Dr Rachel Byng-Maddick

Dr Rachel Byng-Maddick

BSc, MBBS, PhD, MRCP (rheum)

Rheumatology

15 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.88
Bedside Manner
5
Explanation
4.88

Top feedback

“Dr Byng-Maddick has been supportive and professional, giving me sound and practical advice to help improve over the course of the past 10 months. She explains test results clearly and has helpfully replied to my queries and questions. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Byng-Maddick has been supportive and professional, giving me sound and practical advice to help improve over the course of the past 10 months. She explains test results clearly and has helpfully replied to my queries and questions.

13-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Was helped to understand issue.

11-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr B-M has provided excellent and thoughtful care throughout my period of engagement. She has been readily accessible, clear in her explanations, and has facilitated access to timely diagnosis and treatment during the Covid lockdown. She has worked effectively and considerately with our NHS GP service and given clear and well reasoned authoritative direction to my diagnosis and treatment. I have developed a 100% trust in her approach and the treatment pathway she has chosen for me. Her office team are also fantastic and patient / user friendly. They solve problems and clearly have a great working relationship with Dr B-M which has been of high value to me on many occasions and provides great ongoing reassurance.

Patient seen for:
Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)
10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very pleasant reassuring and made me feel confident in her diagnosis.

09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Rachel Byng Maddick was very pleasant informative and made me feel confident in her diagnosis. If i have any future concerns i would certainly return to see her.

09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Rachel Byng-Maddick listened to all my complaints and made every effort to help me solve my problem.

12-03-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Byng-Maddick listened attentivelly, provided insight, prescribed the correct set of exams and reviewed them thoroughly. She has a calm and attentive bedside manner and made herself available should there be any further issues. She was also very understanding of my personal circumstances at the time. I wish I had asked about a couple of other things and there were symptoms I was (and still am experiencing) from a different condition altogether. I suppose it would have been too much to ask Dr Byng-Maddick to establish that connection and that is what I perceive to be the downside of seeing a specific consultant and only covering symptoms presumably associated with their area of expertise, whereas a more holistic, albeit brief, perspective, will sometimes make a significant difference in the early detection of certain issues or conditions. I would recommend Dr Byng-Maddic for a rheumathological condition.

Patient seen for:
Rheumatology
11-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Byng-Maddick was friendly and approachable. She seemed very knowledgable and explained everything in as much detail as I asked for. She was also very reassuring and was happy to refer me to other doctors to check alternative options. I would definitely go back to Dr Byng-Maddick.

10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Byng-Maddick was a friendly and caring doctor. She went through my symptoms methodically, listening well and being patient. Her communication and response to emails was excellent.

10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Rachel Byng-Maddick is absolutely fantastic! She thoroughly explained to me why I was having the symptoms, did all the necessary tests and refrained from ordering unnecessary tests. She has the best bedside manner ever!

Patient seen for:
achy fingers
10-03-2020