Dr John O'Donohue

Dr John O'Donohue

MD FRCP(Ireland) FRCP (UK)

Gastroenterology

Recommended by  
3 specialists

30 years of experience
22 years as a specialist
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
5
Bedside Manner
4.98
Explanation
5

Top feedback

“I found Dr O Donohue to be excellent in all manners of his job , from initial consultation to my ongoing treatment. He explained the process in detail. His bed side manner was super . He also was very prompt in sending me my medical records as I left the country. Highly recommend.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr O Donohue to be excellent in all manners of his job , from initial consultation to my ongoing treatment. He explained the process in detail. His bed side manner was super . He also was very prompt in sending me my medical records as I left the country. Highly recommend.

12-08-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Excellent treatment. Sought me out to clarify an issue with my medication following stonewalling from GP surgery. Would highly recommend

16-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O’Donohue is the example of excellence. Professional, available and caring about the patients. I have had the best experience with him and I always recommend him to my colleagues and friends.

16-07-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr O'Donhoue to be very easy to explain my symptoms to and clear in his explanations. Our consultation had good interaction which is essential in trying to diagnose my problem.

Dr John O'Donohue

Many thanks for the feedback!

30-05-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very well looked after and explanation of treatment and diagnosis good too

08-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue is a wonderful doctor. He is kind and caring, listens well and explains himself clearly and patiently. He performed an endoscopy and colonoscopy - it all went smoothly and was pain-free.

Dr John O'Donohue

A pleasure!

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
Colonoscopy
10-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I attended Dr O’Donohue with symptoms that had been worrying me for a while. He took my concerns seriously and arranged for colonoscopy the following week. He has an excellent bedside manner and is clearly an expert in his field. He followed up with me once my results are available, and left me feeling reassured. I would have no hesitation in recommending him to colleagues and friends.

Dr John O'Donohue

*blushes*

Patient seen for:
Rectal bleeding
03-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue is very informative and explained what would happen during the procedure from the initial consultation. He asked lots of questions to find all probable causes of my symptoms and explored reasons as to why I may be experiencing them. He is knowledgable and made me feel comfortable throughout the procedure.

Patient seen for:
Gastroscopy
26-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very Professional and knowledgeable!

Patient seen for:
Gastroenterology
Gastroscopy
17-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I'm immensely happy with Dr. O' Donohue. He is a remarkable good listener, a value that these days seems completely lost amongst Doctors. He took notes of all my symptoms and made an efficient summary that triggered the possible causes of my ailments. He is also remarkably knowledgeable in his field and is a pleasure to learn his explanations. He shows empathy and care. He also has a wonderful team of professionals around him. I felt in the best hands at my Colonoscopy and thanks to his advice I am improving a lot. I'm very glad to have found him and would highly recommend him.

26-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Good bedside manner. Made my anxious self calm. Explored avenues and offered suggestions for next steps. Thank you!

16-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor O'Donohue guided me through a series of bowl tests with clarity and care.

22-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O’Donoghue has a very relaxed and approachable manner. He immediately put me at my ease and was very reassuring on my first visit. He is very easy to talk to and I felt I could ask him any questions or concerns I had.

17-11-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Great doctor

29-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very pleasant experience. Saw Dr O'Donohue after experiencing stomach cramps followed by a week of violent liquid bowel movements. Wanted to rule out any form of inflammatory bowel disease. Dr recommended a dual gastroscopy and endoscopy to look inside and check for inflammation, take biopsies and test to confirm the cause. My stomach was checked for bacteria also and my previously diagnosed barret's oesophagus checked upon. I got a consultation appointment 1 week after calling, and the operation two weeks following the consultation. It was a further two weeks for the follow up appointment. Everything was very easy and I felt very comfortable in his company.

Patient seen for:
Gastroenteritis
Crohn’s Disease
Acid Reflux
Inflammatory Bowel Disease
Gastroscopy
Endoscopy
15-10-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. O'Donohue's level of care is very high -- appointments were not rushed and everything was well explained and justified. He was very knowledgeable on my condition which put me at ease. Furthermore, I was impressed by the level of personal details he could recall between appointments.

