4.9
149 reviews

Optegra Eye Hospital Birmingham 

Aston University Campus Coleshill Street, Birmingham, United Kingdom, B4 7ET 

Overall Rating

Overall
4.9
Friendliness
4.9
Wait time
4.8
Cleanliness
4.9

Top feedback

“My profound thanks and appreciation to all the staff and assistants at Optegra Eye Hospital, Birmingham. I'm very very grateful to all.“
Read more

Reviews

Very pleased with every aspect.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
08-02-2020

Overall a positive experience and outcome.

Overall
4
Friendliness
4
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
4
08-01-2020

Very happy with service and staff care. Unfortunately suffering with dry eyes now which is aggregated because I am pregnant so eyes not yet 100%

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
24-11-2019

Fantastic service Detailed consultation and explanation of option with no hard sell Both Eyes completed by two weeks after the initial consultation Very attentive prior to and during procedures Procedure was painless and stress free & efficient Aftercare was thorough and the result has been life-changing

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
03-11-2019

Very good

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
21-10-2019

I personally had problems with Lens replacement which meant I had to have the fist eye redone. This was done and the second eye a week later. I am now in to my 20th week after the first eye and still having to wear glasses for driving. For me I thought I would be glass free after three months,however I now have to wait until November to make an appointment in December to have possible Laser correction. this is not helpful for me at work. But it is what it is the hospital have been nice about it but I am very frustrated

Overall
3
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
10-10-2019

Excellent empathetic service.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
30-09-2019

I had read so many good reviews about Optegra in Birmingham that I booked an appointment for a consultation for laser eye surgery. I was so nervous but everyone was incredibly friendly. The doctors were so knowledgable and put my mind at ease. I was so nervous on the day of my prcedure-something they must see all the time. But I was treated with the utmost compassion. They are perfectionists and took the time to ensure that everything was absolutely perfect at each stage.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
24-09-2019

My first consultation made me feel very confident in the patient focus, in the consultant (Mr Kolli) and the entire team. The operation sessions were very relaxed and efficient and the results were unbelievably brilliant. Follow up checks have been very positive and informative. The benefits go far beyond the amazing improvement in vision. It has boosted my general confidence and given me a new sense of freedom. I cannot thank the Optegra team, or praise their skill enough.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
23-09-2019

From start to finish I received the best patient care. All the staff from the receptionists to the medical team were always ready and willing to help. They answered all my questions and addressed any queries. The after care post my eye surgery was exceptional and staff were very knowlegeable and informative during post op check ups. I have done and will recommend Optegra to friends and family.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
13-09-2019

Received an excellent and thorough service but do have confirmed in writing the amount you need to pay for the service beforehand.

Overall
4
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
11-09-2019

My initial telephone call with Optegra was fine and an appointment was made the following day for a consultation. The speed of arranging an appointment was good for me. I was however wrongly told I could drive after the consultation despite me questioning this. This resulted in a 2 hour wait after the consultation before I could drive the 50 mile motorway journey home. The consultation was slick and very professional. I saw one person after another with no wait and everyone was well versed in their part of the sales cycle. Meeting the consultant doing the procedure at the end of the appointment is a big plus point. He was able to sum up and answer questions. There are always more questions when you get home however and this is where Optegra let themselves down. The documentation including terms & conditions was poor. Some documentation was out dated and the terms & conditions were lacking. They referred to documents I hadn't been given, didn't exist or were now called something else. I documented my questions and had several phone calls with Optegra but to date most questions remain outstanding. I haven't given up on Optegra yet however do feel that if they can't answer questions pre op then any post op issues may be a challenge to resolve.

Overall
3
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
04-09-2019

I was very pleased with the service I received & would certainly recommend you, many thanks.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
04-09-2019

I had a fantastic experience, never kept waiting, looked after at every stage. I was quite nervous having had a bad experience elsewhere, but they always had time for me. Couldn't be happier, I came here on recommendations from family, and I have recommended to friends and family since and they've booked consultations. Their sales people were never pushy.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
30-08-2019

I was very pleased with the service I had.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
29-08-2019

