Mr Deepu Sethi

Mr Deepu Sethi

MBBS MRCS FRCS(T&O)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
2 specialists

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“Great care and advise throughout the whole process. Would thoroughly recommend.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great care and advise throughout the whole process. Would thoroughly recommend.

Patient seen for:
ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) Injury
Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction
20-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Deepu Sethi, is a wonderful doctor. He has a lot of patience and he is a very good person.

16-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is very professional and inspires trust and confidence in his abilities which is reassuring. A great service.

07-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I feel incredibly fortunate to have been referred to Mr. Sethi for my ACL reconstruction. I tore my ACL whilst skiing and know of other skiers who also tore theirs in the same season. While I'm sure their surgeons were incredibly competent, I feel that in comparison my experience was so much more comprehensive and positive. Prior to booking the surgery, I sat on the fence about whether or not I wanted the reconstruction in the first place. Being addicted to google /webmd searches and horror self diagnosis, I found lots of horror stories about how it can go wrong. Or where surgeons often misplace the graft because they only do X number of ACL reconstructions per year. But in the end I felt very reassured by the fact that Mr. Sethi works exclusively on the knee. I asked him about his other clients, about shoulder injuries during ski season etc, and he said no just knees and only knees - about 4 to 5 ACL reconstructions per week on top of other knee surgeries. My case was open and shut for Mr Sethi, and 15 months down the line, my ACL injury turned out to be quite the non event. Been back to normal for a while now, thanks to Mr. Sethi's great care.

Patient seen for:
ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) Injury
Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction
25-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had outstanding care and treatment during the time of my treatment from yourself. I would highly recommend you to anyone requiring knee treatment. My knees took quite some time to get back to normal after physiotherapy, but are both working fine now. Long may it continue ! It was a real pleasure being treated by you. Thank you again for your compassion and professionalism throughout. And your sense of humour was excellent which is very important to me.

Patient seen for:
Torn Meniscus (Cartilage)
24-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a superb surgeon who I trust with my patients that I need to refer on. He is collaborative in his approach to orthopaedic knee problems. I will refer to him when I expect patients need surgery but also at times for very valuable second opinions. I have enjoyed working with Mr Sethi for the mutual benefit of our patients and will continue to do so. Dr Mike Burdon Consultant Sports Physician, Pure Sports Medicine.

15-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It’s been a 6 months since my operation and I wanted to shout out a big thank you to Mr Sethi. I finished my first run today and the knee is doing very well, no pain at all, it feels like there has never been an accident :) I wish Mr Sethi's Family all the best, especially in times like these.

Patient seen for:
Meniscal Repair
03-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is an excellent clinician. I have seen him communicate effectively with patients, giving them all the information needed for patients to make decisions about what will be best for them. He is knowledgeable, approachable and accessible as a colleague. I trust him completely and he is the knee surgeon I would recommend to my patients, family, friends and colleagues if they needed a surgical opinion.

19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a truly outstanding doctor, and I am extremely grateful for all the support and great care I have received from him. From the very early consultations, he helped me choose the best approach for my condition, by presenting all the facts and trade-offs in an honest yet reassuring manner. Even when I opted to go for a ACL reconstruction + meniscal repair surgery, which was the first major operation in my life, I felt comfortable that I had reached the right decision and that I was in safe hands. My recovery and progress so far (6 months post surgery) has exceeded my expectations. Mr Sethi even managed to "rescue" my meniscus by repairing it and thus avoiding removing it completely. Pain has been minimal, even in the first days after the surgery, and my knee feels strong and stable (no Theresa May pun intended). I'm already back to cycling and running with no problems at all, and I soon hope to make a return to other sports. If you are ever in the unfortunate position to sustain a knee injury, I cannot recommend Mr Sethi enough!

Patient seen for:
ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) Injury
22-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I sustained a very bad injury to my knee whilst skiing. Fortunately I was referred to Mr Sethi who was patient and compassionate throughout my treatment. Mr Sethi went through all treatment options in great detail and made me feel in control of what I wanted done. It became clear that I needed surgery and I went ahead with a major knee reconstruction (ACL, MCL and meniscus repair). My recovery has been so much better than expected and my physiotherapist is amazed at how well I am doing following surgery. Mr Sethi is clearly a very skilled surgeon, but he combines this with compassion and he really cares about his patients. I feel blessed to have been referred to Mr Sethi and I would recommend him to anyone with knee problems. Thank you Mr Sethi and keep up the great work. I wish more doctors were like you.

