Mr Marc Laniado

Mr Marc Laniado

MB BS BSc (Hons) MD FEBU FRCS (Urol)

Urology

Recommended by  
1 specialist

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.99
Bedside Manner
4.97
Explanation
4.96

Top feedback

“I started seeing Dr. Laniado in December for a high PSA count. From the very first meeting, he thoroughly impressed me. He is meticulous, caring and a total master at this craft. He made sure all possible tests were completed to enable an accurate and timely assessment of the treatments possible, giving me all the options along with their positive and negative effects. He is committed to the highest degree of safety and well being of his patients and has a humble, professional and sympathetic manner. 'Five Stars' do not do him justice as he clearly is a most professional, knowledgeable, master surgeon and doctor. Today, less than 3 months later I am free of cancer, recovering at home and able to contact him if ever I am worried about anything. He responds immediately. Dr. Laniado, you are a lifesaver. My family and I are forever in your debt. God bless you!“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I started seeing Dr. Laniado in December for a high PSA count. From the very first meeting, he thoroughly impressed me. He is meticulous, caring and a total master at this craft. He made sure all possible tests were completed to enable an accurate and timely assessment of the treatments possible, giving me all the options along with their positive and negative effects. He is committed to the highest degree of safety and well being of his patients and has a humble, professional and sympathetic manner. 'Five Stars' do not do him justice as he clearly is a most professional, knowledgeable, master surgeon and doctor. Today, less than 3 months later I am free of cancer, recovering at home and able to contact him if ever I am worried about anything. He responds immediately. Dr. Laniado, you are a lifesaver. My family and I are forever in your debt. God bless you!

Patient seen for:
PSA
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had the very good fortune to receive my consultation from Marc when faced with a high PSA & thus possible prostate cancer diagnosis. He was very approachable with a genuine warmth; he is relaxed & empathetic with that allusive ability to bring calm & lift your thoughts from a negative spiral. He offered me excellent counsel not only on my immediate health issue but also by suggesting how I could improve my overall health & wellbeing. He has proactively remained engaged ensuring any subsequent questions I have raised are fully answered. I would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending Marc.

Patient seen for:
PSA
Prostate Cancer
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been absolutely delighted with my treatment, my operation has been a complete success and my life has returned to normal after only 6 weeks.I have actually not had any side effects regarding continence or any erectile issues post operation I couldn’t have hoped for a better outcome

Patient seen for:
Nerve Sparing Prostatectomy
05-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Outstanding in all my consultations and treatment.

25-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I thought Marc Laniado was very professional in his approach to my case. The diagnostic work up was very complete and he was very good in explaining the diagnosis and follow on treatment in very simple language. The fact that he was able to do the ultrasound examination himself gave him additional insights that other clinicians would not be able to provide. I would highly recommend Marc Laniado for any urological condition.

Patient seen for:
Bladder Cancer
22-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was diagnosed with prostate cancer about 5 years ago and following active surveillance had accepted that I needed to do something further. Research revealed a new technology, HIFU (High intensity Focal Ultrasound), and a new procedure for a radical prostatectomy. I immediately registered to see if I was suitable for HIFU and was seen very quickly, within 10 days, by Marc Laniado. Mr L:aniado said I needed a 3 Tesla high definition MRI scan to see if HIFU would work for me which I had within 7 days. Unfortunately I was not suitable for HIFU but Mr Laniado talked me through the new robotic nerve - sparing surgery procedure that he recommended and I booked to have this carried out at the end of January 2020. At all stages of this consultation Mr Laniado kept me aware of both the risks involved and the benefits of this new procedure. I have now had my operation. I was up and about and back home within two days. I felt better each day and I am now back able to drive and carry on my life as before only three weeks after the operation itself. I don't appear to have any side effects. I am certainly almost perfectly continent at present and am in minimal pain. I am now looking forward to my life in the future. I would thoroughly recommend this procedure for sufferers like me and would be happy to talk to any one going through what I went through.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the first appointment to the final follow up Marc made sure everything was fully understood. He detailed everything and took as much time as was needed - never any rush. After my procedure on January 17th I was amazed by how quickly I began recovery. Clips, stitches and catheter out after 10 days and then I found no leakage after only 15 days. The prognosis given to my wife whilst I was in the recovery room is that all was now perfectly OK. A PSA test will confirm this after a 90 day period from the procedure. It should also be noted that his support team were always very quick to answer any questions. Thank you Marc, you made what was ar first a very difficult time into something that was fully understood and you removed the fear of not knowing. Your support team back you up very well and if having prostate surgery can be described as a pleasure (?), it was certainly a pleasure having you as my Consultant during all aspects from start to finish. See you in August for final follow up !

