Professor Melvin Lobo

Professor Melvin Lobo

MBChB, PhD, FRCP, FBHS, FESC, FACC

Cardiology

Recommended by  
10 specialists

30 years of experience
15 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.92
Bedside Manner
4.96
Explanation
4.96

Top feedback

“Very good appointment, Prof Lobo has a great manner and made me feel at ease. He explained everything in detail, nothing felt rushed as can often happen with telephone consults and I feel that my experiences and symptoms were validated. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very good appointment, Prof Lobo has a great manner and made me feel at ease. He explained everything in detail, nothing felt rushed as can often happen with telephone consults and I feel that my experiences and symptoms were validated.

Patient seen for:
Dysautonomia
BP fluctuations
12-08-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Felt very comfortable with professor Lobo. Pleasant to talk to.Explained everything in detail. Very professional manner.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

For so long I have felt invalidated, and that my symptoms were almost psychological. Dr Lobo listened to everything I said and conducted a series of testing, here we found answers to all of the symptoms I’ve been experiencing and he said everything makes sense. He was so good in explaining everything and has the patients best interest at heart and really considers quality of life. He is my favourite doctor for sure.

10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional and patient centric.

10-08-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Very efficient in getting to the route of the problem and ensuring details test are done to rule out all possible causes.

10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is an excellent listener and communicator . His timekeeping for appointments is also very good. I much appreciate his style of providing well explained advice, a treatment plan and backup. He trusts me to monitor my condition and provides parameters for action on a delegated basis. Provision for contact between formal appointments is made but on infrequent occasions I had to use it, improvement would be helpful

Patient seen for:
difficult to treat hyper tension
10-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo listened attentively. He was not judgmental, and he seemed to know the angst I was going through with the previous treatment I had received and offered an alternative approach to which I welcomed. He was knowledgeable in his approach to reach a solution and was fully aware that my concern came first! The experience has left me believing that there are some genuinely committed and sincere doctors out there. I highly recommend Professor Lobo.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
30-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof. Lobo listened well, had lots of information, and seemed very familiar with my experience of drug side effects, and how to find a solution. He gave me considerable confidence he will find a solution for something which has been an ongoing problem for me for years.

Patient seen for:
High Blood Pressure
27-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo combines medical excellence in his field with an understanding of the practicalities and pressures of life his patients have to provide first class, realistic advice and care. Thank you

25-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is a great practitioner, who combines outstanding medical knowledge with an appreciation of the real life practicalities and pressures to provide sensible, imaginative care. Thank you

25-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A Doctor and a gentleman, always answers my questions that I ask in a way I understand.

Patient seen for:
Clinical Pharmacology
23-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thorough, professional, listens, committed to providing exceptional care. Would highly recommend.

22-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It is extremely rare in the medical profession to come across a highly accomplished Professor who is able and willing to listen to their patients and carefully observe what they have to report about their ailments instead of preaching from high and above what the strong ego of a professional must say and tell the patient what is best for them. After all, they are the professional and of course they must know best! What is profoundly lacking with many medics, Professor Lobo has these qualities in abundance, this needs to be celebrated.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
16-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional

Patient seen for:
General medicine
13-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Melvin Lobo is not only an excellent Hypertension consultant but has a very broad understanding of medicine with over 30years experience. I found him excellent in solving my medical condition and he was always amenable to explain, talk and advise. He has a very caring manner to his approach and I felt completely in the right safe hands. He now looks after my whole family given my good experience with him. Totally recommend him.

Patient seen for:
Pain in chest
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent physician, very knowlegeable, polite. Takes an interest and very patient when answering questions

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Explained some potentially complex health issues in laymans terms with humility and confidence

12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Lobo, is that rare practitioner who has a deep passion for his profession and the patient. His deep clinical experience and research at the forefront Vascular medicine gave me immense comfort as a patient. His erudition in matters other than medicine, especially fine wine and art, put me further at ease. Following from his excellent diagnosis and recommendations, which one should follow strictly, I have have been able to continue with very stressful travel for work and re-engage with my favourite sports. I would like to acknowledge this Doctor and also say a huge Thank You !