Very informative appointment

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
2
Cleanliness
5
28-08-2019

I would happily recommend Optegra to anyone. From the friendly first phone call, the professional and thorough consultation, to the amazing service and care from all the staff, before, during and after surgery. There was no hard sell. I was fully confident in trusting this company with my eyes within minutes of being there. I only had my surgery yesterday but it all went great. Mr Kolli is the best and I'm so glad i didnt go anywhere else.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
28-08-2019

Great experience, in and out,, Within hours of having them done my eyes were 20-20 vision. A little bit of haze for the first few days, I went for multi lenses replacement, wish I had done it years ago. I’ve said good buy to wearing glasses 😁

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
28-08-2019

I only waited a short time for my appointment this was for cataract and lens replacement to my other eye ( my first op was 4 years ago and has been fine ). All the staff are friendly and helpful and made what I class as a simple operation these days so easy and my vision so good now , yes I have had to have reading glasses and a very minor prescription for glasses but this is mainly to reduce bright light . I have even been doing jigsaw puzzles without glasses. My quality of life for vision has really improved ,after 60 years of wearing glasses. The operation sounds a bit scary but it’s not and I have been professionally cared for by Optegra a massive thank you to the staff at Aston campus.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
27-08-2019

A very professional service. I felt looked after and confident in the expertise. Unfortunately I was not a suitable candidate for surgery, but it is reassuring that you are told this rather than accepted with a risk of failure later on. I would be happy to recommend this clinic

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
27-08-2019

I was impressed by the speed and good treatment I received The treatment was painless and successful thank you for all your help.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
27-08-2019

Professional and speedy service.

Overall
5
Friendliness
4
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
27-08-2019

It was a relief to visit the unit & to be treated as a human being . A refreshing change to have procedures and my eye condition explained, not just done; thus a totally new experience, thankfully. I am so grateful to the person who recommended me to Optegra.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

Excellent clinical care with a holistic approach- i felt very reassured and in safe hands in their care

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

First class everyone was fantastic and friendly, no big long waiting time. Can’t believe I don’t wear glasses no more fantastic. Thank you for improving my site back to 20/20.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

I had Laser Eye Surgery carried out on August 2019, by Mark Wevill in the Birmingham, Aston Branch. From my very first consultation I had a really positive experience, everyone was really friendly and I didn't feel like they were pushy at all, where other places like optical express were very pushy, so the contrast in approach was evident. Everyone explained the whole process clearly, and after considering all the other options, I felt Optegra was my best choice, I liked the attitude, the value for money and the process with them. After getting the surgery done I am very happy with the results, even though laser eye surgery is expensive, the difference it has made to me is definitely worth it. I can see clearly and have 20/20 vision which I have not had since I was under 10. The only thing I was apprehensive about at first was the side effects I may have as I have noticed some people experience them, but that is in a very small minority, a huge percentage of people have no issues. I luckily have not had any significant issues so far, I am a week in. If you are looking at getting it done, you don't need to look elsewhere, you will be gald you did it.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

I must say that from the moment I walked through the doors at optegra Aston university that I received a friendly welcome by the reception staff then a thorough and friendly consultation pointing out my options there was no pushy sales pitch from anyone once I had decided to go ahead with my procedure incidentally lenses replacement the care and professional service from the opticians to my consultant made my procedure and aftercare so easy Thank you optegra for giving me my vision and self confidence back

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

Delighted with the experience of having two lens replacements at Optegra Aston Birmingham. Wait time for consultation and procedures appointments was short. Whole organisation very well run qnd instilling confidence in the pre and post op experience. Only a 4 star on the waiting time since there was a bit of delay for one appointment. However, the free coffee and the pleasant waiting room area made this not a burden. So much nicer than NHS experiences! I have recommended Optegra to acquaintances.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

Very informative

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

I really enjoyed my experience with Optegra and I am very satisfied with the outcome.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

I had my consultation back in April. The staff were really friendly and honest about the types of treatment available to me and my eye health. I did have a very long wait between seeing my surgeon and other tests, however it was very busy so I wasn’t too bothered. My surgery experience was perfect. Again, the staff were incredible and I felt valued and cared for very well. With aftercare, again I have been treated wonderfully. I would wholly recommend Optegra Birmingham as not only have I received the vision I wanted, but the staff are incredible and it has been a great experience.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

My visit was very welcoming and all the staff and doctors were very informative

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
26-08-2019

I was genuinely very pleased with my experience with optegra hospital Staff where friendly and very informative.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
25-08-2019