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
16-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Laniado's professional competence is obvious. However, of equal value is his interest in you as a human being, not just in your organs, and the time and effort he takes to explain himself, his findings and recommendations. Luckily, his investigation resulted in a relatively clean bill of health for me, but should, at any time in the future, I need further consultation or indeed more radical intervention, I would have no hesitation to call upon My Laniado.

Patient seen for:
Urology
25-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I find Dr Laniado is the a prime example of consummate professional in all aspects. When I first met him, he put me at ease by explaining in detail the reason why I needed the BPH surgery and how it was to be performed. He the carried out the surgery at short notice, and the results have been fantastic. As a result of his expertise, I have recovered quickly and exactly as he described. The follow up consultation was thorough and again, he explained all in detail, put my mind at ease. I am extremely grateful to have found such a highly skilled and personable surgeon and real healer in the true meaning of Doctor. I have other surgery in the USA and am myself medically trained as a researcher. I say with absolute confidence that you will find no finer uro-surgeon on either side of the Atlantic. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND DR. LANIADO!!

Patient seen for:
Benign Prostate Hyperplasia
22-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

I found Mr Laniado pleasant, practical and reassuring. He is an excellent urologist.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
17-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

I found Mr Laniado pleasant, practical and reassuring. He is an excellent urologist.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
17-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After a prostate cancer diagnosis in the Autumn I was referred to Marc Laniado in November and was highly impressed by his knowledge, reassuring manner and evident passion for helping steer his patients through concerns and anxieties. I underwent a Retzius-sparing robotic prostatectomy in mid-December, and less than four weeks later am feeling pretty much 100%, with no leaks and the novel experience of flow with enough pressure to put out an Australian bush fire...! I would have no hesitation in recommending Marc to anyone with prostate conditions and needing surgery.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
12-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

For about 5 years my flow rate had been progressively worse, sometimes barely more than a trickle. This has been incorrectly diagnosed by another urologist as arising from enlarged prostate (using the old fashioned and discredited physical exam). Marc examined my medical history including a crucial ultrasound probe which established the prostate was either normal or only very slightly enlarged. He correctly advised that the problem arose from a tightening of the bladder neck and recommended an incision be made using a holmium laser under general anaesthetic, minimally invasive, no incision so low risk of infection. I stayed overnight after the procedure so that my bladder could be irrigated, and once the catheter inserted straight after the operation (under general) had been removed I was released. Passing urine was a bit painful for about 24 hours and there was bleeding as I had expected. After that, all was fine and I was staggered by how effective the procedure had been, now passing urine at what seems a spectacular rate, a 500%+ improvement. I had prevaricated (as nervous of any operation) and ended up in A&E ahead of the procedure: it would have been far better to fix it pre-emptively: it seems like a miracle cure with very low risk.

Patient seen for:
Before I met Marc I was admitted to A&E as retained urine hads backed up into my kidneys, extremely painful, dangerous as well and leading to an unpleasant period with a catheter.
31-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I feel very fortunate to have met Mr Laniado. Throughout the whole experience he was helpful and consultative and I am sure that his surgical expertise greatly assisted in my successful surgery and comfortable recovery. I would highly recommend him to anyone who needs prostate cancer treatment.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
31-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Cannot fault Mr Laniado's expertise, manner and professionalism. Recovered from HoLEP with minimal trauma within 48 hrs. Mr Laniado's concern for & dedication to his patients and specialism is perfectly demonstrated by the wealth of information provided by him, which is not just documentation but also extensive procedure videos.

Patient seen for:
HoLEP
21-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

I attended an A & E at an NHS hospital with acute retention of urine in my bladder. I was diagnosed with chronic bladder outflow obstruction, massively distended urinary bladder and left- sided hydronephrosis. This was all put down to an enlarged prostate and a catheter was placed. The catheter was in place for seven weeks and I was advised that I required prostate surgery. I made an appointment to see Mr Laniado and ws fortunate to have a consultation within three days. At that consultation Mr Laniado examined me and took an ultrasound and he confirmed that I had an enlarged prostate, which was the cause of the problem. He explained the various options to resolve the problem, but his recommendation was Holium Laser enucleation of the prostate. He talked me through the procedure and gave me some comprehensive information on the procedure, risks and benefits to read. He told me to get back to him with any questions, which I did and he replied to these by return . Two weeks after that initial consultation Mr Laniado carried out the HoLEP on me and I was discharged the day after surgery. Within 48 hours of being discharged I was passing urine freely. Three weeks after surgery I saw Mr Laniado again, had a urine flow test and an ultrasound and Mr Laniado seemed pleased with the results, as was I. The discomfort in my bladder and kidney went almost immediately after the operation and I am now passing urine without a problem and therefore I personally regard the operation a success and carried out by Mr Laniado in a very professional and business like manner - I am today very impressed.

