he stitches were perfect and I hardly have a scar anymore.

30-06-2016
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

By far the best surgeon for an ankle replacement Found by accident after reading a magazine article and a charming personality.

31-05-2016