Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala

Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala

LMS, FRCS Ed(Opth)

Ophthalmology

22 years of experience
11 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
4.97

Top feedback

“After many stressful years of declining vision in one eye Mr Scala performed intricate surgery reversing the situation, I now have perfect distant sight.He was caring and approachable,and was always accessible through his very efficient PA answering all my queries and reassuring me immediately.I have no hesitation in recommending him,his team and his PA.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After many stressful years of declining vision in one eye Mr Scala performed intricate surgery reversing the situation, I now have perfect distant sight.He was caring and approachable,and was always accessible through his very efficient PA answering all my queries and reassuring me immediately.I have no hesitation in recommending him,his team and his PA.

Patient seen for:
lens exchange
09-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Always helpful and courteous. I felt able to ask any questions. He was very reassuring and I always felt I was getting the very best treatment, in addition, my husband was also included which was very much appreciated.

08-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Delighted with the overall experience and the outcome which couldn't have been better.

Patient seen for:
Cataracts
08-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A caring, very friendly and informative consultant who explains everything that he is doing and what all the possibilities are he is extremely reassuring and quite obviously very skilled and knows exactly what he is doing. I would gladly recommend him to anyone looking for an Ophthalmologist. Thank you.

28-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Was a really positive experience, my technical/medical questions were answered clearly. Was engaged/informed at all stages. At ease to ask any questions at any time. Having other eye conditions, the covering experience of the surgeon was paramount in my choice. Provided a brilliant level of care making me feel at ease throughout my consultations, on the day of my surgery, throughout the procedure, and post care, as did the staff who supported him. The results and aftercare have also been brilliant. I am very happy that I selected and chose Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala. I felt that I was in good hands throughout my whole experience. I would definitely recommend to others.

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
26-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have always found Mr. Dhawahir-Scala to be very professional on all my visits. He always answers any questions I have asked be that during a consultation or by text message if I have any concerns between my consultations. Most importantly he is a very knowledgeable person and an excellent eye surgeon and I for one am grateful that he performed my operations.

Patient seen for:
Retinal Detachment
24-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After being totally let down by Blackpool Victoria Hospital, Mr Dhawahir-Scala performed an operation on my detached retina the very day I went to see him as an urgent case. Throughout the whole experience he has been absolutely fantastic, optimistic and calming. He has since performed a couple more procedures which were necessary as a result of circumstances and has always been upbeat and has brilliant people skills.

Patient seen for:
Retinal Detachment
Cataract.
Yag capsulotomy
08-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Scala was very caring and professional and explained everything he was intending to do with my eyes. This took all my worry out of the procedure which was great , therefore I have not even thought about my 2nd procedure.

07-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience was very positive, he gave the time to investigate my issue and concerns thoroughly and explained everything in great detail. He has a good bedside manner and was very friendly, I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend Felipe and I would definitely like to see him again if I have any further issues.

Patient seen for:
Retinal Detachment
07-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala Made me feel at ease and explained in detail what my condition entailed. I left feeling much more informed and happier.

06-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Dhawahir-Scala identified immediately the cause of my problem, recommended laser treatment which he did and within a matter of minutes my eyesight improved immeasurably.

06-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I originally contacted Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala based on his professional qualifications, position and experience. Not only do I feel I have benefited from this, but also found Mr Scala most pleasant to deal. I am most appreciative of his willingness and patience in explaining to me his diagnosis of my condition and options open to me. I am of the opinion that I could not have put my self in better hands.

Patient seen for:
Follow up after an emergency vitrectomy.
05-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found MrDhawahir-Scala to be a very competent, highly skilled and professional surgeon. He is very approachable, gave detailed explanation of procedure, and excellent follow up. My operation was very successful and I would highly recommend him to patients with similar eye problems.

Patient seen for:
Macula Hole
05-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After having a bad NHS experience Dr Scala put me at ease, explained everything and above all was very caring and professional.

05-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the first moment I met Felipe I knew I was in safe hands. His care was outstanding and the results amazing and have completely changed my life. To open my eyes and see is my life time’s dream which Felipe brought true.

Patient seen for:
Refractive Surgery / Surgical Solutions
05-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

First class in every way

Patient seen for:
gas in eyes
05-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent, no issues at all

Patient seen for:
Cataract Surgery
17-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Overall a very positive experience and Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala's investigation was very thorough. However, I was referred to an additional consultant who disagreed with the initial potential diagnosis (although, it was made clear to me by Mr Scala, it was necessary to see a Orbital specialist for further investigation as this was not his speciality). Overall the referral wasn't necessary and resulted in unnecessary expense. Overall a good outcome for me in terms of diagnosis albeit the extra expense. In retrospect, I did appreciate Mr Scala's thorough review in terms of his speciality in Retina issues - and that these could be ruled out from the diagnosis. I would not hesitate in recommending Mr Scala.