Patient seen for:
ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) Injury
Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction
Posterior cruciate ligament (PCL) reconstruction
08-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Deepu Sethi is very professonal and very caring. He listens and give proper suggestion. His course of treatment is very authentic. He diagnoised my knee problem and advised correct course of treatment. We need more consultent like him

03-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had a total knee replacement by Mr Sethi and 4 weeks - and lots of exercises - later, I was walking without crutches to the local shops! I was so impressed with him from the start - his desire to preserve my knee if possible (turns out it was not possible), his excellent communication (balanced information, direct, cautious when necessary), his attention to detail in planning the operation and his caring. His approach made me feel calm and trusting about having the operation. The whole surgical and surgical rehab team (physios, nurses) were very good too. Being on a small specialist ward afterwards was really helpful. I feel blessed and excited about being able to walk and ballroom dance again . Thank You Team Sethi.

19-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Deepu Sethi was an amazing surgeon. Throughout all my appointments, consultation, treatment and aftercare he was very professional caring and put me at ease every step of the way. I would highly recommend him. I am so grateful for what Mr Sethi has done for me. I am extremely happy with my knee operation. A+++ Thank you for everything

Patient seen for:
Partial Knee Replacement
08-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a world-class orthopaedic surgeon who runs an outstanding service. My experience with Mr Sethi and his team has been extremely positive from start to finish and I am delighted with the outcome. I wholeheartedly recommend Mr Sethi for orthopaedic patients. I first saw Mr Sethi after injuring my knee, which turned out to be a tear of the medial meniscus. My experience of Mr Sethi has been one of a considered and skilled communicator who cares deeply for his patients. After our first conversation I felt I was able to make a well-informed decision about the potential benefits and risks of my various treatment options. This contributed to the feeling that I was in safe and capable hands at all times. The operation went exactly as planned with no surprises, but I should say that due to Mr Sethi's clear and honest analysis beforehand I felt well prepared if things were not to go as we both hoped. I have also benefited greatly from Mr Sethi's expertise and advice during my recovery period, during which he left no stone unturned in order to ensure my plan was optimal. I credit Mr Sethi and his team for my confident return to my previous activities. I feel privileged to have been under the care of Mr Sethi and to have experienced world-class medical care as a result.

Patient seen for:
Torn Meniscus (Cartilage)
04-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a surgeon who takes his time to explain the procedure, what to expect, post-op conditions and rehabilitation all in plain English. Whilst medical terminology is often used, Mr Sethi explains it in such a way that completely sets your mind at rest and you are under no illusions as to what is being planned. He is extremely easy to talk to, answers any questions you have, has a great bedside manner and can recommend appropriate treatment outside of the operation such as physiotherapy. I have no hesitation in recommending him as a surgeon for knee surgery.

17-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi has been excellent - so professional, warm and trustworthy. My operation was a great success and couldn’t offer a higher recommendation.

Patient seen for:
ACL (Anterior Cruciate Ligament) Injury
07-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I came to Mr Sethi to get a 2nd opinion on a patella stabilisation procedure. He was very open, honest, friendly, and gave me some great advice. In in the end I decided to go with him for the operation and he has been very communicative and helpful throughout the whole process (even calling me back on a Saturday when i had some concerns post op) I'm on the road to recovery now and am very happy with how the surgery turned out and the treatment ever since. Would highly recommend!

Patient seen for:
Patella (kneecap) dislocation
07-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a fantastic and lovely doctor. He is very thorough and takes the time to explain the problem in simple terms. I am delighted with the results of my treatment and surgery. Thank you Team Sethi.

31-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Sethi has been very profesional and attentive throughout all our appointments. He fully explained the procedure done to my knee as well as answered all my questions. I have no complaints whatsoever.

01-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My operation was successful and the recovery time was shorter than expected. Thank you Mr Sethi

30-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Sethi has been very profesional and attentive throughout all our appointments. He fully explained the procedure done to my knee as well as answered all my questions. I have no complaints whatsoever.

25-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had been putting off surgery for a long time and had previously seen many surgeons, When I met Mr Sethi I felt at ease and he was very clear about all the options and he genuinely had my best interest at heart. When it came to decided about an operation, I had full confidence in Mr Sethi. My operation was a complete success and the recovery time was shorter than expected. I am very grateful for the excellent care that Mr Sethi has provided. I would recommend Mr Sethi to anyone with a knee problem (whether you need an operation or not!)

