Dr John Outhwaite

Dr John Outhwaite

BM.Bch Ma oxon FRCPUK

Rheumatology

41 years of experience

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
4.94
Explanation
4.94

Top feedback

“I found Dr. Outwaite considerate and supportive. He asked relevant questions and explained his thinking very clearly. “
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr. Outwaite considerate and supportive. He asked relevant questions and explained his thinking very clearly.

20-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional, my condition was explained to me with consideration, as knowledge of the medical language, and my problem was difficult to understand.

15-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really pleased with his positive approach and how he explained everything

03-12-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent Doctor.

Patient seen for:
Knee Pain
Shoulder Pain
Foot Pain
17-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have a complex medical history involving a systemic rare disease and been written off by multiple NHS doctors who told me to abandon my career and all aspirations, before dropping me like a hot potato. All of this has been utterly transformed by John Outhwaite. Rather than baulking at complexity, he relishes the challenge. No matter how frightening my symptoms, no matter how complex, rare, alarming or distressing: every single time we have a conversation, unstintingly, unfailingly, he comes up with a concrete plan, he reassures me, and he makes sure that together we make things get better. I always feel I'm consulting an expert, but collaborating at the same time, because he really listens- a quality increasingly rare in today's medical profession. Given the damaging and traumatic experiences I've had over the last 25+ years with doctors, I do not trust doctors lightly. But I would happily put my life in the hands of this incredible doctor. My recommendation to you If you think you are at the end of the road, with no options but to live with unbearable pain limitation, and poor quality of life - think again. See Dr Outhwaite and he will turn things around. His knowledge is second to none; he doesn't pay lip service - instead, he is refreshingly honest, straight-talking, authentic, and for those reasons, empowering. He is an inspiring, super-expert who cares deeply about his patients and their lives. Without him, I wouldn't still be here: it really is that simple. For that reason, my entire family and network of friends owe a great debt of gratitude to this very special doctor: he has saved my life and done so more than once. I will never, ever be able to repay what he has done for me. Dr Outhwaite in a nutshell: doctor, legend, genius.

21-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wonderful. Dr. Outhwaite was able to help me understand my problem in one session - I had seen doctors and private companies for years without success. Highly recommended

Patient seen for:
Back Pain
16-08-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Outhwaite, is a very knowledgable and talented man. I have never known a doctor, who actual truly care about his patients and their wellbeing. I would like to say thank you

26-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Ignore my star ratings this Doctor sorts out those of us all others have failed or destroyed. Phenomenal up to date knowledge in orthopaedics, sports science for rehab and recovery, neurology, pain science, psychology and all of them combined. He can read a "normal MRI" and tell you your quadriceps is failing as you have a significant knee injury. Treats the whole person and has acute psychological insight. He may blind you with "your neural networks need reprogramming" and not have the clinic time to explain this complex but crucial COMMON problem ie. the cause of Chronic Pain. Just watch his YouTube videos for clarification. And do the exercises they really are the answer. An Eyeore-ish manner (world weary "why is the world so stupid"- which I agree with) hides a kind heart and genuine concern. I've had 13 yrs since first meeting him to form this opinion I can't imagine where I'd be today if Id never met him. Oh yes: Dead! He just saved my life when nobody in NHS wanted to take responsibility.

Patient seen for:
Chronic Pain
Whiplash
Ehlors Danlos
Rehabilitation
Knee Pain
22-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found it liberating to get a sensible, if complicated, explanation of my problems. Dr Outhwaite is always understanding and inspires confidence in me that things will get better. He never underestimates my problems, I’m very pleased to have found him, I wish it had happened years ago.

Patient seen for:
pain control
18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I first met Dr Outhwaite in 2011 after he was recommended by a Muscular Skeletal Physician. I felt comfortable and at ease at our first meeting and was pleased with the efficient, caring and sympathetic manner he dealt with my condition for the period 2011 - 2015 and made me well again. This is the reason for my consulting him again in 2019 and he is the same as when we first met.

18-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Thorough, helpful sympathetic and professional.

12-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Amazing doctor

29-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would like to thank Dr John Outhwaite for high quality of the medical advice , attention and respect towards his patients.

20-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Outhwaite is a remarkable doctor,really friendly, approachable,professional,can’t say enough about him

20-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Absolutely brilliant. Have seen so many experts on my back/foot issues, he is the only one who thoroughly analysed it and found the root of it. Very nice and humble. Highly recommended.

23-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I would highly recommend Dr Outhwaite, his PA Nadene and the London Orthopaedic Clinic to anyone with unexplained pain which is interfering with everyday life. Dr Outhwaite is an expert in pain management and I have found him to be extremely knowledgeable, thorough and patient. A big thank you!

27-03-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been under the care of Dr Outhwaite for a while now and he is compassionate and caring, giving me enough time to explain what is going on. He is very knowledgeable and understanding.

26-03-2019