Professor Hasan Tahir

Professor Hasan Tahir

BSc, MB BS, MSc (Sports Ex-Med), MFSEM (UK), FRCPE, FRCP (UK) CCST General (Internal) Medicine & Rheumatology

Rheumatology

23 years of experience
Video consultation available

Overall Rating

Overall
4.98
Bedside Manner
4.96
Explanation
4.96

Top feedback

“Professor Tahir has been my rheumatologist for 8 months now. During every visit upto and after my diagnosis he has be very clear cut, friendly and professional. He is very enthusiastic and this shows in his pride to treat me as a patient.“
Read more

Reviews

Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Tahir has been my rheumatologist for 8 months now. During every visit upto and after my diagnosis he has be very clear cut, friendly and professional. He is very enthusiastic and this shows in his pride to treat me as a patient.

Patient seen for:
Ankylosing Spondylitis
15-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied with his treatment

Patient seen for:
Tennis Elbow
08-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very satisfied

Patient seen for:
Tennis Elbow
08-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

He is knowledgeable, explain your condition in simple way.

06-04-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Tahir took over the management of my mother in law through the CV epidemic when she was admitted with pneumonia. He was responsive, evidence-based in his approach, clinically robust and thoughtful and compassionate.

Patient seen for:
Coronavirus acute admission
29-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir has been managing me since my diagnosis of RA. He is extremely knowledgable and refreshingly personable. He was able to reassure me at every visit and organise an appropriate treatment plan according to my needs. My experience with Dr Tahir has always been positive.

19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
4

A very thorough doctor who explained my situation very well and in simple terms.

Patient seen for:
Joint Pain
19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir is highly professional and personable. He was extremely thorough in exploring all possible reasons for my condition, and took the time to explain what/why he was testing for.

Patient seen for:
Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)
Arthritis
Osteoarthritis
Psoriasis
19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir is an outstanding Rheumatology specialist. A veritable credit to the NHS. He is extremely experienced and knowledgable, explains treatment options clearly , and is very accessible , rapidly answering email queries and often phoning me directly to discuss concerns, even after hours. I know he is at the forefront of knowledge and research in the treatment of inflammatory joint conditions and is an expert on the use of therapeutic biologics. I can not recommend him highly enough.

Patient seen for:
PSA
19-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Dr Tahir since 2018 both in a private and most recently in public capacity. During this time Dr Tahir has been responsive and given relevant advice with a emphasis on the patients needs. For example what are you feeling, how are you feeling and what can we do to get your health to a place you want to be. He has a approachable bedside manner and explains information in a clear, friendly way. I would highly recommend Dr Tahir for his professional knowledge and patient centric manner.

Patient seen for:
psoriatic arthritis
18-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been under the care of Professor Tahir since December 2019 and he has a very good bedside manner he has made me feel at ease while under his care. He is always very informative and I have never felt the appointment was rushed! I would recommend patients to see him and am very happy under his care.

Patient seen for:
Arthritis
18-03-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
5

I highly recommend Dr. Tahir; he is very reassuring, friendly and knowledgeable. I could barely walk when I first saw him, I’m now back on my feet and well on the way to recovery.

Patient seen for:
Herniated Disc or Slipped Disc
21-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a 67 year old lady with many years of private consultancy experience. Prof.Tahir has been very knowledgeable in considering my needs.He has listened to my horrendous symptoms of 5 months, answering my questions with understanding and patience, sometimes out of hours of consultation, without feeling that I was being rushed. He has even liaised with a colleague on my behalf to find me an appointment. Throughout he has dealt with my medical symptoms in a professional and caring manner. I feel very lucky that I have met him and I would not hesitate in recommending him to others in the future. A True asset to our medical world!

Patient seen for:
Vasculitis
20-02-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Wonderful professionalism from his part Very knowledgeable in his field and made me feel at ease when visiting for my appointment Really happy with thr over all servises provided

19-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Doctor Tahir is very knowledgeable and competent in his medical field I practice. During my past two visits I have learnt he is very trustworthy and respectful

Patient seen for:
Arthritis
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Incredibly competent and efficient Very professional and respectful

Patient seen for:
Fibromyalgia
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Incredibly competent and efficient Very professional and respectful

Patient seen for:
Fibromyalgia
09-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am extremely thankful to the care and attention that I received from Prof Tahir. I was reassured about my condition and swiftly given a treatment plan that I was happy with. I was very impressed with his positive and professional manner.

Patient seen for:
Rheumatoid arthritis (RA)
04-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir was very polite and well-mannered. His explanations were very good as he was able to explain a complicated concept in simple terms so I understood. I was very lucky to be referred to him as he has a genuine interest and expertise in this field and was very helpful when explaining next steps in the process.

