Mr Arjuna Imbuldeniya

Mr Arjuna Imbuldeniya

MBBS, B Med Sci (Hons), MSc, DIC, FRCS (Tr&Orth)

Orthopaedic Surgery

Recommended by  
4 specialists

17 years of experience
5 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.97
Bedside Manner
4.97
Explanation
4.97

Top feedback

“Mr.Imbuldeniya is not only immensely knowledgeable but also a talented communicator, friendly, open, and most important of all, a problem solver. He quickly assessed my acute condition and in spite of the Coronavirus crisis managed to schedule prompt ,effective surgery. He also has a great sense of humour.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr.Imbuldeniya is not only immensely knowledgeable but also a talented communicator, friendly, open, and most important of all, a problem solver. He quickly assessed my acute condition and in spite of the Coronavirus crisis managed to schedule prompt ,effective surgery. He also has a great sense of humour.

Patient seen for:
Knee Arthroscopy
27-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I saw Mr Imbuldeniya in his NHS after seeing a consultant with a dreadfully condensing, uninterested attitude. Mr Imbuldeniya was patient, honest and humorous. He seemed to understand that my particular concern was a big deal to me even if he’d seen hundreds of similar cases. When explaining something if I didn’t get it he found another way to express it to ensure I did get it. I felt I would be in safe hands hands that saw me as an individual rather than a collection of damaged bones on an x-ray. I’m well recovering from a hip replacement and I wholeheartedly recommend him as a surgeon and greatly admire his attitude to his work. We need more like him.

Patient seen for:
Hip Replacement
26-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Had my ACL reconstructed last year by Mr Imbuldeniya. First class job and overall experience. Op only took around 45 minutes. Great level of care and assistance given in Pre Op & Post Op by his team and then subsequent follow up consultations.

Patient seen for:
Anterior Cruciate Ligament (ACL) Reconstruction
20-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya listened to me patiently, and explained that he could arrange scans to investigate the problem. He than explained the results to me and advised me on referrals to a rheumatologist and physio I shall certainly return to Mr Imbuldeniya if the condition continues to worsen.

07-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very happy with my appointment and the consultant I saw. He was very pleasant, informative , professional and had an excellent bedside manner.

Patient seen for:
ongoing knee problem.
24-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

First consultation was excellent. Everything clearly explained and open to discussion.

16-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My whole experience with Mr Imbuldeniya was great, he was quick to set you at ease and explained what he was doing and why really well.

29-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing doctor: genuinely interested and caring; down to earth and pragmatic; using a simple terminology so that the patient can have a clear and engaging conversation devoid of misunderstandings.

26-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya is an exemplar for his profession. Extremely caring, professional and answered all my questions and filled me with confidence. I am chuffed to bits with my robot assisted total knee replacement.

Patient seen for:
Osteoarthritis
09-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent isn't enough to give to Mr Imbuldeniya and his team who guided me through my total hip replacement before and after care. Just like you are doing now I read the reviews, they are so important for both consultant and patient/client this being the reason for me writing one. As soon as you meet him he puts you at your ease, he has a warm friendly approach explains all options, answers all your questions. He is a true professional, genuinely wanting to help. His wonderful caring PA Annie, who must be exceptionally busy made time to listen and explain any queries I had. Mr Andrew Castello-Cortes the anesthetist explained pros and cons (as I wanted to stay awake) of having a spinal block injection. Another very caring person looking after me throughout the operation. I still cannot believe I was chatting just as you would over coffee during Op. Operation over in morning me walking a few steps same afternoon. In my third week on one crutch just incase of tripping, been on buses, trains, and of course doing my exercises, a must! Can't thank you all enough and other theatre staff for relieving me of the pain I was in. Would highly recommend you to all.

16-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent service, did have to wait 3 months for surgery which was disappointing. However very happy with the service once it happened.

07-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot thank Mr Imbuldeniya enough! I was so worried about have my ACL and Mensicus surgery but he put me at ease from my very first appointment. The surgery went amazingly and his assistant Annie even text me after the op to see how things were going. I am now 8 months post op and feel stronger than I did prior to my injury. Thank you to Mr Imbuldeniya and also to Annie.

