Dr Malcolm Persey

Dr Malcolm Persey

MA (Oxon) MD FRCP

Rheumatology

31 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.98
Bedside Manner
4.94
Explanation
4.94

Top feedback

“My experience of my recent consultation with Dr Malcolm Persey helped to soothe my anxiety over the polymyalgia rheumatica I have suffered for nearly two years. His calm and reassuring bedside manner has the authority derived from deep knowledge and experience of a particular issue while indicating potential sources of action that may help to alleviate current problems. Dr Persey’s suggestions about changes in medication that may improve my situation are based his knowledge of the drugs involved as well as careful consideration of the way I am likely to react to them in the future. I am relieved by his suggestion that I should try dropping the Methotrexate and slightly increasing the prednisolone. I believe that Dr Persey’s professional help and support will help me on the road to recovery. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience of my recent consultation with Dr Malcolm Persey helped to soothe my anxiety over the polymyalgia rheumatica I have suffered for nearly two years. His calm and reassuring bedside manner has the authority derived from deep knowledge and experience of a particular issue while indicating potential sources of action that may help to alleviate current problems. Dr Persey’s suggestions about changes in medication that may improve my situation are based his knowledge of the drugs involved as well as careful consideration of the way I am likely to react to them in the future. I am relieved by his suggestion that I should try dropping the Methotrexate and slightly increasing the prednisolone. I believe that Dr Persey’s professional help and support will help me on the road to recovery.

11-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Made a 5 hr trip to London to see Dr Persey for painful knees. I was very happy to get a face to face appointment and very quickly too. Thank you. Aspirated and injected my knee with what I felt was instant result. However, wouldn't want to be repeating procedure on a regular basis and hope this to be a one off treatment.He was all his reviews said, which influenced my choice of Specialist. Approachable, he listened and was professional yet human, all the qualities that make a good doctor, and as a nurse myself of 39years, I've seen much. His diagnostic letter including treatment was quick to receive and to the point. The overall experience was a good one and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Dr. Persey. Thank you again.

Patient seen for:
Knee Pain
03-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My doctor referred me to Dr. Persey and even in these difficult times he fitted me in with 24 hours. He was very direct and to the point and really helped me understand that sometimes referred pain can be much more intense than pain from an actual site of injury. I found Dr. Persey very helpful indeed and I would highly recommend him to anyone with back or joint problems

Patient seen for:
severe pelvic and spinal pain
29-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. Persey was able to see me the same day that I contacted his friendly and efficient secretary. He was very understanding of the severe pain I was in both during the day and night when I was unable to get comfortable and pain free in bed. His explanation of my problem was clear and comprehensible, was in no way rushed. He fully answered the questions that I raised. He was most courteous, kind and caring. I could not have asked for anything more and he gave me confidence in his ability to, with steroids, get me through this particular attack of gout, and then over time, control my gout problem long term.

Patient seen for:
Gout
22-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was very pleased with the speed at which I got the appointment and the efficiency and sympathetic treatment I received. Dr Persey was both professional and caring.

18-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

First time seeing Dr Persey, and it was a great experience. He paid attention to everything I told him, examined me and came up with a sensible and practical set of solutions to help me make a recovery. I highly recommend!

06-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have seen Dr Persey on more than one occasion and he is always professional and kind, taking the time to explain in detail to the level you will understand (e.g. he does not talk down to you but still checks in to see if anything needs to be clarified). He clearly takes time to look over your notes beforehand so that he is prepared for your appointment and does not need to spend additional time going back through everything. He has been especially helpful with subsequent letters needed for the workplace, carefully explaining conditions/results if requested. He also has a wide knowledge of rheumatological conditions. Would highly recommend.

03-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great consultations with Dr Persey. A rheumatologist with tremendous knowledge. Not easy being a patient when I’m a doctor myself but I couldn’t have asked for a better experience. Thank you!

22-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Around eleven years ago, I consulted with Dr Malcolm Persey regarding a knee problem. Following his diagnosis, I was please to hear that surgery would not be required after his careful analysis but, rather periodic injections. I am pleased to say that ever since my knee has remained fully functional. Needless to say, I am most pleased with this outcome and my thanks to Dr Persey for this and his continued support. He has been totally professional throughout in dealing with my problem and gives full explanations as a matter of course.

19-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey made me very relaxed . I found him very friendly and he explained my conditions to me in very simply language to understand.

Patient seen for:
I went to see Dr Persey to get a second professional opinion on my condition which I believe NHS has been avoiding giving me the right treatment for my condition.
17-06-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Five star

23-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Considerate and caring and honest

14-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Highly recommend if anyone asks me. Dr Persey was a delight. Will be back in touch should I need him.

03-03-2020
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Very detailed in the advise

03-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful and reassuring experience. I now have a much better understanding of my problem and what can be done about the symptoms. I would highly recommend Dr. Persey to anyone with a similar condition to mine.

27-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Malcom Percy is an experienced doctor.

13-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey helped me to understand my condition. He listens carefully and has a very approachable manner.

Patient seen for:
Osteoarthritis
31-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I first saw Dr Persey last week. He explained my problem very clearly even drawing so I understood. He was very pleasant & seemed to understand what was wrong quickly & efficiently.

