Dr Simon Aylwin

Dr Simon Aylwin

MA MB BChir PhD FRCP

Endocrinology

Overall Rating

Overall
4.78
Bedside Manner
4.78
Explanation
4.78

Top feedback

“Professional, great manner“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional, great manner

08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I had issues with the medication I was taking and he was the only doctor that was able to help me. He is really great.

02-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Aylwin was the third endocrinologist I saw. He took the time to really listen to me and what I was going through, he spent time reviewing my test results and gave me options. This was extremely valuable as with the other specialists I saw before him, I didn’t feel heard, and I felt like I had no options. He took the time to answer questions and explain things to me. Thanks to Dr Aylwin, I am currently in remission and off the medication for almost 7 months. I still am having to have blood controls but I feel like even if it flares up, I have a doctor I trust and feel comfortable with. I wouldn’t be in the condition I am today if it wasn’t for him.

Patient seen for:
Hyperthyroidism
30-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really good manner. Thorough knowledge of my condition. Very quick in terms of follow up and what we should be doing next. Would recomend.

Patient seen for:
Thyroid Problems
30-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Aylwin is precise in his explanation, very friendly and patiently answers all the questions one might have. I would highly recommend him.

Patient seen for:
Pituitary tumour
30-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am very pleased to have been under Dr Aylwin's care over the past year. Not only is he a clear expert in his field, but he really listens to you and takes a pragmatic approach to your care based on your individual needs and circumstances. I can sometimes be a little anxious regarding my health, but Dr Aylwin always makes me feel reassured and comfortable in my consultations, I trust him very much and this is so important in a consultant. His medical secretaries are also very kind and always contactable.

Patient seen for:
Graves’ Disease
Hyperthyroidism
30-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I received superb service from everyone at London Bridge during the period since Dr Aylwin confirmed that I had an active Adrenal Tumour. I cannot praise more highly the kind and sensitive way Dr Aylwin dealt with and explained the whole situation. The diagnosis came as a shock to me but Dr Aylwin was calm and re-assuring at all times. When the tests showed that the adrenal gland and tumour had to be removed, he put me in the hands of the most experienced surgeon in this area of expertise -Mr Johnathan Hubbard. Dr Aylwin has always explained things very well and the follow up since surgery has been excellent.

Patient seen for:
Pheochromocytoma
28-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am really happy to be under the care of Dr Aylwin for a parathyroid condition. After some research and asking around, I consulted with Dr Aylwin. I find Dr Aylwin is a very knowledgeable, meticulous, and approachable medical professional that always takes every effort to gather all my medical care and wellbeing information before consultations. I would describe his bedside manner as professionally frank and straight facedly witty. I have had my moments of thinking I am about to die from my latest perceived or real symptom and he is never dismissive but notes and deals with every medical and psychological concern I told him about. He is clear on what he can help with and sets out what more I may consider to deal with the other medical issues he is aware of. I find him innovative and responsible in his approach to what turned out over time to be a more complex parathyroid issue for me. He considered different medical treatment options, medication etc., to try and help me. My questions to him are answered and he explained where the science was with somethings I asked about. Since surgery earlier this year he has worked effectively with my surgeon and GP to provide me with ongoing post-surgery treatment. During the lockdown he still consulted with me and kept my GP timely informed as I am requiring some monitoring still. I have had scans and blood tests when the other nurses and doctors see that he is the requesting doctor, always smile and say, that I am in good hands with ‘Simon’.

Patient seen for:
Parathyroid disease
27-06-2020
Overall
1
Explanation
1
Bedside Manner
1

My appointment was cancelled and I wasn't told. I travelled all the way to the clinic only to find that the consultant was on leave. I've been struggling very seriously with my health so this was a devastating blow to my well-being.

06-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear, constructive and thorough.

08-04-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

As always, excellent. I feel I am in the best possible hands with regards to the handling and management of my symptoms.

24-08-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very impressed by Dr Aylwin, the very first time I met him. He was very friendly and patient and therefore talking to him was made easy. His showed good understanding of my complex problems. His supportive manner, thorough and clear explanation of my condition and the treatment options available helped me to make a meaningful decision about the choice of treatment to pursue. He is highly recommended.

29-07-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr Aylwin to have a very personable manner, and an instinctive talent which goes above and beyond the skills expected of a specialist.

13-07-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Simon Aylwin is a young dynamic physician, whose attributes are many. He is caring, informative and nothing is too much trouble. His professional approach is outstanding and so too is his manner. If you require the services of an endocrinologist he is the “go to man”. I cannot commend him too highly.

12-07-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Simon Aylwin is a young dynamic physician, whose attributes are many. He is caring, informative and nothing is too much trouble. His professional approach is outstanding and so too is his manner. If you require the services of an endocrinologist he is the “go to man”. I cannot commend him too highly.

11-07-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent consultant, fully understanding patient view and communicating in a friendly supportive manner. Accurate diagnosis and medical advice. 100% recommended.

04-06-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

!

24-02-2017
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

!

18-07-2016