28-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I started to see Mr Imbuldeniya in April 2018 who very quickly organised an MRI Scan to reveal I had some pretty serious damage to my right knee. We tried going down the route of not initially having surgery but after a couple of other incidents we decided that surgery would be the best course of action. I'm now post op by almost two months and I'm very happy with my recovery. I can't recommend Mr Imbuldeniya (and his team) highly enough for their professionalism and attention to detail.

24-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Imbuldeniya is extremely professional and pleasant. He’s very easy to talk to, and took time to explain all my options to me, being very honest about all possible outcomes. I have no hesitation in recommending him wholeheartedly if you are considering knee or hip surgery. His PA Annie also deserves a special mention - she is warm and friendly, and extremely good at her job. All arrangements were made effectively and I am happy with all aspects of my treatment.

26-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya is brilliant, made me feel at ease, would recommend him to anyone as he “fixed” me. After many years just soldiering on he has given me a new lease on life

28-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Many thanks to all the team at ICE Ortho for all your care. In particular thanks to Mr Imbuldeniya, to Annie (for giving up her Saturday night to see me) and to Anna for knocking me out!

06-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr. Imbuldenya and team (special thanks to Annie) were absolutely great before, during and after my knee surgery. Highly recommended.

19-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am on day 4 after my total hip replacement procedure completed by the Ice Ortho team of Mr. Imbuldeniya, and Dr. Andrew Castello-Cortes at The Clementine Churchill Hospital. I cannot tell you the relief I now have versus the severe pain I have been experiencing since 2011. It has been a long process to actually get to this stage which commenced with an initial introduction consultation with Mr. Imbuldeniya in August 2018. I was initially scheduled for a surgery in November having met Mr. Imbuldeniya again to discuss the process further and being made to feel totally secure with the situation to only have to postpone until February 2019 due to discovering a non pre-diagnosed condition that prevented surgery in my pre-operation test carried out at The Clementine Churchill Hoispital. As such, the surgery was finally agreed to be undertaken with some additional risks all of which I was fully hand held through by Mr. Imbuldeniya and Dr. Andrew Castello-Cortes. I was massively impressed by the approach of the team entirely to my situation and the necessary managing and prevention measures taken right up to and during my procedure. I have commenced my recovery and physio again at The Clementine Churchill and I am astonished at the rate I have progressed since day zero - operation day. I can honestly say as I write that the team are my own personal heroes and should I ever have the need to have any revision work undertaken or have my other hip replaced, I would be hard pushed to consider an alternative team. Thank you

18-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and reliable!

08-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

fantastic service pre post operation

07-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya and his team at The Syon Clinic were very pleasant and helpful during my visits there. Mr Imbuldeniya explained everything to me regarding the problem with my knee, and what options were available to me. I would definately recommend visiting Mr Imbuldeniya with any knee or hip problems.

21-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Truly skilled and knowledgeable Surgeon. Fantastic people skills and communicator. You will obtain a sound and balanced opinion

04-11-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really greet professional service, would recommend.

05-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

"These guys are the best team of medical staff I have been around in a long time. I would love to have them again if I ever get another knee injury or hip injury for that matter. Mr Imbuldeniya although busy still took the time to make me feel like I was the only patient there. Annie who took my initial information was terrific, she too made me feel extremely comfortable and communication between us was fantastic and if I need their services again I know I will be welcomed, in short a massive thank you to the team and i personally highly recommend their services and after care... again thanks guys

02-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been treated with respect and dignity throughout my experience. My operation has been a complete success and I can only thank the consultant and his staff for all there help. I was always seen on time and any queries I had were responded to immediately. Thank you so much

28-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya has been great throughout the whole process, from seeing me a few days after my injury right through to 4 months post surgery. He is upbeat and positive which is so important when you sustain such a serious injury and learn just how long the recovery process is. My operation went amazingly well, I was in and out of surgery very quickly and that was down to the great team I had. I am very grateful to Mr Imbuldeniya and the team for helping me get back to full health as quickly as possible

20-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An excellent doctor with an excellent team. Extremely helpful with everything, explained the procedure in great detail, very professional and polite. I’d give him 6 stars if I could!

09-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Quick and informative, explained everything clearly and took time explaining to myself and to my 14 year old daughter who has the injury.