I was very happy with the experience unfortunately I was Not accepted for the surgery on this occasion. Coming back in October

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
25-08-2019

Very good,staff very polite. My only wish. Was that they could have sorted out my eyesight. Apart from that,i would recommend them.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
4
25-08-2019

Very friendly and professional staff, happy to assist in anyway and answer as many questions as you like. Gives you confidence that you have made the right decision.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
25-08-2019

Easy place to find, nice reception, lovely caring people.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
25-08-2019

Highly professional and trustworthy staff who were all extremely friendly and reassuring from beginning to end. I had a feeling of confidence and trust throughout in a fantastic location. No complaints at all and I would highly recommend coming here.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
25-08-2019

Couldn’t be happier with the service I received from Optegra. After an initial consultation with another well known company, who I shall not name, my expectations were low. Optegra couldn’t have been further from that company. Friendly and helpful staff, Michaela who booked me in was super friendly and helpful and I wasn’t hounded at all to book a procedure, everything was left at my pace. Apologies for not remembering his name, a young Asian fella who was really friendly and helpful too who put me at ease through all my initial tests before meeting with the surgeon. The place was immaculate and every appointment I’ve made from the beginning has been on time. All optometrists I saw for post ops were lovely and answered any questions I had, special shout out to Louise(apologies if I haven’t got your name right)who was especially friendly and helpful. I had 20/20 vision the following morning and my visions been improving with each post op appointment. Could not be happier.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
24-08-2019

Everything explained fully at first appointment and again pre operation. Everything went according to plan . All staff very friendly and helpful.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
24-08-2019

Very professional service from start to finish.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
24-08-2019

The total experience was excellent. The waiting room is very comfortable and pleasant with drinks and magazines to pass the time. The Assessment process is efficient and the operation experience is incredibly thorough. At every stage your name and date of birth are checked to ensure no mistakes are made. The care and sensitivity is second to none and at every stage the patient feels confident in the people they encounter. The letters received in the post were speedy and informative. In conclusion I would rate Optegra as outstanding.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
24-08-2019

Excellent attention to detail during assessment by friendly professional staff. Impressive turnaround from initial consultation to IOL procedure with amazing results. No complications experienced. Have already recommended Optegra to a number if friends. A very positive experience all round.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
24-08-2019

Superb. No pressure, just very useful thorough advice and testing to see what would suit me best. I haven’t had treatment yet as it’s (understandably) expensive (almost £8,000) for what I’d like. But I won’t go anywhere else following the experience I’ve had.

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019

Excellent knowledge and put me at ease

Overall
5
Friendliness
4
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019

Visited Optegra for the first time following an opticians referral through NHS pathways. Excellent service throughout from reception, assessment to consultation. Felt reassured by the knowledge and personal service of all staff throughout the process! There is room for improvement for signage to Optegra premises. Otherwise an excellent experience!

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019

Very pleased

Overall
4
Friendliness
4
Wait time
4
Cleanliness
4
23-08-2019

After going for an initial consultation at a well known company, who will not be named, my expectations weren’t very high. But from the minute I picked up the phone to book a consultation with Optegra, I honestly have nothing but good things to say. Michaela who dealt with my initial appointment was very friendly and relaxed, and after my appointment there was no hounding me on the phone to book in for my procedure. Dr Wevill was really friendly and answered all my questions and really put me at ease with the whole thing, from my consultation, to my pre op, to my actual laser surgery day and even the post-op, which I really liked that it was Mark himself whose contact number is left as an emergency contact. The staff on the day of my surgery were fantastic and I can’t fault the setting whatsoever, the place was pristine and the staff were faultless. All staff at my post-ops were amazing, especially Louise (I think I’ve got the name right here) who I found very friendly and helpful and again, answered any questions I had. I had 20/20 vision the following day and my vision has improved since my last check up at a month. Have and will continue to recommend Optegra to all!

Overall
5
Friendliness
5
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019

Nice staff very clean bit awkward to find for the first time tho, even tho they couldn't do anything for me I'd probably still recomend

Overall
3
Friendliness
4
Wait time
5
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019

The tests that were carried out seemed to be very thorough. Medical staff appeared to be very knowledgeable and honest.

Overall
4
Friendliness
4
Wait time
3
Cleanliness
5
23-08-2019