Patient seen for:
Coeliac Disease
25-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr John O'Donohue to be extremely knowledgeable in his field, covered all eventualities and gave me precise and detailed results. I was very happy with all procedures and consultations and the results. Thank you!

Patient seen for:
Heart Burn
07-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

I am very impressed by the thoroughness of his investigation and the effectiveness of his treatment. He helped to ensure my aftercare was covered and assisted me to arrange investigation by a dietitian. I am happy to recommend Dr. O'Donohue to others. Gisele Spurling

02-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very attentive and extremely thorough. Has an very good manner with patients and would thoroughly recommend. Very high level of service and extremely understanding

30-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Clear and to the point.

30-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr John O’Donohue has been treating me for over a year. He is a leading expert in his field and has provided excellent medical care for me. He is always very attentive and is also very informative and open about sharing his advice and answering questions during our consultations. I am very happy with the level of service and care and I feel that I am in safe hands. This is greatly reassuring - I would highly recommend Dr O’Donohue for anyone looking for a specialist.

30-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr John O'Donohue has treated both my wife and me in the past few years. His care and expertise are outstanding, in addition to his personal attitude when assessing the possible causes and treatment(s) required. he is the ideal consultant.

29-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professional, precise and efficient. Completely recommend Dr O'Donohue for making the process simple and courteous.

02-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Put me at ease and was very helpful.

26-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O’Donohue is the master of his profession, who reassures one with his knowledge, care and understanding. It has been a pleasure to know him, and would recommend Dr O’Donohue to any patient - you will be in safe hands!

15-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently visited Dr O'Donohue and was very pleased with his professionalism and overall level of care during my visits. He explained my symptoms very clearly following an endoscopy and identified a remedy immediately.

14-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

My experience with Dr O’Donohue was excellent - he was thoroughly professional and answered all my questions relating to my treatment.

07-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O’Donnohue has been really helpful an efficient for me. Made sure he got me in for all relevant tests as quickly as possible and recommended great treatments for me.

17-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr John O'Donohue was very approachable and made me feel at ease discussing the issue. He was a very good listener taking time to look at the whole history concluding at correct diagnosis procedure. He was very descriptive in plain English about the life style changes I needed to make. Full in depth report was given to me and all in all I am very happy I chose to see Dr O'Donohue.

08-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue provided an excellent service and helped me through a difficult and stressful time in my life.

10-09-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

As a scientist myself, I find it extremely comforting to go to a doctor who stays up to date with the latest research as Dr. O'Donohue clearly does. He's smart, thorough, and taking figuring out my current problem as seriously as I am and I'm so appreciative for all of that.

25-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I’ve been a patient of Dr O’ Donohue for around 7 years and cannot recommend him enough. In 10 years of living with an ongoing illness I have never felt better, Dr O Donohue knew the exact route to take and has had a huge positive impact on my health. He is professional and extremely knowledgable. A huge thank you to him, he’s brilliant.

19-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue is attentive and was able to diagnose my condition efficiently after one consultation and subsequent procedure. He was very informative and took the time to explain things and addressed my individual concerns and worries. The treatment that Dr O'Donohue has prescribed is proving to be effective. I would recommend him for any one seeking a gastroentorologist.

04-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue, treated me very well and very professionally. Series of tests and x-ray, endoscopy were conducted in a very timely and professional manner. All the explanations were very concise and the investigations performed motivated. I felt like nothing was left behind.

15-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot speak highly enough of Dr O'Donohue. I have been a patient of his for approximately 5 years. He is personable and very easy to talk to. He listens and explains things in layman's terms which makes things much easier! I would have no hesitation in recommending Dr O'Donohue. His secretary, Pam, is great too and goes more than the extra mile to help!