14-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Comes across as knowledgeable and experienced. Listens to your experience of your problem and doesn't just focus on the academics of the injury so that you both come to the best decision. He was great, thank you.

13-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Having had knee surgery previously, with a different surgeon, Mr Sethi was extremely helpful in answering any additional questions I had this time round. He had an exceptional professional manner, while also being personable and responsive to my unique case. I found it very encouraging that he is continually perfecting his surgery technique(s), and that he showed keen interest in the comparative knee. I would recommend him to anyone; he put me at ease about my (major) surgery before, during and now after.

11-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Deepu Sethi is a very understanding surgeon, he explained my surgery ( a partial knee replacement) in great detail, noting the post operative pros and cons. I found him to be very reassuring and a good listener. My surgery was extremely successful and after 6 weeks I was walking without crutches or a stick. Kind, tolerant and helpful. All in all I don't think there could be any way of improving such a brilliant service.

10-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My mum was referred to Mr Sethi and from meeting him at the first appointment, it was clear he cares about his patients and takes time to listen and understand their concerns. He has a kind and patient manner and you could see he that he treats all his patients with the same respect and kindness. As a family, we have all been impressed with the care and attention shown to mum. Thank you Mr Sethi.

10-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is without a doubt the best person I have had the pleasure of being treated by over my 5 years of recurring knee problems. Without his initiative and desire to help his patients, I believe I would still be doing the same repetitive treatments I was given at other centres. I trusted him 100% to operate on me, I had no doubt I would wake up after surgery feeling like this complicated knee injury would be fixed. I hold him in very high regard and would definitely recommend him, the NHS needs more people like him.

17-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Sethi has operated both my knees. In 2015 I had a ACL repair with hamstring and in 2018 I had a combined ACL repair (using hamstring again) and a Meniscus repair. Both operations have been very successful and between operations I have been back skiing very confidently and to the same standard I used to ski (I competed in downhill race when younger). Prior to both ops, Dr Sethi took time to understand what I was looking to achieve and clearly explained to me what my options were. I have been extremely well looked after pre and post surgery and I can thoroughly recommend Dr Sethi and his team.

17-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A kind, considerate and friendly Doctor. Not only was he consistently helpful but he was also honest and supportive. Really appreciate everything he's done to fix my knee!

01-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Considerate and professional. Very grateful for the diagnosis, operation and care I received.

24-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Sethi was a great surgeon. He spoke through the entire process of care (after I tore my meniscus and needed repair) and explained everything in full detail all the way through the treatment process. I would highly recommend his care and happily have him as a surgeon in the future. On top of that, the guys/gals (nurses, anaesthetist etc) were absolutely amazing, which really complimented Mr. Sethi, especially something so personal/traumatic that happened to me.

19-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I suffered a horrific knee dislocation (full rupture of ACL, PCL, and MCL). Mr Sethi was extremely professional and compassionate. He explained clearly the severity of my injury and, since a prompt intervention would have improved my recovery outcome, he offered to perform a multi-ligament reconstruction just a couple of few weeks after my accident. This was a major surgery and Mr Sethi succeeded in reconstructing/repairing all three ligaments in one session (there was the possibility that a staged approach would be required). Just four months after my surgery and I am in no pain, I have regained a functional range of motion, I walk normally (no brace and no crutches), I have started cycling (static bike), and I have the feeling I am heading towards a good recovery. I think Mr Sethi is a terrific surgeon and it is very clear to me that he genuinely and truly cares about his patients. I would strongly recommending him without any hesitation.

14-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi performed an ACL and MCL reconstruction on my right knee. The level of care I received was beyond expectation, before, during and after the operation. I was very well informed and great care was taken to make sure I understood the procedural details, what to expect following the procedure, recovery and aftercare. Before the operation my knee was completely unstable, but afterwards and following the physiotherapy my knee is more stable than my left knee, with zero pain and a full range of movement after one year. The operation was carried out to a very high standard and was very successful and I'm really glad I had it done. I would recommend Mr Sethi and his team without hesitation, they are very skilled at what they do.

