Dr Maxton Pitcher

Dr Maxton Pitcher

MA (Cantab), BM BCh (Oxon), MD (Cantab), FRCP

Recommended by  
1 specialist

31 years of experience
22 years as a specialist

Overall Rating

Overall
4.95
Bedside Manner
4.97
Explanation
4.95

Top feedback

“I would like to describe my experience with Dr Pitcher and team as excellent. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would like to describe my experience with Dr Pitcher and team as excellent.

Patient seen for:
Endoscopy
23-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

You are always so lovely, kind and helpful. Thank you very much.

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
23-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher has steered me through the shock of the initial diagnosis of severe Crohn’s disease to subsequent surgery and ongoing monitoring. His expertise, professionalism, responsiveness and clarity has been invaluable throughout.

Patient seen for:
Crohn’s Disease
Colonoscopy
22-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher was pleased to hear that my symptoms had improved substantially since my last visit and that I was no longer dependent on steroids to control any flare-up I might have. I should however return to taking 3mg of steroids if I had any problems in the future. He also advised me on the osteopenia medication I am taking.

22-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

very Good Doctor

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
21-09-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Glad I have finally spoken to the Doctor.

21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. MAXTON IS VERY EXPERIENCED DOCTOR AND HELPED ME WITH MY PROBLEM VERY easily. He knows how to proceed with The consultation and holds good Knowledge of his area. I have been kept very well informed all throughout the process and I am quite happy with his advice. Glad to choose him as my consultant.

Patient seen for:
liver
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent in all respects.

Patient seen for:
Gluten Intolerance (Coeliac Disease)
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

As soon as I met Maxton I felt more at ease about what I was going in for. He made me feel instantly comfortable and less scared about what I was experiencing. I’m so grateful that Maxton was my Doctor, I really wouldn’t have wanted anyone else. Such a lovely person and an amazing Doctor. Forever thankful

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
Colonoscopy
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good Experience. Thank You

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
21-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

ExcellentI found Doctor picture very understanding and he listened and he did not rush me very patient with my problem

Patient seen for:
Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS)
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

An excellent consultant who is caring, patient at all times. I feel very safe under the care of Dr Pitcher

Patient seen for:
Endoscopy
Gastroenterology
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent diagnosis and explanation of the problem, followed by careful treatment and follow up. Dr Pitcher attitude to my problem was highly appreciated.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He was considerate and caring. He listened and made me feel calm when discussing my symptoms. His whole attitude made me feel that whatever my diagnosis he would be able to deal with it. A very professional approach made the whole experience easier to handle. I would recommend him to anyone who needed to see a Gastroenterologist.

Patient seen for:
Coeliac Disease
Endoscopy
Gastroenterology
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Pitcher is extremely kind and caring, very 'down to earth' and straightforward. I feel very safe in his hands and know he will always look after me in the best way possible and give me excellent advice.

Patient seen for:
Crohn’s Disease
18-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent doctor.

Patient seen for:
Crohn’s Disease
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

The only doctor I really trust after getting bad treatment and misdiagnosis in a&e departments and other hospitals I finally saw him and he pretty much knew what the issue was straight away. He has been my doctor for many years and diagnosed me. His team are great too, I guess because he trains/oversees them! Very grateful to him for keeping me overall pretty well for such a long time! Shame Northwick park NHS facilities are in desperate need of renovation and can often be really dirty. I like that he gets right to the point with what's wrong, what my options are and is able to be direct but tactful so as not to add drama or stress me out further. I am happy to pay for private appointments too just to make sure that I see him as I hold his opinions in such high regard. He also explains things properly or points me in the direction of somewhere worthwhile where I can find the information myself. Very pleased and thankful for my treatment overall!

Patient seen for:
Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBD) such as ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Pitcher was very clear in his explanation of the investigation and treatment of my condition. I appreciated the way he used language I could understand, and he was very practical when recommending options for long-term management of my condition. I was very impressed by his knowledge of recent advances in his field that were critical to finding me the best care.

Patient seen for:
treatment of eosiniphilic esophagitis
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher was kind and thorough from start to finish! I felt like I was in extremely capable hands, and was so grateful for his warmth and expertise!

Patient seen for:
Colonoscopy
Colorectal Cancer
Bowel Cancer Screening
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher is an absolute gentleman and the most genuine and caring health professional; I’m truly privileged that he’s managing my long term medical condition.

17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher always takes the time to listen, reassure and answer questions. He has been especially supportive over recent years when I was going through some of the less common symptoms related to Crohn’s disease.

