Mr Alwyn D'Souza

Mr Alwyn D'Souza

MBBS, FRCSEd(Oto), FRCSEd(ORL-HNS), PGCertMedEd, EBFPRS

Ear Nose & Throat Surgery

Recommended by  
3 specialists

Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.99
Bedside Manner
4.99
Explanation
4.99

Top feedback

“Dr d'Souza made me feel at ease and provided all the necessary explanations in a clear and professional manner.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr d'Souza made me feel at ease and provided all the necessary explanations in a clear and professional manner.

Patient seen for:
Thyroid Problems
27-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Due to the Coronavirus I was not happy to proceed with my operation however I was very happy with my consultation and I thought that Mr D"souza was very professional and explained everything very clearly . I will be going back to him when this crisis is over to have my operation .

26-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza gave me great confidence in his explanations and experience during his consultations. He was very professional and honest. I did not go ahead with what I thought I wanted as he had given me an honest analysis, and yet even still I came out of the consultation very happy and confident. Thanks again.

Patient seen for:
Rhinoplasty (Nose Reshaping)
26-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wish all doctors are like him. So nice and best at what he does. I been to 5 NHS doctors prior to seeing Dr D'Souza. Finally got to the problem. Will one thing. Can you join the NHS. We need people like you.

25-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very empathetic, explained things thoroughly to me, looked after my anxiety very well, gave me the opportunity to ask questions. He was also clearly very skilled. The operation has made a big difference to my wellbeing.

Patient seen for:
Eye Problem
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very friendly, answered all my questions and met all my demands! Gave me lots of time in consultations. I trusted him immediately and very happy that I went with him.

Patient seen for:
Revision Surgery
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very good service

Patient seen for:
Broken Nose
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza was excellent in explaining the issue and dealing with it quickly. We are particularly grateful that our son got seen & treated with urgency before the Covid-19 outbreak became widespread.

Patient seen for:
Stopping nose bleeds (Nasal Cautery)
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D'Sounza was extremely helpful for myself. A diagnosis was quick and got be back onto the correct path right away. His team were also great communicating and reactive with any issues I had.

Patient seen for:
Tonsillectomy
24-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I primarily approached Mr D'Souza enquiring about my ears being pinned using staples inserted beneath the skin having read of this procedure that is relatively new, in a news paper health care article. I had suffered albeit in silence with anxiety regarding the prominence of my ears since I was very young, and continued with this throughout my adult life, although not drastic the anxiety or the prominence both were sufficient to impact upon my confidence. From the moment I explained my concerns Mr D'Souza exemplified total professionalism and an understanding. This led to an alternative proposal to undergo Otoplasty surgery. The procedure, was fully explained, and the extent that the ears could be pinned back simulated during the course of the consultation with a physical placement of clips on the ears. Upon reviewing this and the option to actually manoeuvre the temporary clips to suit my personal needs, I was immediately filled with comfort and confidence that at long last there was an opportunity to finally rid myself of the personal anxiety I had hidden from my friends and relatives. The procedure was booked in, and within a fortnight I was seen to. All went extremely well on the day, as I was made to feel relaxed both prior to the operation and equally during it with constant dialogue to ensure I was kept comfortable. The after care / follow up was excellent, and my thanks go to Mr D'Souza for taking time from the first meeting in making me feel welcomed, assuring me I was under no pressure to move forward but exemplifying the potential and positives to what this procedure can provide ---- an injection of confidence and well being which it has. Thank you Mr D'Souza.

23-03-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Really helpful and honest as my issue was not his direct area of expertise but was able to direct me to the correct specialist as well as exploring all other possibilities.

Patient seen for:
vestibular tests
26-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied with the care given, found Mr D'Souza to be very pleasant, he took the time to explain the procedure fully and made sure I fully understood what would be happening.

18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied with the care given, found Mr D'Souza to be very pleasant, he took the time to explain the procedure fully and made sure I fully understood what would be happening.

18-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

What a wonderful doctor! Dr. D´Souza gave me the information required and answered all the questions I had. He also took plenty of time to explain everything to me and I didn't feel rushed at all. It was a very positive experience.

Patient seen for:
congested ears
20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

What a pleasure it was to be seen by Mr D'Souza. He was very thorough in his examination, explained everything clearly to my husband and me, and arranged the relevant tests very quickly. Highly recommend him, it's so nice to come across such a compassionate consultant, not just to his patient but their family as well.