Patient seen for:
Holmium Laser Enucleation of the Prostate (HoLEP)
19-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

One word describes the expertise of Urologist - Marc Laniado - Excellence. I had a catheter for 13 months due to enlarged prostate, but unfortunately another health problem delayed surgery. I was very concerned that this length of time with a catheter would hamper my return to normal life. This was never an issue following (Holmium laser enucleation of the prostrate) (HoLEP) benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) surgery performed by Marc. Marc was so reassuring from my initial consultation, talked me through all the procedure in detail and his expertise has enabled me to return back to a normal life. I would highly recommend any male suffering from enlarged prostate to arrange for a consultation with Marc, and to consider having this excellent procedure. N. Crowther Windsor

Patient seen for:
Holmium Laser Enucleation of the Prostate (HoLEP)
18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very successful Help for huge prostate enlargement.Everything working very well now, minimal virtually no discomfort after the procedure. Mr Laniado is a true expert - he goes the extra mile, even in the late evening.In my opinion, his advice and actions are carefully considered and carefully cross-checked with his own excellent ultrasound scanner and other tests. A Doctor to be cherished.

11-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

A very satisfactory experience and helpful with follow up queries. Happy to recommend his expertise.

Patient seen for:
Holmium Laser Enucleation of the Prostate (HoLEP)
06-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Marc Laniado performed a radical robotic prostatectomy on me at the beginning of July 2019 . When I first met him a few months earlier when my prostate cancer was first diagnosed he impressed me with his honesty and clarity about my unwanted illness. Compared to many other surgeons and doctors I have previously dealt with this was a welcome relief . The operation was as successful as it could be and my recovery has proceeded quicker than I could have hoped for. Any of my post operation fears were quickly allayed by a comforting phone call . The post operation follow up has been without fault . I would highly recommend Mr Marc Laniado to any of my friends and family if they are unfortunate enough to need this surgery . Apart from being a fine surgeon , he is a fine gentleman with an excellent bedside matter and genuinely cares about his patients.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
07-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

With an early prostate cancer diagnosis back in August 2018, I was on 'watchful waiting' until my PSA level started to rise in early 2019. As a result I had robotic radical prostatectomy following clear and relaxed advice from Mr Laniado. With this process being developed and improved all the time, the combination of the Retzius sparing technique, frozen section checking during the operation, and a 'super-pubic' catheter all allowed for amazingly fast post op recovery with no pain to speak of! I couldn't recommend Mr. Laniado highly enough, and will forever be grateful for his guidance and skill through this whole process. A Big Thank You.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
15-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

Following prostate cancer diagnosis in early May 2019 I underwent robotic radical prostatectomy later that month under the care of Mr Laniado and his excellent team. Mr Laniado is obviously expert and highly skilled in specialising in the Retzius sparing technique applied in my case, which I now understand and appreciate can greatly assist in post operative recovery. The operation went according to plan and I suffered minimal post operative pain and the aftercare has been exemplary. The potential incontinence side effects, which he carefully explained to me, have been minimal and I was ‘dry’ without the need for pads within a couple of weeks of the surgery and building in confidence daily. I would wholeheartedly recommend Mr. Laniado to any man needing guidance or treatment for prostate related problems. Many thanks.

Patient seen for:
Prostate Cancer
10-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the outset Mr Laniado clearly and carefully explained the processes and options around the various tests and procedures related to my prostrate problems. All tests were undertaken in a way to put me at ease and, once a diagnosis of prostrate enlargement was confirmed, the various remedial options were fully explained and discussed in a pressure free environment. I opted for the HoLEP procedure which went smoothly and was followed up with the necessary post operative care and tests. I would fully recommend Mr Laniado.

08-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It is 3 weeks since I had an Aquablation procedure for an enlarged prostrate due to BPH carried out by Mr Laniado at the Weymouth Street Hospital. The results have been excellent with improved urinary flow and less requirement to pass urine, especially at night. Discomfort when passing urine lasted approximately 2 weeks and was eased in the first few days with either paracetamol or codeine. Mr Laniado thoroughly explained the various treatment options available and I would commend him on his excellent skill and professionalism which he has demonstrated throughout.