03-05-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Easy to book appointments. Good communication from hospital and secretary. Dr O'Donohue has a friendly and open manner, explaining everything clearly and honestly. Tests and surgical procedures were thorough and my results were also explained well. Thank you for putting me at my ease.

25-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I'very been a patient of Dr O'Donohue for a chronic complain. I have every confidence in his skill and professional ability and I am always impressed by his charming bedside manner.

21-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found Dr O'Donohue very easy to talk to and he put me at ease throughout the consultations and procedure. He explained everything to me and my husband in layman's terms so it was easy for us to understand. I would highly recommend Dr O'Donohue hence my 5 star rating and would definitely choose him again should the need arise.

14-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr. O'Donohue was wonderfully supportive in connecting me with the right resources and treatments to solve digestive issues that other doctors have given me very little help with. The other professionals collaborating with Dr. O'Donohue also were wonderful to work and communicate with. I highly recommend his practice.

12-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr o Donohue has been excellent . He , from the very outset of our first meeting , was professional but kind and approachable. My colonoscopy was carried out in a very professional manner and my on going treatment for Hemochromatosis proceeds every two weeks in a very relaxed manner . I would highly recommend him as a consultant.

07-03-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue has been treating my Colitis for 10 years now. He was not the first specialist I visited for this condition, but since finding him I have been very happy and will continue to see him for the foreseeable future. I find him to be very kind, capable and knowledgable. Cannot recommend him highly enough.

17-02-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue is a brilliant doctor. He has always been incredibly kind, comforting and knowledgeable whenever I have seen him and he helped me to get my condition under control. I would not hesistate to recommend him to anyone, he is great.

25-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr O'Donohue has been treating my adult daughter for complex gastroenterological issues following a brain injury. My daughter also has Autism, learning difficulties and a very restrictive diet which adds to the complexity. My daughter is petrified of hospitals and is always very anxious during any hospital visits. Dr O'Donohue has been excellent throughout and has gained my daughter's trust (a big milestone). We are all very grateful for Dr O'Donohue taking my daughter under his wing and gaining her trust, for his reassuring manner, for his holistic approach to our daughter's diagnosis and treatment, for giving us the confidence (and evidence) to reduce and stop some of the medication we were led to believe my daughter would need for life, and for the improvements in my daughter's health and general well being. Thank you.

24-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very professional Gastroenterologist, required further expert medical advice and did not hesitate to have consultation again with Dr O'Donohue. Always available to provide professional guidance via email. A pleasure to be under his care.

21-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Saw Dr O'Donohue after getting symptoms that my GP was very worried about given my family history of colon cancer. The procedure was carried out with care (and some humour). I cannot thank him enough.

15-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I found My consultation with Dr O’Donohue to thorough . He was understanding and caring giving me time to express any concerns I had. He explained clearly my diagnosis and explained fully the procedure I would be having. He gave me tme to ask questions and took time to address my concerns. The procedure was performed professionally and I felt fully informed at all times. I would recommend DR O’Donohue

11-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I can highly recommend Dr John O'Donohue. I've had a procedure done with him and he conducted it very methodically and with great professionalism. He has been very attentive to all my symptoms and is very thorough in analysing & investigating them. I feel under good care with him and am confident that we will get to the bottom of my problem.

10-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recommend Dr John O'Donohue. The medical examination I had was thorough and professional. On a personal level Dr O'Donohue was also nice and provided good communication.

09-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been introduced to Dr O'Donohue after seeing few different gastroenterologist with no resolution to my condition. My consultation with Dr O'Donohue was very encouraging. He has taken a fresh view at the problem as he was consolidating all past results and establishing his own investigation. Dr O'Donohue has been great at explaining the situation, guiding though the various options available to me and helped in thinking together about the best path forward to resolution.

08-01-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I’ve been a patient of Dr O’Donohue for almost five years. He always went the extra mile to stay on top of my case and ensured I was well cared for. He is a very thorough and caring medical professional. I would highly recommended Dr O’Donohue.

03-01-2018