Patient seen for:
Ear Nose & Throat Surgery
14-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The surgeon was very approachable, explained the procedure so I could easily understand. He was kind and friendly. I would not hesitate in recommending him.

Patient seen for:
Nasal polyps
11-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D'Souza is a first class surgeon within his field. He instills confidence and explains fully the options available. I have no hesitation in recommending Mr D'Souza.

Patient seen for:
Sinus Surgery
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr D'Souza instantly makes you feel relaxed when you enter the room. He makes you feel calm and explains everything to you in perfect detail. I have had experience in the past with other surgeons who steer away from answering your question or as i like to say respond with a 'fluffy' and roundabout answer. I couldn't recommend Dr D'Souza enough.

Patient seen for:
Sinusitis
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr D'Souza was very professional and factual. He gave me the information required and answered all the questions I had. He also took plenty of time to explain everything to me and I didn't feel rushed at all. It was a very positive experience.

23-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He's very thorough, calm and reassuring and gives you time to explain all of your concerns with a genuine interest in your welfare.

26-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very nice!

25-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I left Mr D'Souza's office thinking that was probably one of the best initial consultations I'd had. (and I've had a few) He was in no hurry to move onto his next patient, explained everything I wanted to know and made it a pleasant experience

Patient seen for:
Rhinoplasty (Nose Reshaping)
19-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently saw Mr D’Souza as I had broken my nose in an accident. At my first appointment he helped with advice on management of the injury until I was able to have the surgery. We then discussed what could be done and how I would look. From the initial consultation I had no concerns over my surgery as I felt completely sure that I had found the right person to help me. Mr D’Souza is kind, compassionate and an incredibly talented surgeon and I would recommend him to anyone needing or wanting facial surgery. Thank you also to Chelsea and Karen who arranged everything with absolute efficiency. I am so pleased with my new nose it’s better than it ever was before!

19-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Alwyn D'Souza was friendly and professional. He explained carefully to me what to expect and how long the whole exercise will last.

Patient seen for:
Consultation before the repairs of my torn ear lobe
19-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very well looked after from the moment I met Mr D’Souza. Explained everything clearly and in a way I could understand and all the symptoms post op where exactly as explained. Would highly recommend.

Patient seen for:
Nasal polyps
Broken Nose
18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr D’Souza was very polite, listen very attentively when I was describing my symptoms and he went into great lengths to explain my condition.

18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I attended a meeting with Mr D’Souza to explore the possibilities, pros and cons of a facelift as a first step. Mr D’Souza outlined the possible procedures and took photographs. He was reassuring and spoke with authority and put my mind at rest on the main issues involved with this kind of surgery. It will take a further consultation before I decide to proceed but I would feel confident to proceed with Mr D’Souza having heard of his great experience and confidence in this field.

Patient seen for:
Face Lift (Rhytidectomy)
18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza was amazing, made me feel very calm through the whole procedure and was extremely professional

Patient seen for:
Excision of Skin Lesion
Lesion Biopsy
18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr D’souza is a extremely polite and professional dr. He has an auroa of compassion when discussing the health at hand and in my experience the procedure carried out on me was smooth and pain free. The aftercare is brilliant and he puts your mind at ease. And if no additional procedure is required he is upfront to say. Highly recommended always and would always travel just to see him In the future

Patient seen for:
Ear Infections
18-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Everything about the procedure was professional and brilliant results

28-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great service and bedside manner. Good explanation of procedure.

Patient seen for:
Septoplasty
09-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great service and bedside manner. Very good explanation of the procedure.

Patient seen for:
Septoplasty
09-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr d’souza explained everything in detail and very caring and helpful very pleased with my neck lift .Karen his PA was always there to answer questions And Queries I would highly recommend Dr D,Souza

08-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza was clear and concise and was confident in the way he spoke. He cleared up any queries and was helpful with aftercare.

Patient seen for:
Assessment and Removal of Ear Stitches
01-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I went to see dr D’souza due to an infection on my ear. He was very professional in the way he explained the cause the symptoms and the procedure he will be required to ensure the abscess was removed. The follow on appointment was very well observed. His whole persona puts you at ease and feel privileged to have met him to carry out my operation.

01-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr Alwyn D'Souza was considerate and explained every step of the procedure and after care too.

Patient seen for:
Ear Nose & Throat Surgery
23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D'Souza was very helpful, polite and informative.