07-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a Holmium laser bladder neck incision operation under Mr Laniado and am very pleased with the care and highly skilled expertise that he has demonstrated. He fully explained the options available and the details of the procedure. There was no pressure and I was fully consulted at all stages leading up to the operation. The operation has been a complete success and I am feeling the benefits already just one month after it. This I put down to the skill of Mr Laniado and I have no hesitation at recommending Mr Laniado to carry out this procedure.

07-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I underwent a robotic radical prostatectomy in January 2019. From the time of my first consultation and subsequent diagnosis Mr. Laniado showed great empathy and compassion. His manner was exemplary and his expertise in this specialist area hugely impressive. He explained everything in appropriate detail, was patient, and reassuring about the likely outcomes of the various options. As for the operation itself, everything went very smoothly and according to plan. I suffered little pain afterwards and the side effects were minimal compared with the list of 'what could happen' that surgeons are obliged to provide. He came to see me several times in the short time I remained in hospital after the operation. He is obviously someone at the pinnacle of his calling in this very specialist and complex cutting-edge surgery. His follow-up after-care has been equally top-notch. I would wholeheartedly commend Mr. Laniado to anyone needing guidance or treatment for prostate troubles

01-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been reassured by my care and the attention and diligence that Mr Laniado has given to my problems.

17-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I received an unexpected diagnosis of prostate cancer in January 2019. I was recommended to see Marc Laniado. A multiparametric MRI scan and a targeted biopsy confirmed the diagnosis. A PET-CT scan showed that there was no significant spread of cancer outside the prostate. The recommended treatment was a Retzius sparing prostatectomy but not before I was given the opportunity to consult an oncologist to weigh up the pros and cons versus radiotherapy. I also had the complication of atrial fibrillation and Marc referred me to a cardiologist to ensure I was fit to withstand the rigours of a major operation. At the end of March the operation took place. Two weeks later I am pretty well back to normal fitness with no significant urine leakage. Marc has carried out a very thorough and skilled technical process to achieve a highly successful outcome. He has also interacted really easily with me and my wife who sat in on all the discussions-a great help. His secretarial staff provided reassuring support to help organise the many consultations and hospital appointments. Many thanks.

12-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Over the last year Mr. Laniado has been guiding me through (and carrying out operations when applicable) for elevated PSA levels, a prostate MRI, prostate biopsies, diagnosis of very low grade prostate cancer, active surveillance of the cancer and enlarged prostate reduction treatment (rezum / TUNA). I found the minimally invasive rezum was an incredible treatment for prostate reduction. With regards to urinary symptoms there have been miraculous results so far. (Please note rezum is a treatment for enlarged prostate not cancer). I cannot recommend Mr. Laniado highly enough for his tremendous skills and reassuring help during, and through, a difficult time

04-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a healthy, fit, 68-year old man who was diagnosed with intermediary cancer of the prostate in mid-December 2018 and was referred to consultant urologist Marc Laniado. I was in South Africa at the time and Mr Laniado called me there, to explain that as the prostate was enlarged, I was not a candidate for any therapy and I was given the option of high surveillance or removal of the prostate. After lengthy consideration I decided that high surveillance was not an option for me personally so planned to have the robot assisted Retzius nerve-sparing radical prostatectomy. I flew to London to meet top urologist Marc Laniado. His approach was direct and at all times most professional, yet empathetic. There were absolutely no surprises for me as a patient, except perhaps a personal visit from Marc at 11.30 pm to check on me and ensure that I was comfortable following surgery. After only 3 nights in hospital I was released and within the next 5 days the clamps and supra-pubic catheter were removed. I was absolutely dry with no after effects at all. Urinary function is more normal than it has been for a long time, so much so, that a week after surgery I could sit through a performance at the Royal Opera House! I don't know too many people who will travel 6000 miles for a procedure, but it was worth every mile for this outcome. I hope this account of my experience will encourage more men who are unsure to confidently consider this route. Congratulations and thank you Marc!