Patient seen for:
Spondylolisthesis & spondylolysis
04-01-2020
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Hasan Tahir in my opinion is the most caring, attentive and respectful doctors I have had the privilege of being under the care of. I have been seeing Dr Tahir since 2009 and I can honesty say he is very patient with me regardless of how busy his clinic is and that is always reassuring given that most people who seem him have chronic conditions. He also has a great sense of humour! He gives good advice, realistic treatment plans and does go out of his way to help and arrange if I need consultations or treatments in other clinics outside his own. I couldn't have asked for a better rheumatologist.

Patient seen for:
Systemic Lupus Erythematosus (SLE)
17-09-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Too often I hear people say he is was a lovely man and I reply that doesn't make him a good doctor. Dr Hasan is both. Apart from the fact he has diagnosed and improved greatly my condition what I liked most was his ability to explain and answer questions without giving the feeling he was in a hurry and in a way that was understandable. The world would be a better place with more Dr like him in it. Thank you so much.

Patient seen for:
muscle pains
30-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I cannot thank oh praise enough Dr Hasan Tahir enough, I I came in to see Dr Tahir in pain and after his assessment and examination I have been put on a treatment plan and feel so much better. It is more than the fact he has shown he is a good doctor. It is his excellent patience in answering questions, his ability to explain things until fully understood and his overall ability to make the patient feel that he cares, which `I'm sure he certainly does. Thanks you Dr Tahir you have relied my faith in the NHS.

Patient seen for:
I've been diagnosed with polymyalgia
29-07-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I just had my first consultation with Dr Tahir. I cannot thank him enough for his insight in to my condition. He is extremely friendly, knowledgable and helpful. I feel extremely lucky to have found a doctor with his expertise.

08-06-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir has been seeing mum now for 2 years and has treated her with respect and diligently each time.

19-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Dr Tahir since September 2018 and I can honestly vouch for him. His knowledge and expertise is second to none and will always try to find different solutions. He also has a friendly manner and great personality. which is essential when a patient is in so much on-going pain.

13-05-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have recently been to see Dr Tahir, he is professional but also warm and caring, i feel i could discuss any issues with him. Very informative also.

26-04-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I recently met Dr Tahir to find the reason behind the body aches that I have been experiencing for a number of years. I found immediate reassurance in his warm personable and thorough approach. I am about to start treatment for the underlying cause and as part of this, I will need to have regular follow-ups with Dr Tahir. I am confident that he will be as helpful and readily available as he has been so far. I would definitely recommend Dr Tahir.

11-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

A brilliant doctor. Straight to the point. Clearly explains and clarifies what I have been diagnosed with, where to get further information and how to manage. Willing to go beyond to ensure patient welfare.

02-02-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir has been treating me for over 18 months for tendentious in both of my shoulders the pain was quite excruciating the first treatment was injections in both shoulders then prescribed steroids that have been reduced over time to the point I am now slowly being taken of them. I can honestly I have revived the best treatment I could ask for and would recommend Dr Tahir to anyone for similar symptoms as mine first class service.

05-01-2019
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been Dr. Tahir’s patient for the past 4 years. During my first consultation I explained my symptoms and existing diagnosis identified by my previous consultants. Dr. Tahir listened carefully and at the same time approached my symptoms with a ‘fresh pair’ of eyes and decided not to be biased by someone else’s opinion and establish his own diagnosis supported by the findings from various test results, aiming himself to prove or disprove the nature of my condition. This was a refreshing start and from day one Dr. Tahir has shown a genuine interest in trying to understand my condition and how I am affected by it. He has been open and honest about my treatment options and informative about my choices. He has been supportive and encouraging to lower my pain tolerance levels and raise treatment expectations. A doctor with a ‘human’ touch and very pleasant manners that I would highly recommend.

31-12-2018
Overall
4
Explanation
4
Bedside Manner
4

Dr Tahir was patient and took the time to listen to his patient. I felt reassured by his plan and also because he explained things carefully.

24-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I am a retired medical consultant. I was admitted to Whipps Cross Hospital under Dr Tahir's care. I found Dr Tahir very caring, empathetic and a doctor who can make decisions in difficult situations. I found Dr Tahir trustworthy, his knowledge is up to date and he is very thorough.

23-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very Diligent doctor. I am very impressed with decision making capability of Dr Tahir Very compassionate and empathetic doctor. Very knowledgeable Extraordinary human being I am very impressed with Dr Tahir what I heard from other people about him good relationship with patient Very Courteous and reliable Very good clinician

21-12-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I was seen by this very able and exceptional doctor today. He is highly skilled and did a thorough review and prescribed me with treatment. He was professional, pleasant very kind and made me feel at ease. I can not recommend him highly enough. I would also highly commend and praise him for his charitable works in my country and in particular the amazing work he did today

30-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Professor Tahir cared for my suspected Behçet disease and helped me to have the necessary tests rapidly. A great doctor!

