Mr Declan Cahill

Urologist

Urologist

United Kingdom

30 years of experience

Verified profile

Video
Consultation

Urologist

United Kingdom

30 years of experience

Verified profile

Video
Consultation

OverviewAboutLocationReviewsEndorsementsFAQ

Reviews

All reviews
Prostate Cancer (254)
Prostate Cancer (254)
Nerve Sparing Prostatectomy (134)
Prostatectomy (Robotic) (81)
Robotic Surgery (73)

415 reviews

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

I was very anxious before my first visit to Mr Cahill. On meeting him he put me right at ease and reassured me that everything would be fine in the end. He explained what was going to happen in language I could clearly understand, and assured me that everything would be fine. On the day of the surgery he visited prior to the operation to explain everything again and the day after the operation he visited early in the morning to make sure things were ok. I was discharged after two days and flew home. Mr Cahill was in regular contact with me by phone and email checking everything was ok. That was all 20 months ago and I have no regrets whatsoever with my treatment. I am back living a normal life, cycling, playing golf, travelling, eating & drinking. Due to the skill of Mr Cahill, I did not suffer from some of the post operative issues that some people do (incontinence, leakage etc) for which I am very grateful. I cannot speak highly enough of him and thank him sincerely for giving me my life back.

31 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

Prostate Cancer Diagnostics

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

Mr Cahill is an exceptional physician. Given that i don’t know the answers to medical questions on his specialism it is easy to worry and he is outstanding in countering that. He explains clearly, thinks of the patient as a whole, adapts his style to suit, and of course is also a renowned expert in his field both behind a desk and in surgery. I hasten to recommend him unreservedly.

31 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

prostate infection urinary tract and bladder complications

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

From my initial consultation with Declan he was extremely professional, reassuring, personable and I felt confident in placing myself in his care.

05 Aug 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

robotic prostatectomy

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

I found Mr Cahill to be a very professional and skilled surgeon who alongside his obvious technical skills provided an excellent level of explanation which could be easily understood at a time of great concern for me and my family. He coupled a straightforward no nonsense approach with a high level of empathy which put me at ease before, during after my treatment. I would recommend his services to anyone who required his expertise. I believe that my current very good level of health is a direct result of the care and attention he gave to my procedure and what surrounded it. Highly recommended.

05 Aug 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

Advanced Prostate Cancer

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

All you could want in a surgeon Confident and explained all as the treatment proceeded

28 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

Prostatectomy (TURP)

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

Declan Cahill is the consummate professional and manages to combine this professionalism with a very approachable demeanour. I would unreservedly recommend him to anyone! Best regards, Andy.

29 Jul 2020

verified patient

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

Mr Cahill is excellent to deal with under difficult circumstances. He is understanding, clear with explanations and gives all the options available. I had an excellent result after the operation with minimal side effects for such a complicated procedure.

30 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

Prostatectomy (TURP)

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

Mr Cahill is very approachable and gives time to fully address all pre-operation questions and concerns in a frank and open way. The immediate follow up and the ongoing monitoring plan are clearly explained, which is very reassuring and has been carried out despite the difficulties arising from the Coronavirus emergency. I have felt very informed and confident in his care.

29 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

radical prostatectomy

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

I came to Declan and his team at the height of the CV 19 crisis. Declan and his team were remarkable in handling my initial enquiry promptly, looking at options, Declan gave me a clear point of contact and lead me through the process, initially working remotely devising a holding position till surgery was possible, keeping me in the loop at all times. Surgery was slotted in at the earliest opportunity. The outcome of the operation more than met expectations, with continence beyond a dribble back within the first couple of weeks and erectile function satisfactory. On the mend with catheter in tow Declan’s team provided excellent support and advice.... I could not recommend Declan Cahill more highly, his personal approach was unprecedented in experience...

30 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

radical prostectomy

5

5.00

Overall Experience

5.00

Bedside manner

5.00

Explanation

Very happy with treatment. Straightforward explanations, easy going manner, confident, made me feel at ease, good communications, able to contact if required, responsive and good follow up. Couldn't be happier.

30 Jul 2020

verified patient

Patient seen for:

Radical prostatectomy