Patient seen for:
High and irregular BP.
12-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Lobo is a world class hypertension specialist with excellence in diagnosing and treating blood pressure issues and disorders.  How do I know this? Please read on! My Mother’s blood pressure was poorly controlled via the General Practioners for an extended period of time which placed her at risk for various future heart problems and other potentially serious health conditions. We researched the outstanding work that Professor Lobo provides for his patients, (which extends to the knowledge and training of future generations of cardiovascular doctors and hypertension specialists). We Instantly knew we had to visit him for his expertise and guidance. We initially booked and visited Professor Lobo at his private clinic at the renowned London Bridge Hospital where he treated my Mother’s concerning health issues with the utmost care, courteousness and understanding.  Not only did he restore my Mother’s health by giving her the correct diagnosis and medications (which incidentally have continued to this day through our G.P. as a direct result of his intervention and follow-ups with our doctor and at St. Bartholomew’s Hospital) he went above and beyond the call of duty to ensure her full recovery. Professor Lobo even arranged a series of thorough investigative checks for other conditions and concerns that we discussed.  IMHO, Professor Lobo exemplifies world class treatment and care. He offered a truly unparalleled and unmatched level of expertise, professionalism and consideration. His knowledge in the field of blood pressure treatments, hypertension and cardiovascular health is limitless and we cannot thank him enough for everything he’s done to restore my Mother’s health and well being.  Professor Lobo also guided me without hesitation when I visited his private clinic to ask his opinion on a health matter which required a procedure during a particularly concerning period. He truly went beyond the call of duty to ensure a thorough investigation and correct diagnosis and offered unparalleled support which resulted in a positive for me. I am incredibly grateful to him for such diligence. I regained my health and confidence, and it is only fair to take a moment here to share such exceptional medical care. Professor Lobo’s conscientiousness, assistance and experience are second-to-none and he unfailingly places the utmost importance on your well-being. I would recommend Professor Lobo thoroughly and without any hesitation. Chris Loizou

Patient seen for:
High Blood Pressure
Dizziness
Atrial Fibrillation
11-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Lobo had a very wholistic approach addressing my health Issues. what I really appreciated, apart from the thorough physical testing, was that he aimed to address the root cause. He was extremely, compassionate, comforting and a very good listener.

10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is truly competent and makes the whole experience comfortable and easy to comprehend. Also, a true gentleman!

10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prompt consultation, polite and friendly and helpful explanations.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
10-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

This is the second consultation directly with Prof. Lobo, though the first by phone. I have previously been seen by other members of his team. As in my first consultation, I was particularly impressed with Prof. Lobo's ability to combine highly impressive clinical/ scientific knowledge and experience, focused on a good understanding of my case, while engaging with me on a personal level. Carrying that empathy across over the phone is not easy, but he handled it very well.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
09-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have 12 consultants and he is by far the best and the most caring.

08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very down to earth response to my issues. Where other medical staff have just offered me a tablet to fix all of my issues Professor Lobo has realised that it isn't the answer to every problem and i look forward to getting my hypertension resolved.

Patient seen for:
Hypertension (High Blood Pressure)
08-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good telephone conversation

03-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
1

Only had the initial phone call however based on that I found the professor to be extremely knowledgeable in his field and gave me confidence that finally my health issues could be identified and rectified

Professor Melvin Lobo

Thank you very much indeed for taking the trouble to provide feedback. I am sorry that you found my bedside manner to be so poor and would welcome any constructive feedback on this.

Patient seen for:
Headache
Dizziness
balance problems
01-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Prof Lobo absolutely oozes compassion, he's so kind and helpful and that's on top of his vast knowledge of autonomic problems. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him to anybody.

Patient seen for:
Postural orthostatic tachycardia syndrome (POTS)
01-07-2020