Patient seen for:
Follow-up telephone condultation.
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He’s very understanding and caring and responds promptly to my queries, especially in these Covid times

Patient seen for:
Colonoscopy
Endoscopy
17-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very thorough and considered approach. Would definitely recommend.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Comprehensive care and clear explanation of plan and advice

Patient seen for:
Inflammatory Bowel Diseases (IBD) such as ulcerative colitis or Crohn's disease
16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher is an absolute gentleman and the most genuine and caring health care professional that I’ve had the privilege to have been treated by!

16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher has been such a tremendous help for me. My condition has improved since he started treating me and he gives me hope that it will improve further in the future. He is very polite, involves me in the treatment decision making and has exceptional knowledge. He really cares about his patients and i am lucky to have him. Thank you.

Patient seen for:
eosinophilic oesophagitis and a gastroscopy
16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Called me at time arranged, swiftly reviewed test results so far which are all fine, and went in to advise what next steps are needed which he will arrange for me.

Patient seen for:
Review of crohns
16-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Needed urgent attention for ongoing problem including pain /bleeding. He quickly identified issue and advised on next steps such as arranging operation /investigations MRI/Colonscopy. Providing continuing advice.

Patient seen for:
Rectal Bleeding
15-09-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I consulted Dr Pitcher during Covid after much delay on NHS. I consulted Dr Pitcher for an unexplained abdominal pain, stiffness, weight-loss. I was satisfied with fact that he did right tests to rule out immensely serious condition. It did help me to give mental relief. Currently, although my treatment has not been concluded as couple of things are suspected and I do have some discomfort. But based on my trust with his experience and care for patient so far, I look forward to being completely recovered and cured for my condition with him.

Patient seen for:
Endoscopy
Colonoscopy
Gastroenterology
12-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Having being referred to Dr Pitcher by my GP after a month of total discomfort, fear and worry, I had my first phone consultation with Dr Pitcher whom I found extremely professional and very easy to talk to. On the day of the procedure, sensing my anxiety and fear, Dr Pitcher and his team reassured me throughout the process. So, my sincere and heartfelt thanks to Dr Pitcher and his wonderful team.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
12-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Was very thorough with his investigation, explained it very well as he went along and helped a great deal.

Patient seen for:
Crohn’s Disease
09-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Fabulous and knowledgable medical practitioner

Patient seen for:
Endoscopy
09-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Overall I have been happy with Dr Pitcher's guidance and well thought out process. We have had hiccups but this is understandable due to the nature of my condition. I hope to continue with the reviews so we can ensure the medication is working. I feel Dr Pitcher will do what is my best interest and wants to help me obtain a more comfortable lifestyle.

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
07-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have always found my experience with Dr Pitcher to be excellent, he is very reassuring, provides excellent explanations and is also very friendly.

Patient seen for:
Colitis (Ulcerative Colitis)
06-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Always very professional, caring and explains everything clearly. Very happy to be under his care.

Patient seen for:
crohns
05-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher has been great from start to finish. Would definitely recommend him to others.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
Bloating
Endoscopy
Iron Deficiency Anaemia
Pelvic Pain
04-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful doctor.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
Achalasia
02-09-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

In my opinion Dr Pitcher did a great job. I was referred to Dr Pitcher originally as a gastroenterology case, and Dr Pitcher was able to diagnose that actually I had Nephrotic Syndrome (a type of kidney failure). The consultations with Dr Pitcher took place in late March 2020 and mainly because of COVID-19 the consultations were held remotely. Despite the remote sessions, Dr Pitcher was able to diagnose what was wrong, and went on to refer me to a kidney specialist, who I saw within days of the initial consultation with Dr Pitcher. Things that really stood out for me in terms of Dr Pitcher: - Warmth / Concern - it was clear to me from the outset that Dr Pitcher is someone who cares. - Knowledge / Diagnosis - spot on, even though nephrology is not Dr Pitcher's specialist field. - Speed / Efficiency / Follow up - I was a high risk patient at the time of the initial consultation. I remember the initial consultation was on a Monday evening. By Tuesday I was booked in for a CT scan late in the evening. Dr Pitcher arranged for the medical team involved to email him all the results that night. Dr Pitcher then emailed me around midnight on that Tuesday night, to update me with the results. All in all, I would highly recommend Dr Pitcher. He has what I think is a rare and wonderful blend of all the qualities mentioned above. He also has a good sense of humour - something I have always found commendable in any dealings with consultants and staff in the medical field.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
Video Consultation
Oedema
25-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Pitcher took the time to listen and explain and go through a level of detail which put me to ease. I am grateful for the time he has spent with me. Also very reactive in helping me diagnose my issue.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
23-08-2020