Patient seen for:
Eye pain
28-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A highly professional consultant who explained completely my problem and the following procedure.

Patient seen for:
Debris in eye
23-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I couldn't recomend  Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala more highly. His bedside manner is kind and considerate, his explanation of my symptoms were clear and easy to understand.

22-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very nice man and very approachable.

22-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The most amazing surgeon. Mr Scala has an attention to detail that in my experience is beyond compare. He has completely rectified all the problems I was experiencing with ‘floaters’ and has exemplary follow up care.

03-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Sorry for the delay in replying I have been on holiday but I would have no hesitation in recomendin Mr. Scala to anyone needing his expertese. The treatment I received was excellent and I am very satisfied.

20-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Felipe Dhawahir-Scala’s approach is always very professional. Whenever I visit the hospital for an eye examination he puts me at ease. He is interested in all aspects of my health. He tells me exactly what he is going to do before he proceeds. I consider myself very fortunatel to have had eye surgery undertaken by him in 2012. Over these past 7 years my confidence in his ability to offer excellent care, has remained consistent throughout; overall a very positive experience.

15-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional. Explained the procedure. Pleased with the result after operation.

13-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Scala is an excellent surgeon who takes the time to make the patient feel relaxed and informed about the procedure he is to perform. I’ve had three procedures carried out by Mr Scala and would fully recommend him

13-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have nothing but praise for Mr. Scala. At all times he was kind, considerate and very professional showing exceptional enthusiasm for his work. He was always very reassuring at a time that was profoundly frightening for me. In short he saved my sight, for which I will always be grateful.

11-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I saw MR Scala following complications with cataract surgery in Lancashire. I was very anxious about what had happened and the potential outcome. Mr Scala was very easy to talk to and kept me fully informed at all times. I went on to have corrective surgery, performed successfully by Mr Scala.

11-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I became one of Mr. Scala's private patients because the NHS were unable to provide an appointment in a reasonable time. My GP practice selected him on my behalf, and at 66 years old, its the best interaction I've ever had with health care. In my opinion Mr. Scala is superlative in every respect: very professional, efficient, and friendly. Helen, his PA, is equally as proficient at the administration side.

11-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Although I was very nerves attending my first appointment with Mr Scala , I knew immediately I was in safe hands as He was a gentleman and very easy to talk through my issues and there was a lot. Nothing was too much trouble and I would like to reassure anyone who comes across this Man they would be in safe hands. Thanking you

11-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Throughout my operations and subsequent treatment I have been very impressed by the way Mr Scala has dealt with me and my problems. Although he obviously works in a pressured and busy environment he always takes care to discuss and explain matters carefully and fully. I am extremely happy with his competence and working manner.

10-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Scala is simply the best, the treatment I have received from him has been from day one exceptional, I cannot recommended him highly enough. He really cares about his patients and their outcomes. He goes the extra mile to ensure his patients are fully involved in their treatment decisions ensuring they achieve the outcome they require.

10-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Around the time of my 60th birthday in 2013 I began to be worried about the clarity of the central vision in my right eye. It was relatively easy to get an appointment with my optician and he expressed concern that I might have a macula hole at the back of that eye. He advised that I seek further professional investigation without delay. Of course, the NHS tends to have a long waiting list. I know the MRI eye department has an excellent reputation nationally and I managed to contact Mr Dhawahir-Scala’s secretary the same day I saw the optician. I was about to go on a two week holiday but I was able to make an appointment for the week of my return. I was reassured by this prompt appointment to meet with him after my return and also with the thorough investigation of my eye on that first assessment meeting. He explained the scan results in terms I could understand. He said that indeed I did have a macular hole in that eye; he reassured that he could operate to help alleviate the condition. He explained what the operation would entail. He was empathic, professional and scheduled the necessary operation promptly, within a couple of weeks of that first meeting. The operation was successful and his team were very understanding and supportive of me. Since then I have had other problems with vision as the retina in my right eye is rather fragile it would seem. However, as Mr Dhawahir-Scala has set up regular appointments to review my sight he has been able to treat associated retinal conditions as problems have presented. He also assesses the other eye when I attend, to investigate any conditions that may arise; happily that left eye has not developed a macular hole. I continue to be reviewed in a timely manner and that gives me reassurance that all that can be done is being done to keep my vision as good as it can be, given my susceptibilities.

10-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was recommended to Mr. Dhawahir-Scala by my Opthalmologist due to a specialised procedure being needed to reduce the thickening of the retina in my right eye. This was causing loss of sight in the middle of my eye. Cataracts were also attended to at the same time. The whole operation for both was performed most professionally and he ensured I was most comfortable through the Procedure by himself and his team. I would certainly recommend to Any heitent person that you would be attended to by a very assuring Surgeon.

10-02-2019