23-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I'm hugely grateful to Dr Persey - seeing him was the turning point in my attempts to resolve an issue with my foot, the point at which we finally started to understand what the problem was (and wasn't). Whilst the issue turned out not to be in his area of expertise, his referral onwards to was the last one I needed! I would certainly use him if ever I needed a rheumatologist.

Patient seen for:
Foot Pain
19-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey is a great doctor who listens and explains everything in detail. I am very pleased to visit him. Thanks very much!

Patient seen for:
Back Pain
03-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr persey is very kind and nice person We were very pleased to visit him He explained things very well to us.

25-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr Persey to be knowledgeable, humorous and very reassuring. He explained everything in detail and completed the letters to my doctor and information to me in a very timely fashion. Thank you for a great experience.

Patient seen for:
Gout
20-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Top chap, very knowledgeable, good listener and straight talking - Very professional

Patient seen for:
long term martial arts injury
18-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful and knowledgeable doctor, eager to learn about my problem and prescribe the appropriate medicine

Patient seen for:
Dry Eyes
12-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr.Malcolm Persey handled my problem in a smooth and calm way making me feel better , his explanation was clear and finally I found the proper treatment for my “back pain” Thank you so much !

11-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey was very straightforward in explaining the options currently open to me and this was really helpful.

Patient seen for:
Arthritis
10-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very good consultation with Dr Percy. Would highly recommend his consultancy.

Patient seen for:
Frozen Shoulder
29-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A very useful and informative consultation delivered with kind and respectful consideration.

25-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very pleased

23-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Efficient and carried out thorough examination. I could see him without a GP referral.

Patient seen for:
Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)
26-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey has a charming, kind and very calm approach. Initially I was a little nervous about a procedure which I subsequently had several times and would hardly have noticed it happening. He has a highly intelligent and sometimes witty way of explaining what is wrong and what can be done.

23-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can’t praise Dr Persey and his secretary highly enough for all their help. I arranged for my sister to be seen and it’s the first time in a long time that she seems happy and confident about what’s going on.

Patient seen for:
arthritis
16-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

It is always a pleasure to see Dr Persey, and after treatment I always feel much better. I have had several soft tissue injections to tendons and carpal tunnels and whilst the injections are not pleasant , the relief ,once the injections do their job , is fantastic. Thank you Dr Persey

Patient seen for:
Carpal tunnel syndrome
15-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I went to see DR Malcolm Persey after having a Gout attack he treated me straightaway with a steroid injection and within 12 hours i was feeling much better. He was very understanding and took the time to talk to me about my condition. The next day i received an email from his secretary with very useful information about Gout. I would highly recommend anyone suffering from Gout to book an appointment with DR Malcolm Persey .

28-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He was very patient and understanding and gave me good advice and reassured me

24-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very helpful and reassuring

23-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Exceptionally knowledgable and concise with explanations. Made to feel at ease over an injury that caused pain and anxiety. Very thorough in all areas to find the best course of treatment.

12-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I just wanted to thank you and Dr Persey for your care and support yesterday. I really appreciate your ongoing efforts to fit me in at what is usually very short notice so I can get back to normal as quickly as possible. I am feeling much better today and back at work 😊. Thanks again

03-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My care through Dr Persey has been first class. He listens and very importantly understands my difficulties and has shown a desire to make sure my issues are identified correctly and put in the right course of medication

01-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear, friendly, professional straightforward care and effective treatment.

30-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent advice, expertly and sensitively delivered.

16-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have unfortunately been in a position where I have had to seek medical advice and treatment for a number of on-going different issues. I have been a patient of Mr Persey since 2002 and I have no hesitation in recommending Mr Persey to anyone who needs professional medical advice / treatment in his field and expertise. A very professional team assists him in appointments and follow ups. His team are contactable and always accommodating.

03-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Debbie (Dr Persey's secretary) was extremely efficient and helpful. Dr Persey has a very pleasant manner and he instilled confidence. Highly recommend this consultant.

14-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Persey is very understanding, listens to what you are saying and is very very helpful.

12-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I met with Dr Malcolm Persey on the 11th April 2019, who was recommended by Dr M Mort. I have been suffering from extreme pains in both my hands and shoulder for over three months. Dr Persey suggested it may well be Polymyalgia, explained it is a condition that causes pain stiffness and inflammation. Dr Persey gave me a thorough examination, explained it was a difficult condition to identify. However, I felt very reassured, after months of pain, here was someone who could identify what I was going through. Dr M Persey provided me with a prescription for mild steroids and a form for a blood test in about 10 days time

12-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My consultation was excellent.Dr Malcom identified my health problem as far as was possible, Explained that Diagnosing Polymyalgia can often quiet a lengthy process involving, several different tests. explained that inflammation was identified by Dr D Mort in a blood test. Further blood test are due in 10 days time, prescription also provided for medication.

12-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have seen Dr. Persey on two separate unrelated occasions and both times found him to be approachable, knowledgeable, thorough, professional and friendly. I would not hesitate to recommend him

10-04-2019