25-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am 76 years old and had not experienced any symptoms indicating a prostate problem at all. A high PSA level was detected from a blood test which led onto a referral to Marc Laniado. Marc organised the various tests and performed a biopsy to confirm the diagnosis of prostate cancer. We then met and discussed the way forward, Marc ran through all the treatment options and answered all my questions the last one being what would you do in my position ? In my case the cancer was organ confined .... his advice was to have the prostate removed. I was more than happy to accept his advice as I knew of his skills with robotic surgery and my confidence was entirely justified being borne out by a very successful operation carried out at The Royal Berkshire Hospital in Reading. I was back to work within two weeks. Marc’s surgical and communication skills were very ably supported by all the nursing staff I met along the investigations and treatment journey who were caring and very professional. Three months after with a small leak now and again, I feel fully recovered and I think I am very lucky Marc does what he does. Thank you.

12-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The operation was successful and I'm back to normal after my HOLEP. I am very happy - I can pass urine fantastically and I don't get up so much at night.

09-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Laniado showed highly professional and caring manner throughout. All my options were thoroughly explained and all my question answered fully. The procedure was very successful, and recovery was much less painful and quicker than I expected. My quality of life has improved considerably. I am sleeping more and am able to get out and about without worrying about the next toilet stop.

26-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was referred to my local hospital for tests after an elevated PSA result. They promptly MRI'd me and booked me in for a transrectal prostate biopsy without delay. It was all happening very quickly but I was concerned that this was not the best biopsy method for me. Choosing a consultant without a personal recommendation is difficult. I started with a hospital that was known to me and then looked at online consultant biographies and some wider research - this led me to Mr Laniado. I felt completely comfortable discussing my situation with him and he suggested I had a second MRI, but this time with a centre that has the best equipment and radiologists for prostate scans. He clearly explained what my options were and I was reassured by the knowledge that if a further investigation proved to be necessary he would do a transperineal biopsy. As it happens, the MRI showed nothing of concern and all I need to do is have an annual PSA blood test; not a problem for a man in his 70s! This was the best of outcomes for me, and my thanks to Mr Laniado for guiding me through this difficult time with his skills, understanding and professionalism.

17-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Following my annual review with my GP he detected a higher PSA than normal [8.6] . l researched the possible consultants and, following tests it was clear that l had an enlarged prostate ,which in turn was restricting my ability to urinate freely. l went to see Marc Laniado and he explained the options and we decided to have a Holep operation to reduce the size of the prostate. All went well and, within a couple of weeks my flow has improved and l feel really well,so a great success. Marc is very caring and reassuring and clearly is at the top of his field .

13-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Marc Laniado was very methodical in walking me through the process, together with the possible risks. He also shared his experience and results from past processes. I am pleased to say that everything that Marc said would be the most probable outcome was correct. I was told that my recover would be helped by being fit and strong before the operation - it was. My recovery would be helped by losing weight - it was. I was told that Marc's preferred procedure would result in me being "dry" quicker - I am. I was fortunate to have been diagnosed before having any symptoms and I have come away from the operation strong and active. I would recommend Marc Laniado without hesitation to anyone in the same position.

01-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Laniado performed the Holmium Laser Enucleation procedure for my very enlarged prostate . He explained the procedure thoroughly in my initial consultation, and also when I checked into the hospital for the procedure which was very reassuring. He also pointed out any problems which might occur after the operation, which thankfully did not happen in my case. The procedure went very well and I was looked after well for my short stay in hospital. Mr Laniado gave me very good feedback as to how the procedure went and his conclusions during my post op appointments, which I found very informative and helpful. I found him to be very pleasant and professional at all times, and I was very lucky to have been treated by him.

31-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mark Laniado is an excellent consultant . Having done the HIFU procedure for me He has successfully removed my cancer from me . Which I am very, very grateful for. Many thanks

05-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prostrate removal Excellent surgeon Took time to explain procedure Back to normal in 3 months Very slight leakage Sexual factions back to normal

05-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very competent surgeon

13-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

As a 76 year old man I am happy to report that the HoLEP operation was very successful and I recovered with no pain and very little discomfort. Mr Laniado saw me promptly, explained the procedures clearly and allayed all my concerns. My recovery from the anaesthetic took 3 weeks and made me very lethargic. I had a very swollen prostrate and catheter before the operation.

14-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am extremely grateful to Mr Laniado for educating me about my enlarged prostate condition and the options available to deal with it. He always took the time to patiently explain the issues and answer my numerous questions. Following our discussions, I chose to undergo the HoLEP as a long term solution and Mr Laniado carried out the surgery at The Princess Margaret Hospital in Windsor. Everything went well and I received first class treatment from everyone. Its now more than 4 weeks since the operation and I am already starting to forget I ever had a problem. I am seeing real improvements in my life. Mr Laniado made everything very straightforward and I felt confident that I could trust him to deal with this problem. Thank Goodness that I found him.