Patient seen for:
Deviated septum
23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The experience my Mother has was fantastic. All members of staff were so helpful and efficient. Mr D’Souza was kind and reassuring about the diagnosis. We cannot thank him enough and his team, enough

23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Personal and professional.

23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very kind , professional, helpful and reassuring.

Patient seen for:
Ear Infections
23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Took his time to talk things through. Good manners. Good experience.

23-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza is a very gentle, caring and dedicated professional. His handling of my recent procedure was excellent. I cannot thank him enough for the final result. I would recommend him to my relatives and friends.

21-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great service. Quick appointment date availability and report turnaround

11-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can't speak highly enough of Mr D'Souza. He made me feel extremely comfortable and confident before the procedure and his manner and expertise where very comforting when I had a couple of minor complications following the procedure. I am very happy with the results of my operation and I would not hesitate to recommend him.

27-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The initial consultation, the procedures and the follow-up appointment were all faultless. At all stages the treatments were discussed thoroughly, clearly, and with patience and kindness. The results of the treatments are excellent and I am absolutely delighted.

20-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had been thinking about rhinoplasty for 15 years and finally made a couple of appointments for a consultation end of 2018. I called Mr D’souza’s secretary to ask about booking a consultation but had mentioned how I have booked a couple others each costing £250 and I am worried about paying out all this money on consultations. I was then kindly informed that he had a free mini consultation, to which point I immediately booked this, I had been recommended Mr D’Souza by a well respected doctor that I know very well. Firstly before even meeting Mr D’Souza I was so very impressed by Chelsea and Karen his two secretaries, they are both so efficient, helpful, knowledgeable just overall fantastic communicators. When I first meet Mr D’Souza, I knew I wanted him to do my operation, he was so friendly, warm, welcoming, professional, and on top of that, he knew exactly what I was looking for, and he took into account my whole face not just my nose. The mini (free) consultation didn’t feel rushed, he was very informative and I came away feeling like I had all the relevant information to make a informed life changing decision. Dr D’Souza took photos and showed me what my nose will look like, and he was able to let me take photos of them so I had an idea what to expect which was so helpful. I went back for a second consultation mainly to ask any further queries I had, and talk mode about the procedure. I finally made the decision for the operation and booked it for roughly 3 months after my first consultation. I arrived at the BMI hospital on Sloane Street early in the morning, Mr D’Souza came and meet me to sign paperwork and any last minute worries. I was Also meet by the anaesthetist and this was my main worry about the actual operation, so I had a few questions to ask. Again meet with all helpful answers. The operation itself went well, it was roughly 2.5hrs. I can say once the splint came off, I was so happy already, even with the swelling, everything was exactly how he had explained. It’s been nearly 3 months now and I couldn’t be happier, It’s exactly what I wanted and what I visioned. I fully recommend Dr D’souza to any one wanting Rhinoplasty he is professional, experienced, makes you feel at ease, just everything from start to finish was fantastic. Thank you to Mr D’Souza and Chelsea and Karen, you are all fabulous.

14-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My wife and I have been patiants of Mr D'Souza for around 14 years he has always been very accommodating professional and a true gentlemen making us feel safe relaxed and confident that we are in safe hands. He always takes time to explain everything he plans to do and talks you through each procedure as he preforms them. We could not recommend this wonderfull man more and feel very confident in doing so.

14-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Mr D’Souza has been very professional throughout my treatment, answering every question very thoroughly and explaining my treatment in detail. He put me at ease from my first appointment. I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. The operations I have had have given me my confidence back and I can’t thank him enough.

13-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had an extremely positive experience following a closed rhinoplasty procedure with Mr. D'Souza and team. I found Mr. D'Souza to be a skilled professional, with a knowledgeable, kind and supportive manner. I was extremely nervous on the morning of my surgery, he quickly put me at ease with his calm demeanour, and I felt 'in safe hands.' Advice and support are a telephone call away via Karen, with whom I had several conversations. Karen and Chelsea, part of Mr. D'Souza's admin team are efficient and available to access advice if/when needed. With thanks to Mr. D'Souza and Team!

06-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After many years of considering a blepharoplasty, I am so pleased to had chosen Mr Alwyn D’Souza. He is certainly a very talented, gentleman, with a calming influence, he put me at ease at our first meeting. It has only been 11 days since the blepharoplasty and I am overwhelmed by the results so far. I am truly happy and grateful to the whole team at The Sloan, who were all so kind, caring and supportive. If there were an option to give Mr D’Souza 10 stars, I certainly would have - Thank you

04-10-2017