11-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

You cannot fail to be impressed by Prof Tahir’s knowledge, professionalism, enthusiasm, energy and resolve to find a solution. I have no hesitation in recommending him.

10-10-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

From the moment I met Dr Tahir I was put at ease, his calming nature and ability to really listen made me feel safe. He is very knowledgeable, thorough and his expertise helped me deal with my pain right from the start. Following his instructions to the letter has helped me immensely, I would have no hesitation in recommending him to anyone with arthritis and associated problems.

30-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir right from the onset has been very supportive and positive in the treatment and on-going management of my condition. His knowledge, experience and ongoing care have certainly been key to my well being, allowing me to function and live a normal life.

29-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have been a patient of Dr HasanTahir now for over 14 months, I have never met a Doctor with such a pleasant demeanor in all my years of meeting Doctors through Private Health & NHS this Doctor is so warm & Friendly, has time for you , explains every detail & is so accessible it beggars belief, you may have to wait at times for appointments to see him NHS but its worth the wait & every clinic of his I have attended with my Polymyalgia, if I am not seeing him he still comes in to see how things are, this Doctor is a credit to the NHS

27-08-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Hassan is very kind, understanding and most importantly extremely knowledgeable and I have every confidence in him

23-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir was very thorough in his history taking and his examination and made us feel at ease during the consultation. Very calm and professional in his approach and told us the cause of the problem and potential treatment options. I would definitely recommend Dr Tahir, he is a great doctor and a credit to his profession. Thank you.

20-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Very Professional, Excellent service, definitely value for money.

19-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After 10 years of back pain, misdiagnosed by various professionals including GP’s, Surgeons, Osteopaths and Chiropractors, Prof Tahir diagnosed Ankylosing Spondylitis (AS) within an hour of me meeting him, at which point my inflammation markers had skyrocketed and I had lost mobility in some of my major joints. I fully recovered within a few months thanks to his fantastic care and empathy. An asset to the Rheumatology field.

12-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Fantastic consultant with excellent general medicine and Rheumatology knowledge and have used many times for specialist opinions with my own patients.

03-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

I have no hesitation in recommending Dr Tahir to anyone as I found him to be extremely, professional, attentive and sociable. I have been seeing Dr Tahir since September 2014, when I first fell ill. My illness was life-threatening and unidentified, however, Dr Tahir was very attentive and thorough and performed exhaustive tests to diagnose my condition. During the period, that my illness was unidentified, Dr Tahir was able to manage my fevers and once he confirmed diagnosis, he was then able to prescribe medicines to suit my condition. This included a course of reduced dosage chemotherapy followed by a course of high dosage steroids. I spent three weeks in hospital attended to by Dr Tahir on a daily basis (sometimes twice a day). Dr Tahir also arranged and managed other medical professionals to assist with the various side effects of both my condition (eg drug induced diabetes) and the medicine I was taking. Since leaving Hospital, I attended Dr. Tahir on a monthly basis as an outpatient. Dr Tahir steadily reduced the dosage of the medicine I was taking but he would always discuss his actions with me beforehand. This continued until March 2018 when the medicines were stopped and in June 2018 we mutually agreed that I no longer need to see Dr Tahir on a regular basis, however he did stress that if there were any flare ups I should come direct to him. I was always made to feel comfortable by Dr Tahir, who listened as well as advised. Any decisions he made regarding my health were fully explained to me beforehand we agreed any reductions in my medicine dosage prior to reducing them.

02-07-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Really astute and careful Rheumatologist. He immediately understood what the medical problem was and came up with a thorough treatment plan. He deals with you as a whole person and addresses the emotional impact of your condition as well. I highly recommend him!

30-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

this consultant is superb

28-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Dr Tahir is an excellent rheumatology consultant. He is extremely knowledgeable and develops a strong rapport with his patients in clinic. His enthusiasm and commitment to transform rheumatology services creating specialist, patient focused clinics is inspiring.

27-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

After suffering for years with my knees i decided to see Dr Tahir. From the moment i walked into his room, i instantly felt that he cared and wanted to help me. He is extremely proffessional in his approach and offered a high level of care. I have recommended Dr Tahir to several members of my family who have all also been helped with their problems. Thank you Dr Tahir.

27-06-2018
Overall
5
Explanation
5
Bedside Manner
5

Outstanding doctor. Extremely knowledgeable and professional. And all with a wonderful caring manner.

27-06-2018