11-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been under Mr Laniado for over 3 years now since initial referral due to minor Upper Urinary Tract Symptoms and a slightly elevated PSA. Through regular consultation, monitoring and diagnostics I was eventually diagnosed with early stage Prostate Cancer which was eventually treated through Surgery and I'm pleased to say I'm now in remission. Throughout my journey, the standard of care has been fantastic. Mr Laniado always took the time to explain clearly all aspects of, and options for treatment and was readily accessible to answer any queries or concerns. I have no doubt that the course of treatment that we decided on for me was the right one. In addition to the clinical aspects of my treatment, Mr Laniado's secretarial support have always been accessible, reliable and responsive in dealing with the non clinical aspects of my treatment. I would have no hesitation in recommending Mr Laniado.

12-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Laniado offered me Retzius-sparing prostatectomy using a robotic procedure or a course of radiotherapy. I opted for the prostatectomy as I wanted rid of the organ and any cancer it contained. He carefully explained how the procedure would work and how it differed from other approaches to prostatectomy, One of the key advantages of the approach was a faster recovery. I was walking the day following the operation and weaned of painkillers after two days (apart from paracetomol for a further few days only). I had no urine leakage or incontinence and no blood loss in the urine or faceces, and the catheters were removed relatively quickly. I was delighted with the procedure and am recovering well. I was very confident in Mr Laniado and impressed by his care. He was extremely attentive to my concerns and fully answered all my questions. Without question, I would recommend this approach to others facing prostate cancer.

07-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Marc is a quietly spoken, gentle consultant who took me through my initial consultations, a flexible cystoscopy, and the successful removal of my prostate using the HoLEP procedure. I have some interest in the workings of the body and Marc took pleasure in answering all of my questions. I am delighted to have made his acquaintance.

25-08-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

I have recently undertaken HIFU ultrasound treatment for my prostate cancer carried out by Mr Marc Laniado. The operation was on the 23rd April 2018 at Princess Margaret Hospital Windsor and took several hours followed by an overnight stay in hospital. Following the op I have had no mobility problems although there were some minor pain episodes when urinating but this improved over time. It took four weeks to rid the debris from the operation which was passed in the urine. I have not had any continence problems but have diminished erectile function which I am told will improve over time. As of now 10th August my PSA level is 1.55 which has very much improved since December 2017 when it was 4.3. I am very pleased with the outcome of the HIFU treatment and according to the results of the the PSA tests and the recent MRI scan it has been a success.

10-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have had a surgery a general anaesthetic carried out by Mr Marc Laniado in May 2018. I have had a swift recovery and was extremely pleased with the outcome of the surgery. I have seen him for follow up appointment several times in June and July. He has provided me a great aftercare following the surgery. Mr Laniado is not just a highly capable surgeon but he has outstanding knowledge and expertise. He is kind, caring, reassuring and comforting. Thank you Mr Laniado.

04-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Further to my original review, it is now 7 weeks since my nerve-sparing prostatectomy and in addition to much improved urine flow and zero incontinence (previously reported here) I can now confirm that my sexual capability is returning to normality without the need for Viagra. Also, a further benefit is that I am enjoying better sleep, often being able to go right through the night without needing to get up to pee.

02-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently underwent a Holep procedure for benign prostate enlargement last month at Princess Margaret hospital Windsor, and have been delighted with the results. I would thoroughly recommend Marc as a specialist in this field, he was professional, caring and kept me fully informed at all times, from the initial consultation and tests through to the operation and follow-up

28-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Having a family history of prostate cancer, I have monitored my PSA level for several years. It rose in February 2018 and an MRI and biopsy confirmed that I have a small number of cancer cells. Although at an early stage and thought to be confined to the prostate, the cells were quite fast growing. Marc Laniardo advised that given my circumstances, intervention was recommended and described fully my options, which included both High Frequency Ultrasound and Retzius - Sparing (nerve sparing) Robot-Assisted Prostatectomy. He also explained the pro’s and con’s including possible side-effects. As my cancer is quite aggressive and the kind from which I preferred to be parted from sooner rather than later, I chose surgery. This has been a life-changing success. Not only have the cancer cells gone with a very low chance of recurrence, but also my flow is very much improved. Above all, the nerve sparing technique has fulfilled its promise, and I was completely ‘dry’ once home from hospital with no urinary incontinence. I can wholeheartedly recommend Marc’s approach to the surgery, his use of a more comfortable supra-pubic catheter and overall, his friendly informative and reassuring manner.

16-07-2018