23-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The care that I have received from Mr Imbuldeniya, his PA, the nurses and staff at Clementine Churchill has been excellent, my knee is still in the recovery phase but seems to be doing well, I’m going to book another operation using the same team which I think says it all.

23-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It’s always a pleasure to speak with Mr Arjuna. He’s friendly, approachable, uses real life examples to explain the treatment stages and most importantly he uses simple language with patients.

13-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It’s always a pleasure to speak with Mr Arjuna. He’s friendly, approachable, uses real life examples to explain the treatment stages and most importantly he uses simple language with patients.

13-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Imbuldeniya performed an excellent ACL and meniscus surgery! Great post op care and recovery advice.

09-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the initial consulation to the post operative care, the treatment that I've recieved from Mr Imbuldeniya and his team has been exemplary. Mr Imbuldeniya's manner is reassuring and inspires confidence in a succesful outcome. Every step of the process has been managed efficiently and professionally by his excellent PA

25-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The word Thank You seems few letters but they mean a lot. May God bless you with good health & prosperity. I am very grateful for the wonders you did on my hand. Thank you.

23-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I saw Mr Imbuldeniya for the first time and felt very reassured and relaxed while he explained to me the results of my MRI and an an Xray I had previously had of my hip. He was very patient and answered all my queries in detail . I am glad that I went to see him and if needed to follow up further in the future i will go again.

16-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Had an ACL reconstructive knee surgery. Went really well, great results. Extremely friendly and informative surgeon, very approachable, doesn't use medical jargon and therefore very easy to understand risks, results and all implications. Felt very supportive throughout the surgery and following consultations. Would definitely recommend him to anyone who needs knee surgery.

15-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very very good He took time to explain Thanks

15-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very pleased with everything.

15-05-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Quite happy with the care I’ve been given. If there is anything I would say requires improvement, it’s perhaps an advice on how to improve the state of the injured limb over the recovery period.

14-05-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Good

14-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thank you so much for removing the hardware in my ankle - I cannot tell you what a difference it has made to my life!! My only regret is that I didn't take before and after picture. I will always remember your kindness and good manner. All the very best to you.

08-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot recommend enough, I am now into my 7th week and have been free of pain from my hip. I am working on my exercises and only get pain when making my leg move in certain positions. Also Annie responded immediately to every question I might have. I have been very happy with the treatment l have received. Thank you again.

13-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Inbuldeniya has been a fantastic consultant and surgeon from start to finish. I have seen a number of other consultants regarding my ACL repair, but Mr Inbuldeniya has by far been the most knowledgeable and shows a genuine interest in both your injury before and recovery post surgery. He makes you feel very at ease and comfortable with the surgery that is being performed, and the scars post surgery prove how skilled he is as they are barely noticeable! Would highly recommend Mr Imbuldeniya without hesitation.

12-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Found the whole experience very good. From booking appointment to the extremely helpful and efficient secretary and then the advice and care given by the team and especially the consultant who took time to explain the options open to me. Overall an excellent experience. Thank you

11-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very happy with the care Mr Arjuna Imbuldeniya provided. He listened to my concerns and did not disregard my symptoms like other doctors did. I felt well looked after and like I can trust his opinion. I would absolutely recommend Mr Imbuldeniya and consult him again if needed.

04-02-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Imbuldeniya was incredibly professional throughout the entire process. From initial consultation, to operation (restructured ACL) , to post op advice he has been meticulous and constructive offering a very high level of support throughout. During my playing career I have had the unfortunate privilege of having been seen to by various consultants for a plethora ailments and I would wholeheartedly say that Mr Imbuldeniya's operation was the most successful. I would much advise anyone to use his services.

23-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

excellent, excellent experience with doctor imbuldenya. Competent, caring, kind. My elusive knee problem is solved. thank you!

05-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very nervous going into the consultation and quite confused. When I met Doc. Imbuldeniya he explained everything in detail and most importantly gave me confidence. Going into the surgery, throughout the process he was professional and friendly and I highly recommend him to anyone.

05-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I attended clinic twice with Mr Arjuna. He was extremely thorough taking me through all my options. He explained everything to me in a very straightforward way. he answered all my questions and alleviated any anxiety I had regarding the diagnosis. I would definitely go back and can recommend him further as a knee specialist.

13-11-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent advise and care.

29-09-2017