12-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi listened carefully, his questioning was sensitive and probing. He gave continual response and feedback throughout consultations and always gave me great confidence in my suggested treatment. He inspires trust. To put it bluntly, there was no messing about, and once it was clear what was needed in my treatment he just got on with it. My surgery was done promptly and with great efficiency and my recovery, having faithfully followed instructions for exercises and physio, has been extremely quick and trouble free. I feel extremely lucky to have had Mr Sethi as my surgeon.

06-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent care. Both his manner and advice as well as the operation itself were excellent. He offered great advice, was very warm, and clearly did a good job on the knee itself. Thank you.

26-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Sethi gave me my first and only operation on my knee. Being 19 years old at the time, I was really nervous and worried about going under. He answered all of my questions, made me feel relaxed after surgery & spoke to me after, not to mention the amazing after care he gave me. He made sure I was seen to from the beginning until the very end when my knee full recovered 9 months later. I’m really grateful to him and I really couldn’t have asked for a better surgeon for this operation.

28-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He explained everything in a straight forward manner, offering the pro's and con's of the surgery and was happy to answer any questions I had. Surgery went really well, a first class service. Thank you Mr Sethi.

23-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi is a world-class orthopaedic surgeon who runs an outstanding service for the NHS. My experience with Mr Sethi and his team has been extremely positive from start to finish and I am delighted with the outcome. I wholeheartedly recommend Mr Sethi for orthopaedic patients. I first saw Mr Sethi after injuring my knee, which turned out to be a tear of the medial meniscus. My experience of Mr Sethi has been one of a considered and skilled communicator who cares deeply for his patients. After our first conversation I felt I was able to make a well-informed decision about the potential benefits and risks of my various treatment options. This contributed to the feeling that I was in safe and capable hands at all times. The operation went exactly as planned with no surprises, but I should say that due to Mr Sethi's clear and honest analysis beforehand I felt well prepared if things were not to go as we both hoped. I have also benefited greatly from Mr Sethi's expertise and advice during my recovery period, during which he left no stone unturned in order to ensure my plan was optimal. I credit Mr Sethi and his team for my confident return to my previous activities. I feel privileged to have been under the care of Mr Sethi and to have experienced world-class medical care as a result. This is how it’s done guys.

11-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My initial consultation with Deepu left me feeling very positive about surgery, something which I'd previously been very doubtful about. He is very knowledgable, as you'd expect, but also extremely welcoming, positive and honest. I had no doubts about putting my trust in him after just a 20 minute conversation. Six weeks on and my recovery is going well. I couldn't recommend him enough. Thanks again!

06-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Sethi is amazing and very polite and professional!

13-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi has helped me through every stage of my anterior cruciate ligament reconstruction, from initial diagnosis and consultation through to the operation and post-operation consultation. Mr Sethi remained on hand to help at every stage and has always gone the extra mile to make sure that I am comfortable and fully informed. I am very grateful for all Mr Sethi has done and can recommend him without hesitation.

08-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi was great. He knows what he is talking about and gave me the pros and cons of the knee surgery. I always felt comfortable and the procedure went smoothly. Really happy how everything went, and also grateful to his efforts of booking me in early before moving abroad.

08-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and provided excellent information so that I could make an informed choice.

13-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and competent doctor

01-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am more than happy with my Mr Deepu Sethi. He is great Doctor. He is very kind and polite doctor. He is very humble. He is one of best doctors that I have seen ever thank you, Mr Sethi

26-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Sethi was personable, professional and informative throughout our interactions and I felt in highly competent and safe hands. I appreciated seeing him on the day of my operation (both before and after surgery) and the follow up from his PA has been exceptional.

30-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Sethi was recommended to me by a consultant and is clearly immensely experienced and knowledgeable in his field. I was really grateful for the way that Dr Sethi treated me as an individual, considering all of my medical history, life circumstances and future ambitions before coming up with a solution upon which we both agreed. He listens intently and takes the time to explain complicating terms and options, and shows a genuine care for his patients. I would have no hesitation in recommending Dr Sethi to anyone who has experienced knee trauma. Thank you.

02-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thank you very much for your help .

24-04-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very attentive from start to finish and followed through with all my progress and concerns. Incredibly helpful and informative allowing me to be aware of my options. Definitely recommend to other patients.

12-04-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Sethi has been outstanding throughout my ACL reconstruction. He was able to get me an operation quickly and in my follow up appointment took time to clearly explain my injury and operation using operation photos. His team were also brilliant in putting me at ease pre-op.

10-04-2018